Help out on large villa and organic garden in Christchurch city, Canterbury, New Zealand

  • Nova Zelândia
  • Favorito 221 vezes
  • Última atividade: 08/02/2023

Disponibilidade

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi there and welcome to New Zealand.
    I'd love a fun, motivated and easy-going couple to come help me.
    We'll be working in the garden, doing weeding etc, and we'll probably work on another house I have; doing the gardens and some general maintenance there.
    A beautiful, beautiful organic garden, fresh veges, world renowned salads and a beautiful place as a base to explore ChCh as part of the exchange. Please read through my listing and email me if you're interested. Thanks
    ***

    I am a 60 year old woman and I have a peaceful little farmyard paradise in the middle of the city of Christchurch, with large organic vegetable gardens, fruit trees (peaches, pear, feijoa, plum) and a large walnut tree. Most people say being here is like being in the country. I enjoy life; I like movies, music, theater, walking, reading, playing board and card games, spinning and knitting. I've also written a book on sustainability.
    My two adult kids are in ChCh and are regular visitors, so you'll probably meet them while you're here. I have a 10 year old dog called Pete who I rehomed in March 2022; he's a lovely boy, a bit wary and shy sometimes, but then very friendly. My daughter's 2 dogs Albi and Remus, and my son's puppy Lola are also regular visitors.

    I ask my volunteers to work 5 hours a day for 5 days with 2 days off, and prefer to host couples. I work until Thursday late afternoon in my home office, so if you're able to arrive on the Thursday after 4pm, that's best as it means we can work together over the next 4 days. If you need transport to our house, I will pick you up from the Central Bus Exchange, between Lichfield/Tuam sts, Central city.
    I like to feed our helpers well. I'm mostly vegetarian (occasionally I eat fish), and I don't like to cook meat in the house, so you'll need to be OK with vegetarian food too.
    I encourage you to cook and to share your specialty dishes with us.
    You'll share food preparation and clean up as part of living together, outside of your Workaway tasks. You have your own lovely room with a comfy bed.

    I'm 10 minutes drive/scooter or 30 minutes walk from the inner city of Christchurch, 10-15 minutes drive from the beach and 10 minutes from The Tannery- a great place for live music with good beer and pizza.

    Please no users. I have you here because I need the help with the work- be prepared to pitch in, work hard and to help out. Our family have hosted people since 2004 and I've been a helper overseas, so know what makes a good helper experience! See the feedback.

    Non smokers and no drug use please. Good conversational English is required.

    PLEASE EMAIL ME re a possible stay rather than phone-call or texting. I will answer all emails, even if I can't have you. I don't take on people who call or text, as they usually haven't read this far!

    ********************

    PLEASE MAKE CONTACT ONCE YOUR PLANS TO BE IN CHRISTCHURCH ARE CERTAIN, AND BE WILLING TO COMMIT TO HAVING TIME HERE.
    We offer hosting because we have work to complete and we need the help. When people let us down at the last minute it is hugely inconvenient for us.

    I will commit to having you here, buy extra food and will turn away others who request time with us so that you can be here. Please respect this by turning up, and on the day we arranged.
    Thanks!
    **********************************************

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We have traveled a lot; both within NZ and around the world. We know places to go in ChCh and in NZ with which we can help you.
    We have a big garden here and live close to the earth and sea, but within the city.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Duties vary according to the time of the year and may include gardening, weeding, stacking wood, trimming and pruning shrubs and trees, picking and preserving fruit and vegetables, painting and maintenance/repairs for the house, renovation projects and housework.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We have a lovely room very close to the house, snuggled within the garden. Your own bathroom (not an ensuite).

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    we're happy to help you with travel suggestions. Our family have all traveled extensively- both within NZ and overseas

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    usually 5 hours per day/5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 934448647965

Comentário (10)



Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicação: (4.9)














Join me gardening and deck painting in beautiful Raumati South, New Zealand
Young Kiwi family needs home and farm help in Rotorua, New Zealand