atualizado  

Help us develop our alpaca farm in our own corner of Galician paradise, Spain

  • Favorito 125 vezes
  • Última atividade: 22 jun. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: Sem período mínimo

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello (or as we say here “Hola a todos!” We are Tony and Lauren, a couple (in our late 30’s/early 40’s) from the U.K. who gave up our rather normal suburban lives in the South of England for pastures new here in Galicia, Northwest Spain.

    We began our journey back in late 2021 when we purchased our Galician farm here in Vilalba, Lugo with a bold (and somewhat brave) vision to breed and (in the near future) run an alpaca trekking business here in Galicia. Our farm is a short distance from the prestigious pilgrimage the ‘Camino de Santiago,’ which attracts pilgrims and tourists from all across the world. We are located walking distance of the Camino del Norte route, so our goal eventually is to open our farm up to the public (families, tourists and pilgrims alike) and offer the opportunity to walk the alpacas as part of their Camino experience - Camino de Alpacas! As a social enterprise, we are also hoping to offer a education to local schools, colleges and veterinary universities and practices; in addition to exploring the animal therapy aspect with care homes, hospices and day centres for those with disabilities.

    Unfortunately “pastures new” did not mean that “the grass is always greener on the other side.” We have been met with a lot of bureaucracy and red tape, so our beloved alpacas (who had to go in to a year long quarantine prior to export from the U.K.) only arrived here in Spain at the end of June 2023. Since that time our sole focus has been on getting our herd of 9 (5 hembras and 4 machos) settled and climatized to lush Galician grazing and social interaction again. Their training and development has been phenomenal, they are (as we say here) “ Muy cariñosa” ~ very affectionate and the younger members of our herd actively seek out kisses and attention from new faces on farm. Alpacas are fascinatingly curious and a friendly subspecies of the camelid family and to steal a kiss or have a soft cuddle with this super fleecy bunch, is a truly wonderful experience.

    So what stage are we at now I hear you ask! We have installed paddocks for our beloved “pacaniños” (as we call them as they are our kidpacas and we their pacaparents!) and have been working the land to make it more habitable (removing toxic plants/vegetation etc) reinforcing the perimeter fenceline ( from predators and vectors). We have done a tonne of work on the barns to make it safe, waterproof, and accessible. Planting new trees and bushes to promote growth. We have drawn up a blueprint for an allotment/vegetable plot where we will be looking to grow as much of own food as possible. Working on our outbuildings; one a workshop/man cave full of tools, DIY projects and tractor parts. Another is a large open barn woodstore and then we have our traditional Galician Horreo (a elevated grain store) that we have repaired, but below it is a room that we have not yet fully explored
    and are excited to share this opportunity with a workawayer! Who knows, there could be some delightful gems of historical findings to be discovered.

    we are excited about our new life and the adventures we'll have, if we can meet some great people on the way we couldn't ask for more.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Mainly some very good company but also the opportunity to develop existing practical skills or even learn some new ones in a pretty relaxed environment. Get to explore Galician gastronomy, culture and traditions. Excellent places nearby to trek, take leisurely walks, swim (there is a natural spring a shortdrive, which is very popular with the locals!) we are 40 mins from breathtaking beaches and 30 mins from Lugo city centre and UNESCO world heritage site for its Roman Fortification. The famous Santiago de Compostela is an hours drive away as is La Coruna.
    We would be happy to help with working on your English skills too!

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We'll need help with improving some of the outbuildings, such as the barns. General day to day care of the alpacas; feeding, husbandry, trekking/training. Paddock maintenance and cleaning. Gardening and preparation for an allotment ‘grow your own’ garden. Within the farmhouse, help with decorating and creating a ‘Boot room’ so that we can keep wellies, waterproofs and farm attire/supplies in this area and separate from the main living area. Some spring painting of the living room and hallway/staircase walls and ceiling.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Intermediário
    Francês: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We live on a 5 acre farm, with a traditional Galician stone build farmhouse that we are currently in the process of renovating. Our property has;
    - 4 spacious double bedrooms, all with fitted wardrobes
    - 2 bathrooms (1 is an en-suite)
    - a large farmhouse kitchen with built-in fireplace (also known as a “Lareira”, a traditional “La cocina de leña” (Galician wood stove cooker), a professional gas cooker, fridge/freezer and dishwasher.
    - a large sitting/living room complete with sofa/armchairs and a brand new fitted wood stove. A television for leisure time.

    For our workaway guest, we offer a comfortable double room with fitted wardrobes, a window with a view of the alpaca barns, landscape views to the rear of our property. The double room has a private bathroom directly next to it, for convenience of our guests. Bathroom is a little old fashioned in terms of its decor/tiles, but fully functioning bath/shower, sink basin, toilet and bidet.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    As far as your time off goes you couldn't wish to be in a more beautiful part of Spain, the food is so good we couldn't do it justice with a description and for those of a religious nature the Cathedral at Santiago and the pilgrim routes are a true wonder.
    The amazing seaside towns are too numerous to mention although Viveiro and Playa De Catedrales are particular favourites of ours, you will no doubt have a great time exploring this quieter corner of Spain.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    There will be room to park a campervan and electricity/water supply can be provided.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 964554331838

Comentário (4)



Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)






Building a sustainable life in Galicia, Spain
Help me with home maintenance, in Cornellá de Llobregat, Barcelona, Spain