atualizado  

Help us with babysitting and DIY projects in our rural home on the Pratomagno mountain, Tuscany, Italy

  • Itália
  • Favorito 46 vezes
  • Última atividade: 26/01/2023

Disponibilidade

  2023 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    ***** FROM MID FEBRUARY TO MID MARCH, WE ARE LOOKING FOR SOMEONE WHO CAN HELP US FOCUS ON SOME OUTDOOR WORK THAT NEEDS TO BE FINISHED BY THE END OF WINTER (see examples below) *****

    Hello everyone, we are a family of four, myself Gea, my husband Lauro and two young kids (4 and 2). We have recently moved to our newly renovated house up the Pratomagno mountain, in a less known and wild part of Tuscany, in the central Appennines above the small town of Loro Ciuffenna. We will be running an organic farm whose main activity is beekeeping, and we intend adding chickens to produce eggs as soon as we get some of our land cleared and fenced. We also plan on creating a veggie patch for our own needs, plant fruit trees and in general set up a garden, since the area around the house is still rather bare!

    Lauro works on the farm/homestead project 100%, he has been an organic beekeeper for 10 years, and is a talented handyman, with special skills in carpentry. In addition to taking care of the children and helping out in our farm project, I also do some remote consultancy work for national or international research and development projects on organic agriculture and agrobiodiversity. Our kids will start going to a nature-based day-care three days a week in March until 3 pm but are with us the rest of the time. We try to involve them in our everyday chores and spend time outdoors whenever possible. I am bilingual Italian/English (my mother is South African), and the kids are too but we’d love them to get more English practice beyond what they get with me. I also speak Spanish since I worked and lived in Colombia for a few years (a while ago!). Lauro handles English quite well (understands it all, is a bit lazy with improving his vocabulary :-)).

    We love nature, living simply, and building a local community. I am resuming my yoga practice after a few years in which I had no time to keep it up. I have just launched a local course (that I lead) which takes place once a week just two kilometres from our home. Our house was restored with natural and ecological materials and is very warm and comfortable, although many details are missing!
    Oh and we have a lovely dog, Timo. He lives outdoors and can’t wait for someone to go on walks with him.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    By spending some time with us you could be immersed in a very different experience from that of post-card Tuscany, but possibly very rewarding in terms of contact with nature and of participating in the set-up of a small-scale organic family farm and homestead. One of Lauro's sisters lives close by and runs an organic goat and cow farm which produces delicious cheese and yogurt. Other close friends of ours are opening a small restaurant. With another group of families we are planning to set up a small outdoor day-care space for children (the one my kids go to at the moment is rather far), and if you have a special interest in outdoor education, you could participate in this adventure as well. We often have friends and visitors from the surroundings as well as from the city (I was born and raised in Florence). Our kids are always happy to have people to stay and to get to know new faces and names and they make friends very easily.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We are looking for help with both babysitting and creative play and with the general maintenance and DIY projects around the house and garden. Depending on the time of the year and the impending necessities, the balance between these two could vary slightly. In general, you could expect to be spending maybe a full day a week with the kids (when they are not at day care) and two/three afternoons on the days they get back around 3 pm, especially the days when I teach yoga in the late afternoon. Your support with the kids would allow me to get on with my remote consultancy work, while involving them in creative play, nature walks and activities, manual arts and crafts. However, more than a specific activity, what is important to us is a happy and spontaneous approach to spending time with the kids in and out of the house, while talking to them in English.

    In terms of the work on the house and garden (this would mostly be with Lauro), what follows is a (non-exhaustive!) list of what we are currently involved in and where we would love to have your help. I refer to the winter season here, before beekeeping starts in spring:

    - building a wooden banister for the stairs which separate the ground floor from the first floor,
    - creating/installing lamps/shades
    - building and installing a wooden fence in front of the house,
    - weeding, planting/pruning trees and shrubs,
    - preparing the chicken house and fencing
    - preparing the land and fence for the veggie garden
    - helping with transferring some hives to their new homes (some of our bee families have not yet been moved from where we used to live)
    - helping to pave a small area around the house, making the cement, laying down the bricks, etc.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Italiano: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You would stay in a private room with a double bed, bedside tables and a spacious wooden cupboard at the top floor of the house, which is our living space. On the ground floor, which is mostly a working and storage area, there is a fully equipped second bathroom which could be for your private use and is only a few steps down from your room. We like cooking but we are also very happy to taste new recipes if you also enjoy sharing your cooking skills! We have no dietary restrictions and prefer to host volunteers who are willing/able to eat a varied diet (ours is not rich in meat and mostly based on local/seasonal products) with not too many restrictions. While we fully respect personal choices and needs, we wish to be able to share meals as easily as possible! We don't routinely drink alcohol but enjoy a beer or glass of wine every now and again or when we have friends visiting. We would prefer not to host smokers, even if they would be smoking out of the house.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    In your free time there are plenty of walks you could take to explore the mountain, the small towns which are scattered all around and the communities living here. Our house is connected to Loro Ciuffenna with a daily bus service but we can drive you down easily on your free time. It is a very cute town with the Ciuffenna river running through it in a spectacular way. Loro Ciuffenna is also connected to the towns of the Valdarno valley by bus and from these towns there are connections to different cultural sites of interest, including of course the larger cities of Florence, Arezzo and Siena. I myself regularly visit family in Florence so a joint drive into town could probably be organised if you stay with us for some time.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We are happy to find a good spot for your van around the house. This will more likely be a spring/summer option since winters are cold and often windy (occasional snow too).

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 918744728557

Fotos

Comentário


Help me create an holistic vision of life following permaculture principals in Noto (near Syracuse), Sicily
Straw bale house and permaculture farming near Venice, Italy