Help to convert a heritage brewery into a self-sufficient community space in Alveringem, Belgium

Country

Bélgica

atualizado  

Favorito 151 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    25/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    97.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 3 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi all! After a sabbatical of 5 years and visiting 42 countries, we chose to do the impossible. Restoring an abandoned old Belgian brewery close to France, our coast & the World famous Westvleteren monks' brewery.
    10 years later and close to our first activities like Permaculture gardening, organizing an art festival and renting kayak... we would love to welcome you and show you around, AND give you the chance to discover Bruges, Ghent, the North of France (1 km from our place) and the Belgium coast! Tickets to Brussels are affordable and the train station of Poperinge is just 10 minutes away!
    I am a coach but ready to learn from you too. And so is our team!
    We are located at a small river site (Dode Ijzer) and do live in a castle. We love ecology and sustainability and are striving for self-sufficiency with our feet on the ground.
    Btw did you know the Brewery has a most interesting past and used to be one of the 5 largest breweries about 100 years ago...
    Have a great day!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Starting at the beginning of a community, we are open to all new unconventional and experimental stages of community life and self-sustainability. This is a place where you can start projects, experiments, even art-projects and achieve results with the help of the people here. We really want to pioneer ourselves into the future, and explore all kinds of possibilities in the range of heating, solar power, water purification, gardening, and also art and cultural explorations. and even more... At this point we live with a pioneersgroup of 3 people permanently here,

    We have a no drugs (soft/hard/paddo) -policy.
    We aim to recycle as much as possible, both in food and materials, and keep the waste to at least as possible. That means that our meals are not lavish, but surely more than enough, and we like to reduce water usage and any other kind of spoilage to a minimum. Of course you can take a shower any time and as many as you want, just try to keep the water use and the energy to heat it in mind.
    On a daily basis our lives are filled with working on various projects, including cleaning, maintaining, improving or relaxing. As there is always something to do, we choose our time-off at any time we like. Feed the chickens, work in the garden or set up our own cinema, building a stage for a band or create our own yoga room; We can do it all here. And together that will be way much more fun.

    As we are a co-housing (and sort-of community) in startup, living together and sharing together, we expect that all people naturally and without asking clean parts of the quarters and mansion and all facilities like you would do in your own place too. We see this part not as work-away hours, but just commonality: We’re not a restaurant nor a guesthouse with housekeeping, but a community. That takes more than doing the dishes, but you will find that it is community-life in its fullest and even more grateful.
    We have a washing machine (€3) and a dryer available (€3) and you are welcome to use our sauna (€3)
    We have also a more-and more extending fitness-area you can use, our ping-pong tournaments are legendary, and feel free to use our yoga-studio or watch occasionally a movie or play the Wii in our cinema. We have a fast internet connection, but it's limited to 200GB/month for all of us.

    But best of all we have a “Please-do-whatever-you-like, are best at, AND helps our community in a positive way” - policy.
    We generally are starting at 10 until 12, and 13 until 16 o’clock. Take your days off how you like, Workaway states 5 days of work in a 7 day week, so you can be flexible in that too.
    Last but not least “We are looking very much forward to your arrival, and hope you will enjoy our little paradise in the making.

    All the best,

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Hours are free to chose depending of the work and situations but usually general between 08am to 01pm, then we have lunch together.
    Time off in the morning to sleep in or do workouts in our gym or yoga in our studio, and in the afternoon to go shopping, kayaking or visiting the area.
    Pick your own day off to visit cities and learn about the history of World War 1 and 2. 


    Send your info as a message in the chat, or email us, so we look for common grounds to build. 
All the best from Belgium, have a great day!

  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente
    Holandês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We provide breakfast, lunch, diner and a (sometimes shared) room for workawayers in the Brewers' Castle
    We also have a camper / RV private camper-parking for 5 or 6 vans with own toilet, electrics and water, or we could find you a corner in the meadow if you’re into camping and you bring your tent.


    We provide full meals for all who work the minumum, and you are most welcome to help preparing/cooking too. We love different cultures. We are a flexitarian kind of group, and are open to any new things we come across. If you have special diet requirements, we try to fit your needs or find a solution, so let us know upfront before we go shopping.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Around 1914 - 1915 the most gruesome battles of the First World War happened in this area.
    The town of Ypres is pretty near, and it was rebuilt the same way it had looked before the war after it was completely demolished.
    There are a lot of English and Canadian graveyards here. Old bunkers, trenches, or smuggling routes, it's all here to discover. Quite some musea about warfare, and historic places to visit. The beach is 20 minutes by car, and the French border only 1600m away. England is 2 hours away by car, Lille 1 hour away, and Dunkirk 30min away. We often can arrange a lift easily, and the bus stop is near. Our village is very small, a few bars and a small shop, but the nearest town (Poperinge) is a 15min drive away.



  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have a pretty decent internet connection, a 4-person office you can use, or you can find yourself a place somewhere in the range of our routers or run your own wire to make your own temporary spot.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have our own camper field for about 5 or 6 vans. 10 Amps shared electric sockets, a separate toilet and running water about everywhere.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    4-5 hours a day

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.9)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

















Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 916726635456