Off-grid unique location accessed only by cable car in Whanganui, New Zealand

Country

Nova Zelândia

atualizado   Última hora

Favorito 98 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    12/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

  • Medalhas

    Good Host
 
Este é um anfitrião de última hora. Eles nos informaram que precisam de ajuda imediata e também para outras datas ao longo do ano.
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi
    We are husband and wife couple, Jane and Kelly. We live on the banks of the Whanganui River, surrounded by the Whanganui National Park, however the only access to our property is via boat or, the more popular option, by aerial cable car. We live here full time on a small lifestyle block and also have some tourist accommodation on the same property. Our whole place is unique in that it is all built from reclaimed or locally sourced materials and therefore is rustic and quirky!

    We are located 45km from Whanganui township with road access to the cable way via a beautiful scenic 45 min drive.
    We are off-grid for everything (although we do have mains electricity as a back up for our 16 solar panels) and have no cell phone access although we do have internet available.
    We have large gardens and orchards and, whilst not currently certified organic, we work on organic and permaculture principles and recycle/reuse as much as possible. We have chickens, a few sheep and a cat to look after but there is a lot of wildlife around including goats, deer, ruru and kiwi. We run a pest control programme to try and keep possum and stoat numbers down and protect our local birds.

    We do not ask volunteers to help with any business activities involving guests but rather to assist us with maintenance and garden projects. In return we try to offer a true cultural exchange - our lifestyle is a little different even for NZ, given our location and sustainable approach.

    This is a magic place, and provides an opportunity to experience unspoilt NZ at its best.
    (Please note our whole property is non-smoking/vaping)

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    In exchange for your help we offer the chance to experience life in an unspoiled part of New Zealand, the opportunity to learn about sustainable living and working in harmony with nature in a truly special place.
    We are also both artists and volunteers often have the chance to learn bone carving, felting, soap making or other crafts if interested. There may also be the chance to participate in some canoeing.
    Kelly has lived in the Taranaki/Whanganui area all his life and is keen to share the history /culture of the area and the river with those who show an interest.
    Jane has an interest in languages and the cuisine of other cultures. We both speak some Te Reo (Maori language) and are happy to share this with you.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We would be looking for practical and motivated people, used to rural living. You will need a mature approach and be able to take initiative to join in with all aspects of our daily lives. (We have found that couples over 25 yrs fit with our lifestyle and location best).
    In the summer tasks would involve helping with gardening, fruit picking and preserving, pest control and grounds maintenance. In the winter we use the quieter months for renovation, maintenance and development projects.
    Hours are negotiable and again may vary according to the time of year and project on hand.However we generally expect 5 hours per day on the days you are helping with the flexibility to take days off to explore locally.
    IMPORTANT POINTS TO CONSIDER
    *️Due to the rural location own transport is preferred as this will also enable you to explore the local area during time off.
    *️We cannot accommodate special diets (other than vegetarian) due to distance from shops/costs/time constraints.
    *️Our whole property is non-smoking/vaping

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Jane speaks a little French and is always keen to learn about another languages. Prior to Covid she was learning Indonesian. Kelly and Jane both also speak a little Te Reo (the Maori language)

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Accommodation for volunteers will depend on the time of year and may vary from glamping to a self contained studio.
    It will always be clean and tidy with good food provided. We prefer to eat as a 'family' however there may be the occasional day we provide food and ask you to cook for yourself. We love trying different foods and would welcome a 'cultural food exchange' if you are interested in cooking.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are situated on the edge of the Whanganui National Park so there are plenty of opportunities for walking in the area. We also have local companies who provide jet boating and canoeing which is a great way to explore the river.
    A drive up our river rd takes you through a number of historic settlements worth exploring and it is only 1 hour to the Tongariro National Park (for access to skiing in winter or the Tongariro Crossing in warmer months) or, in the opposite direction, the township of Whanganui with its vibrant arts community and cafe culture.

    If you do not have your own transport a ride on the local Mail bus is a great way to reach us or to explore the area. We also have push bikes which you can borrow.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    At least 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)










Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 954342212148