atualizado  

Welcome to our home and family farm in Northeast Georgia, USA

  • EUA
  • Favorito 174 vezes
  • Última atividade: 30/01/2023

Disponibilidade

  2023 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    This is our family farm and homestead. We, Robert and Jennifer, have owned the farm for more than 10 years and are still developing our gardens and pastures. We have horses, chickens, rabbits and dogs. Robert is a certified farrier (he shoes horses) and also trains horses for trail riding. Before moving to the mountains, Robert was a licensed automotive mechanic. He has a garage on the farm and works on our vehicles. Robert has also built many of the buildings on our farm. Jennifer is a French teacher who has led wine and language immersion tours in Europe for more than 20 years. She does the gardening, cooking and canning of produce from the farm. We are committed to growing without chemicals and to using sustainable practices. We make our own compost and are working to improve the soil. Jennifer also saves seeds and the majority of the vegetables are from her seeds.

    We are looking for a single person or a couple who would like to stay with us for a month or more to experience the rhythm of the farm. We will occasionally do shorter stays, but prefer the longer ones so that we develop a good relationship with you. We like someone who will be more like a member of the family. Pets are not permitted.

    The ideal helper would be comfortable with horses. The ability to ride is not necessary, however the opportunity to ride or learn to ride is possible.

    Current projects include fencing (around the pasture and the garden); working in the garden as the season requires; making mulch from trees and leaves; building shed roofs on the shop; digging ditches for rain management; prepping firewood for the winter; as well as daily chores like feeding and grooming the horses, feeding the rabbits and chickens, and collecting eggs.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I, Jennifer, have traveled around the world and lived in both France and Japan. I love to welcome people from around the world into our home in the ways that I have been invited into homes in many countries during my travels. As a language teacher and student of several languages, it would be a pleasure to help others improve their English and learn more about the United States. If you want to practice your French, that is not a problem! I also welcome the opportunity to improve my Spanish, Italian and Japanese.

    Robert loves to teach and show people about what he does - working with horses, riding horses, animal husbandry, construction and working on vehicles. He is easygoing and a very encouraging teacher.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    All activities are on our farm, which is our home. Chores may include feeding the animals, working in the garden (harvesting, weeding, planting), construction projects (building fences, rehabbing an old stone building for a potting shed/green house, adding shed roofs to the shop), pasture management (bush-hogging, weed-eating, mowing), trail clearing, help in the kitchen (canning, food preparation). None of the activities involve our actual jobs - Jennifer is a French teacher; Robert is a farrier and travels to farms to shoe horses for a living.

    The schedule will vary from day to day. Most days will be about 5 hours of help, some may be longer or shorter, and there will be days off each week. Rather than a set time each day, we work on projects. Most of the work will be done with one of us, however there may be some independent tasks as well. We will tailor the work to your skills and the season.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Iniciante
    Italiano: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We have a camper that you may stay in, or you may pitch a tent. The camper has two twin beds, table, refrigerator, stove top, toaster oven, microwave and coffee maker. There is heat and AC as well. You will have access to a bathroom as well as a washer and dryer in our home. We provide sheets and towels.

    We invite you to join us for most dinners. You'll prepare your own breakfast and lunch with food that that we provide from the farm or grocery store as needed. If you would prefer to eat on your own, that's fine. If we have to be away for a meal, we will let you know in advance so that you may prepare something or make other arrangements.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Our farm is surrounded by the U.S. National Forest and is about 15 minutes from the town of Toccoa in northeast Georgia. It is a beautiful area in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains with access to trails for hiking and horseback riding as well as many streams, rivers and lakes for boating and fishing. Panther Creek, Yonah Damn, Tallalulah Gorge and the Tugaloo River are a few miles away and easy to access for an afternoon on the water.

    We are about 2 hours north of Atlanta and 1 hour from Greenville, SC. Having your own transportation is recommended but not required. If you do not have your own transportation, we prefer that you arrive by train. The Amtrak station is 10 minutes from the farm. The closest airport and bus station are about 1.5 hours away.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have electrical plug in, but no water or waste facilities.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 974411257771

Comentário (4)



Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)







Support a Sustainable Off Grid Homestead in NorCal, USA
Home help and dog sitting in beautiful Northern California, USA