Help us and learn about sustainability and permaculture on the beautiful Puna coast, Hawaii

Country

EUA

Favorito 391 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    07/09/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    815

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 6 dias

  • Medalhas

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    I live on the beautiful Puna coast, on the Hilo side of the Big Island.
    This is a 20 acre homestead.

    When I moved here, in 1991, most of the property was a barren lava flow. Now the whole property is an edible permaculture jungle!

    Originally , I had the ideal of avoiding gas powered machines, and storebought amendments. Machete was my favorite tool! That was easier to maintain back when the only fertility was where I put it. (No weeds in between plantings)

    Now, there is fertility everywhere!
    (And now I have a bobcat😂)

    They call this 'Sunny Kapoho'.

    The weather here is ideal for growing most tropical plants... we have plenty of rain and sun.

    I live in an off-grid neighborhood. All of us here live from solar power, and our water comes from the rain.

    There is very comfortable camping, with privacy,access to hot water shower, outhouse style toilets, and dry kitchen space with electrical access. AT&T has good reception for anyone with a data plan with them. Otherwise, I can make a hotspot available for limited times.

    Most of the help I need is hand work, caring for food plants and fruit trees.
    Also, there is always a need to help with organization and cleaning around.

    Update 4/28:
    At this time, I am specifically looking for a skilled builder...
    Someone who is capable of helping organize a building project. I have helped build all of the structures on my property, but I’ve always had someone else to be the main organizer of the project.

    Right now, I would love to meet someone who could help fill that role.
    🙏🏽




    MORE UPDATE:
    My life has radically changed in the past two years.
    I’m now married.
    My wife is from Japan. She has a girl who is 11, a boy who is about to turn 8, and our baby girl, who was born November, 2020.
    😇

    Everything has shifted since I set up this profile.
    My available time to facilitate others is greatly reduced.

    At this point, we are much more specific on who we can host.

    Japanese speaking people, and especially those who have children are welcome, in general. 😇

    The main projects that we are welcoming help with is still weeding, mowing, and weedwacking.
    Beyond that, we have desire to build at least a couple of other structures, for this growing family.
    Harmonious minded people with good building skills are highly welcome.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I have a lot to share about sustainability and permaculture.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    I have much need for general help on the land, mostly hand work, weeding and caring for trees and plants. I have a lot of knowledge to share about permaculture and low impact living in the tropics.
    I may have alternative building projects to take part in also, at times...
    🙏🏽

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Japonês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Mostly, I offer comfortable camping, with access to basic amenities and facilities.
    I can provide at least a solid meal/day and whatever fruits of the land.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There are LOTS of social opportunities nearby, as well as incredible nature spots within walking or biking distance. I have 2 bikes available for people to use. Hitchhiking locally is easy and safe.
    This is a great (and diverse)neighborhood.
    😇

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day / 5 days a week





Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 235665382548