Help us create a self sufficient life, in the foothills of the French Pyrenees, France

Country

França

atualizado  

Favorito 298 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    18/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Tom (42) is English and Joanna (32) is Polish. In early 2019 they decided to move permanently from their home in England to a 2.7 hectare (6 acre) plot in the foothills of the French Pyrenees; by car roughly an hour South of Toulouse and an hour North of Andorra.

    They are working towards a self sufficient life, with the aim of organically growing enough food to feed a family and to produce enough energy to heat and light their home off-grid.

    Their plot is on the South facing side of a lush green valley overlooking snow capped mountains. There is a small ‘modern’ (1970s) house where Tom & Joanna live, with a separate building alongside it that they rent on bnb. The terrain is roughly 50% grass / paddock, and 50% woodland. Wild cherry, walnut and plum trees are dotted around and on clear days the sun hits the slope from dawn until dusk.

    The land sits 100m below the pretty mountain village of Roquefixade. The village is well known for it’s ruined castle, (Château de Roquefixade) and steep limestone cliffs that protect it from the Northern weather. In season, the Gite d’Etape in the village serves as a good local restaurant / bar, and the two lovely towns of Lavalenet and Foix are 10km away with many shops, bars, restaurants etc. Both towns have weekly farmers markets selling fresh seasonal produce.

    A young orchard has been planted and a 35ft polytunnel has been erected on a newly landscaped ex-paddock. Crops on two large growing terraces will be cultivated from Spring 2019.

    The couple have a small tractor, chainsaw, mower and tools; mains water, mains electricity & a good WiFi connection.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    The Ariège is one of the least populated and most beautiful areas of France.

    Volunteering at this smallholding offers the chance to spend time in a stunningly beautiful, tranquil space, to experience rural life in France, contribute to (and learn from) a project aiming at true self-sufficiency.

    Tom & Joanna are recently married. They have two cats and a beautiful dog, Manu. Manu is a big fella, at 3 years old he is 50kg, and a total softy. Joanna works is a yoga teacher and classical pianist / teacher. She also works full-time as an estate agent, so is away from the house during the day. Tom ran a business before the lifestyle change and now heads up the physical aspects of land management. They are fun and hardworking, and fantastic vegetarian cooks!

    For lovers of the outdoors, The valley is a perfect place to be. Cyclists, walkers and historians regularly come to explore the area, to visit the castles and lakes, and hike along the valley to nearby Chateau de Montsegur.

    The land is situated such that you are sure to find a private spot in the trees or the paddocks to relax, to read, enjoy a glass of wine or just work on your tan :)

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Tom & Joanna are looking for autonomous, energetic, handy people who don’t mind very physical tasks, and are happy to get their hands dirty. You will have the chance to learn new skills and help with a variety of projects, including:

    1. Renovation of our home inc. flooring, painting, partition walls, plasterboarding, tiling etc. (Skills not necessary).

    2. Fencing off areas of land to keep in sheep and the dog, using natural Acacia posts and wire mesh.

    3. Basic forest management, including clearing woodland scrub, pruning / planting & disease treatment / prevention.

    4. Planning & sowing of seeds in line with the planting schedule. Caring for / harvesting organic crops.

    5. Building a stone & Cob pizza oven using recovered materials from the plot.

    6. Planting and caring for berry bushes along one side of a 150m orchard.

    7. Caring for bee hives.

    8. Tending to chickens.

    9. Design and build of a solar shower in one of the paddocks.

    10. Building outdoor tent / yoga platforms in the forest.

    11. Building a rough wooden shelter for tool & machinery storage.

    12. Fertilising and digging over soil in preparation for crops. Weeding & watering plants regularly.

    13. Helping landscape a grass paddock and erect / decorate 5m bell-tents.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Polonês: Fluente
    Francês: Iniciante

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    For a single volunteer (or couple) there is a private, clean & comfortable spare bedroom in the couple’s central heated house. There is also a comfortable second double bed on a mezzanine area above the living room.

    Fire wood can be easily foraged from the forest and there is running water available from outside taps. There are plenty of excellent camping spots on the land.

    Your own car, motorbike or bicycle are preferable to see the sights and go to the shops, but for those without Tom & Joanna can sometimes collect from the airport and provide lifts to the nearby towns when they are going there. Volunteers should be self-reliant and happy to entertain themselves as outside of working hours / meal times Tom & Joanna like their own space.

    There are plenty of opportunities to relax, hike and explore locally on foot.

    All guests have access to the recently refurbished main house bathroom with a beautiful large ‘Italian-style’ hot shower, double basin and flush toilet.

    You will be offered three vegetarian meals a day:

    8:00-9:00am - A light French breakfast with fresh bread, croissants coffee / tea etc.
    2:00-3:00pm - A hot or cold lunch.
    7:30-8:30pm - A hot main evening meal with wine or beer.

    Tom and Joanna cook with fresh, local produce, and they value time spent sharing meals. Food is very important to the couple and guests can expect good quality ingredients prepared to a high standard.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Tom and Joanna have travelled the world extensively for many years exploring Europe, South America, Africa, the Middle East & Asia. In years gone by they have worked as volunteers themselves so know what it’s like and they hope to be excellent hosts because of that experience!

    The couple are very sociable but outside working hours appreciate their own space. On days off and in free afternoons volunteers with transport can canoe, swim or wakeboard at the nearby lakes & rivers. The nearest ski lift is less than 30 minutes drive where you can ski and snowboard during winter months. There are numerous trekking / hiking routes nearby, rock climbing and the beautiful town of Foix with great bars and restaurants is just a 15 minute drive from the plot. Barcelona is a 3 hour drive, and you can reach Andorra (for tax free shopping and great skiing) in around an hour.

    Volunteers are asked to help for 25 hours p/week, Monday to Friday; typically starting after breakfast at 9:00am, and finishing before lunch at 2:00pm. Your afternoons will be for you to explore and enjoy the area.

    Where possible volunteers are asked to bring a set of work clothes and suitable footwear for working outside, but Tom & Joanna have some spare things for people their size!

    The couple still like to travel, and enjoy an active social life. They also value their time alone together. For this reason they typically accept volunteers for an initial period of 2 weeks.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have a decent wifi setup allowing access to data throughout the property and on the terrace. Digital nomads welcome!

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have plenty of space for a camper van at the house, with the possibility for an extension lead to provide electricity & an outdoor tap for water

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    We have a dog, two cats and chickens. All are very friendly and dogs often visit to play with Manu. Manu is super friendly with all dogs but he is big (50kg)

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)















Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 965869786773