Help with an ecology project in the mountains of Serra da Estrela Natural Park, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favorito 23 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    05/05/2022

  • Medalhas

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi, I am Ana, I'm a biologist specialized in forestry and ecossystem management. Me and my partner, André, an archaeologist, are starting to build an enviromental recovery and ancient knowledge preservation project. We have bought a vast land in the center of the Serra da Estrela Natural Park, which has been abandoned 15 years ago and we aim to turn it into a biodiverse land with native forests and roaming large herbivores of native breeds, mimicking the aurochs and wild horses that managed the landcape before man. Also we want to keep ancient heritage alive by making traditional cheese with our Bordaleira sheep, and exploring various other forms to live off the land as the ancients did, in the most sustainable way possible and collaborating with nature.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Learning about the reality in rural Portugal, ancient knowledge like cheese making and tradicional agriculture and land management, wild edibles, biodiversity, seeding and planting forests, ecology and more. Depending on the season you will be able to participate in some of these activities.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We are at the start of this project so there is LOTS to be done and for which we need help. André is working and it's a lot just for one person to handle. For example, there are many old stone buildings we would like to restore using sustainable techniques, maintaining the local architecture. There are some more recent buildings which require repairs also. Also we need help with things like collecting firewood, fence maintainance and building, tree planting, seed picking, gardening, bush clearing, etc...

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Português: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Small bedroom in our house with double sized bed, tents or bring your own campervan. We live off grid, so wc is outside in the bushes, but we already have a sink and bathtub (cold water only, or heated in a fire stove). We have a small 12v solar system for charging cell phones by usb and lighting (limited use in winter). Meals are prepared in our kitchen and we eat together; we provide food from the grocery store and from our land.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are at the centre of the Serra da Estrela Natural Park, so there are lots of natural pools, trails and nature to explore. The nearest villages are Folgosinho or Linhares da Beira, with restaurants, cafes and a small grocery store, and the nearest cities are Gouveia, Celorico da Beira and Manteigas. The land is acessible by 7km of dirt road, so an apropriate vehicle (4x4) is required to leave when you want. Sometimes the dirt road is in better conditions (dry season or recent maintenance) and a normal car can reach the land. If you don't have a way to reach here and you want to stay for a shorter term, being content with visiting the local surroundings by foot, I can pick you up in the bus or train station, or even at the concrete road if you come with your car. When I go to the village you can come with me but depending on the work it can be only once a week.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 917215254972