Come to Lagos, Portugal and help out with a fun backpacker tour company



Favorito 1160 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

  • paid opportunity

    Anfitrião oferece remuneração

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 3 semanas

  • Descrição


    How would you like the chance to help with a fun backpacker tour business on the beautiful southern coast of Portugal? Based in the epic town of Lagos, I am the sole owner/operator, but one that can't get by without help from my wife and many awesome workawayers. My name is Brodie and I'm a 37 year old Aussie bloke that has been running these fun little tours for the last seven years. We primarily run day tours of the Algarve, however also have longer tours throughout Portugal and Spain for the Running of the Bulls, La Tomatina, music festivals and the Peniche Rip Curl Pro.

    Our road-trips offer a fun alternative for travellers, trying to encourage backpackers to travel with more freedom than most organised tours would allow. I am and will always be a vagabond, travel is about forgetting some of the creature comforts of home and embracing new surroundings. Lagos is an incredible place full of amazing people and gorgeous beaches and nature. Having lived here for many years and always having been an explorer I've found many secret spots and all the best beaches, so join me and you'll get to visit all of them constantly.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    This is a great opportunity to learn all aspects of running your own tour business. When I was 23 I started travelling Europe and constantly had great ideas on what was missing or what I could offer, it wasn't until I started this project that I was able to see these ideas in action and learn what it takes to turn such ideas into a lifestyle.

    Throughout the previous years, through this initiative I've been able to raise considerable money for the local orphanage and would like to continue and further my philanthropic activities. By living here with me you will also have the chance to learn Portuguese with myself and Jess and many of our cultural visits throughout Portugal will enhance your language skills. We take road-trips to San Fermin in July, La Tomatina in August and the Peniche Rip Curl Pro in October, so if you are around in any of those months you will have the chance to attend major events on the European calendar.

  • Anfitriões que oferecem uma remuneração de acordo com o salário mínimo do país.

    Anfitriões que oferecem uma remuneração de acordo com o salário mínimo do país.

    Este anfitrião oferece acomodação e remuneração.

    O anfitrião indicou que vai pagar um valor equivalente ao menos ao salário mínimo do país por hora trabalhada e a acomodação também vai ser fornecida. Está buscando ajuda com um estabelecimento ou atividade comercial. Entre em contato com o anfitrião pelo sistema de mensagens para obter mais informações sobre o pagamento oferecido. Qualquer acordo deve ser combinado com antecedência com o anfitrião.

  • Ajuda


    The season starts around Easter, so leading up to this for the month of April our time will be spent setting up for the year ahead, with the main goals of increasing awareness and marketing. We're looking for Workawayers with skills in Word Press, SEO, design and social media marketing. We are starting to take more online bookings through our website and online travel agencies with an aim to increase this two-fold in 2020. Together we will be working on strategies to increase both numbers of followers on our social media accounts and to direct more people to our website. Any skills in photography or video/video editing would be ideal as we take photos of each of our tours and would love to have more online content.

    A significant part of this Workaway experience involves driving and therefore any workawayers from Easter onwards we'll need to be capable and confident drivers (with a manual license) as you will be responsible for driving and guiding alongside myself in a 9-seat Hyundai van. Once we arrive at our destination for the day it's just about keeping everyone happy and entertained and the best way to do that is by having a fun time yourself. Our most popular tour involves a swim to a popular Algarve destination and therefore some swimming abilities would be a minimum requirement whilst a high level would be highly beneficial.

    When not taking tours, I love my workawayers to be out promoting for upcoming trips. This can be as simple as a day on the local beach or an afternoon at Eddies bar. Therefore any skills in sales would be highly appreciated.

    The volunteering will be 5 days a week with 2 free days, which you’ll definitely enjoy in this place.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    In exchange for volunteering you will be provided a comfy bed in a two-bedroom house. As the weather is generally beautiful and sunny, most of our time is spent outside of the house, whether it's taking tours, enjoying the town or the many beaches - home is just a place to rest our heads.

    I'm sure you will love our place, Jess and I have just bought our first home and spent the winter making it look great. Our house is 2km outside Lagos, a 40 minute drive, 10min cycle or 5min drive and is equipped with everything you need for a great stay. Jess and I take pride in our home and ask that all workawayers do the same. For helping out, along with your accommodation you will receive all 3 meals on any day that you work and there's always some beer in the fridge or a bottle of wine to share. At the moment it's just my wife, Jess and myself living in the house. Jess works at a restaurant in town, whilst our work will be mainly days. Nights off are spent in the bars around town or curled up on the couch for a movie.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    In your free-time there's endless possibilities. Lagos and the Algarve are full of great restaurants and bars, so I'm sure you'd like to visit many of these - we certainly do. In the off-season, I also organise a free walking tour of the town as I have an interest in the Portuguese history and culture. I can teach you a great deal about this history whilst there are also many museums and attractions in particular detailing the great era in Portuguese history known as 'The Age of Discoveries'.

    Lagos is a mere four hours away from both Seville and Lisbon, so if you’d like to visit the big smoke these are two of Europe’s most beautiful and awe-inspiring cities. More than 300 sunny days a year means that you're almost guaranteed great weather and the pool or the beach is never far away.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Este anfitrião indicou que adora hospedar nômades digitais.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 515647949725