Lend a hand in the mornings (Some carpentry projects and a small plumbing job please!), then explore our lovely Loire/Normandy area!



Favorito 75 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Medalhas

  • Descrição


    Volunteers needed please from 22nd July - 17th August then from the 8th September 2013 - 21st December 2013

    We are looking for any experience carpentry workaways and a plumber PLEASE!

    We are trying to finish renovating a cottage and garden to create a safe haven and calm retreat for my wife who has a long-term chronic illness and our son who has high-functioning Autism.

    We are an English family living in a 1750's traditional French character cottage in lovely Lassay-les-Chateaux.

    Lassay les Chateaux is a beautiful village in the north of the Mayenne Department of France, with a 15th Century chateau, medieval garden and a beautiful rose garden (over 200 varieties of roses). There are a few shops, cafes, 2 bars and 3 restaurants to enjoy in this charming old village. A three minute walk from our cottage finds you in the centre of Lassay.

    This area is very peaceful and relaxing. An excellent area to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life and enjoy the true french countryside. A perfect area for Artist, Photographers, Nature lovers, Walkers, Cyclist, and anyone interested in History, Culture, Architecture, Chateaux's and stunning gardens

    We have two children of 6 and nearly 5. Animals are a big part of our life - we have three friendly small dogs (Gracie, a King Charles Cavalier and two Cotton de Tulear puppies), two kittens and 5 chickens in the garden. We also help with rescue kittens and foster them when needed for a local animal charity here in France until they can find loving forever homes!

    We like to eat homemade fresh food and spend lots of time outside.

    Our interests include home-cooking, nature, organic gardening, photography, culture and travel, walking, animals, recycling/re-using and up-cycling goods, car boots/flea markets/craft fairs

    The children love arts and crafts, baking, going to the river beach and playground, riding bikes and helping in the garden!

    We are an easy-going, welcoming family eager to learn about other people's lives and cultures and have fun through this exchange programme. We hope to make many friends along the way and in exchange we'll show you around this beautiful region of France during your stay!

    Thank you for looking at our profile and we hope to meet some of you very soon!

    Ian, Michelle, Alex and Hannah

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    We are looking for active, friendly experienced volunteers, to come and spend some time with an English family in Lassay-Les-Chateaux, France.

    Carpenters and a plumber needed to work on an old stone cottage please!

    Carpenter - Making a pair of cupboard doors for an under window storage area, and make some fitted wardrobes for a quirky character cottage with uneven walls and sloping ceilings!

    Plumber: to take out an old toilet and re-plumb a new one in once floor tiles down, grouted and dried.

    We would welcome a husband and wife team - if the wife is able to help with sewing/cooking/ironing/gardening

    Your work will be 08.00h to 13.00h Monday to Friday so you have the rest of the day and all weekends free to explore our lovely area with us and independently and chill out and be part of our family!

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    A room with either King-size bed or twin day beds are provided for you in our cottage staying as part of our family.

    ****We have both a Bathroom with bath and a shower room for you to use, which are shared with our family.

    ***The sitting room has satellite TV with UK channels, DVDs, English books, music etc.
    and Full WIFI Internet access this will be shared with the family.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Please note we are a strictly non-smoking home and garden so Non-smokers only please! And as we have animals.... Please No Pet allergies!!!

    Bring a bike if you like cycling.
    Great area for walkers, keen photographers and artists!

    Your own Camper-van welcome if you wish to be independent

    Plenty of free range corn fed chicken eggs for breakfast along with cereals and toast!
    Mid-day Lunch
    Home cooked evening meal.

    All meals are served in our family kitchen dining room and you will be joining us as part of our family sitting around our table eating and chatting and relaxing. When the weather is good we all eat Al Fresco and again, you would join us as part of our family for all meals too!

    In helping us to make your stay pleasant, we are not able to cater for specialist dietary requirements - we can of course cater for vegetarians!

    MEETING POINTS - Pick ups and drop offs:

    We pick up in Mayenne or La Ferte Mace 30 minutes drive from our home.

    From Paris:
    From Paris the train is cheapest to La Ferte Mace (61) Gare where we will meet you.

    From Laval (Mayenne)
    Make your way to Laval Gare train station there is a bus into Mayenne train station where we will meet you and drop you back at the end of your stay. Bus time is one hour and cost 2 euros.
    Buses come into Laval from the south of France - Lyon route and lots of trains also pass Laval.

    Coming from Spain or Italy:
    Get the train to Paris
    From Paris the train is cheapest to La Ferte Mace (61) Gare where we will meet you.

    Coming from the UK? Come to France in 5 hours!

    LONDON ST-PANCRAS to Laval from £98 return
    The connecting bus from Laval train station to Mayenne train station 4 euro return.

    Brittany Ferry foot passenger Portsmouth to Caen then train from Caen to La Ferte Mace from £80 return.

    From any other countries from around the world:
    Take a flight into one of Paris's airport then get the train to Le Ferte Mace where we will collect you from the train station and drop you back there at the end of your stay.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours - 08:00h - 13:00h - Monday to Friday

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 984356616254