Help us create our eco-chic retreat center in Alentejo, Portugal

Country

Portugal

atualizado  

Favorito 849 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    11/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 mês

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello 😁, we are Ugo (Italian) and MaryAnn (1/2 american and 1/2 italian brought up in Madrid) who moved to Portugal after 10 years living in Hong Kong.

    Ugo, an italian food connoisseur and entrepreneur, MaryAnn, a mindfulness and compassion and executive coach entrepreneur.

    We are the guardians of 74 acres of magical land in Serpa, Alentejo, where we are following our dream of creating a luxury land and people regeneration retreat center, a natural refuge where nature, animals and people can work together in harmony.

    We moved into the property in January 2019 and with already the help of many volunteers, we have 5 beautiful veggie gardens that have been giving us wonderful food, horse stables, chicken coop, fencing and so many other wonderful work done.

    We hope to open the retreat center in late 2022, if all the work gets done in time.

    We have 2 horses, 3 donkeys, 20 chickens, 3 dogs, 2 cats, so if you are animal lover, you will be happy here :-)

    We are looking for strong, proactive, helpful, organised, neat and clean volunteers to help us out :-)

    We need help in building a tool shed, upkeep of the veggie gardens and food forest, land clearing, pruning, planting, mulching, animal care and other projects that come up each moment to manage the farm part and the getting ready the retreat center. There is never a boring moment here.

    Write only If it comes natural for you to be neat and clean :-) - we are living in the newly renovated part of the retreat center and you share a bathroom with us - we need to keep the retreat area as new for when we open - this is important for us.

    We are also looking for people who know how to cook to support in this area.

    We ask volunteers to stay at least 4 weeks as you get to really understand and feel at home after 2 weeks, and the rest of the time you can flow with ease :-).

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Ugo is Italian and MaryAnn is half Italian, half American, but grown up in Spain. We have lived for the last 10 years in Hong Kong, so we have quite an international background. Ugo is a food lover, worked in food for the last 7 years,

    MaryAnn is a Mindfulness (MBSR) and Mindfulness Based Compassionate Living (MBCL), executive coach and passionate about trying out new vegetarian recipes.

    Ugo has attended a PDC (permaculture design course) and a natural building course so he can build the different structures needed for the farm part of the retreat center. He is very excited to share his knowledge and experience.

    We are happy people and we like happy, interested in our project and proactive volunteers :-).
    We are very keen to arrive to almost a 0 trash impact with our project.

    We love animals, and somehow they love us and the many volunteers back :-)

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    You will be supporting us with clearing land, veggie garden upkeep (weeding, harvesting, planting, adding mulch), building a tool shed, animal feeding and cleaning stables, helping us with the setting up of the retreat center, feeding dogs, cats and chickens, cleaning chicken coop, exploring new recipes as well as live towards a zero waste (minimising plastic use) and sustainable living as well as any other project that comes up.

    Please write if you are a neat, precise and clean person as we will be living in a newly renovated area that we must keep as new until we open to the public.

    Cheers
    Ugo and MaryAnn

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Italiano: Fluente
    Português: Intermediário
    Francês: Iniciante
    Japonês: Iniciante

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We offer a comfortable room with 3 single beds for our volunteers and 1 shared bathroom with hosts.

    We live in the newly renovated service part of the future retreat center.

    We use the future retreat common kitchen used to cook main meals, and living/dining area. We provide bedding, but please bring your own towel.

    Food wise we provide 3 vegetarian meals a day, you can provide your own snacks and any special foods you need.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The help required is 5 hours per day for 5 days a week plus community work (cooking and washing up in turns).

    During your free time you can enjoy long walks around the property or to the close by little city, Serpa (10 km away by taxi or hitch a ride with us when we go into town), where there are restaurants, bars and all the commodities that a small town can provide. Nearby there is also a river (2 km away) and a water fall and natural park (5 km).

    Regarding transportation, we will pick you up in the bus station in Serpa. You can go via Beja (bus or train from Lisbon) and from there catch a bus to SERPA, which is 10km far from the property.

    Ideally you can arrive on a Saturday, Sunday or Monday (if possible - we can discuss that when we communicate about your arrival)

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have space for you if you are traveling in a camper van. It can be a big or small one.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week plus community cooking and cleaning up

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicação: (5.0)





































Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 921349294163