Help us with house cleaning, renovations and gardening in Crete, Greece



Favorito 1603 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    92.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 5 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

  • Descrição


    We are a couple (Vassilis and Irini) living in a small and beautiful coastal town in Crete: Agios Nikolaos. Our children are living in Athens studying at the University. We both like traveling and meet new people, their cultures and habits. We live with dog Sara.
    We like when our guests tell us their experiences from their travels.
    We are experienced in hosting people.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Living with us is a great way to experience Greek daily life; we are always interested to learn about the culture and daily routine in your home country and to share ours. There are always some events going on like national days, meeting friends etc. and we are glad to take you.
    Our workawayers can learn how to cook and bake traditional Cretan food.
    I (Irini) usually cook once a day, I am vegetarian, Vassilis eats meat.. We use to cook meat once or twice per week. Generally we try to reduce animal fats and eat healthy. As a vegan or gluten free you would probably need to cook for yourself often as we use flour, dairy and animal products except meat.
    You are always welcome to join our family-meals - help yourself at all other times or pack a lunch when leaving for a trip.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    We are looking for help with:
    1) daily chores OR
    2) various renovation projects
    OR a nice mix of both
    3) picking olives (just Nov & Dec)

    1) Daily chores

    - Daily house cleaning and arranging
    - cleaning dishes (I really dislike doing that ;)
    - vacuum cleaning once a day due to the dog hair
    - cooking, preparing/ processing veggies/ fruits
    Additional non-daily tasks in the house: ironing, cleaning the whole house thoroughly

    2) Renovations (March – September)

    We have different apartments that are still under construction or have to be renovated. If you have experience or an apprenticeship in constructing walls, ceilings and floors, laminate, as a plumber or in electronics you are more than welcome to help us.
    Unexperienced workawayers can help with:
    - painting walls inside and outside of the house
    - repairing old furniture (sometimes)
    - arranging storages

    3) Picking olives (just between middle of November and December)

    If you want to see the procedure of making olive oil in a traditional way you are more and welcome to join us to pick olives in December. This is manual work and as it requires a lot of energy we love to do a traditional picnic in the olive groves at lunch time. One time we deliver the olives to the factory and you are invited to join us there – when you are lucky we can taste the freshly pressed olive oil.

    Other works:
    Many times we help our parents in the fields and we participate in it. You can follow me when we help them. They have a garden during the summer, pick grapes in October etc.. My parents live close to nature and near them you have the chance to experience the real Cretan life.

    You are going to offer five hours of work per day and the programme will be flexible in order to have your own time to enjoy the area. You can work independently or collaborate with us.

    We offer food and as I like cooking. Our guests will have the opportunity to taste local dishes. We like to treat our guests as members of our family.

  • Idiomas

    Greek: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    There is one bedroom for 2 people and a couch 2 people in the living room. Bed sheets and towels are provided. The rest of the house is shared: big living-/ dining-area, kitchen, bathroom, laundry, terrace, garden, WiFi.
    We never invite 2 workawayers not travelling together to share the same room.

    Although we work every day we usually try to spend time with our guests in order to explore the area and have interesting conversations with them.

    Our volunteers will have their free time to spend as they like. There are nice villages near the town that you can explore. The weather is very nice so you can enjoy the beaches around at all seasons. The beach is just 10 minutes walk from us.

    What else ...

    I am sorry, but we can only accept you if you have a valid health insurance that covers Greece.

    If you would like to stay for a longer period: If you haven't got a European passport: Be aware that it is very difficult to stay in the European Union for longer than 3 months.
    Please don't hesitate and ask all the questions you have. It is important to know all aspects in advance - for both sides.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We have a dog
    Smoke-free home (for smokers: we don’t mind outdoor smoking)

    AN "IDEAL VOLUNTEER" for our family is reliable, self-initiative and can work on her/ his own if needed.
    As I am sometimes a bit introvert person it would be a big plus if you are not super-shy.
    In any case if you think it could be nice to live with us for a while, please do not hesitate to contact us! I gladly answer all personal messages.

    When you want to volunteer with us, please read our full profile and then contact us.
    We expect workawayers to be willing to help and not to be lazy.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week, sometimes one day more work and another less or a free day in exchange.

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.9)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (4.8)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 954881266312