Stay near Tomar, Portugal and help with keeping my garden and more under control

  • Favorito 34 vezes
  • Última atividade: 4 jun. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Dear future friends who are Workaways
    I need help to keep the wonderful work that Anna has done, as she is returning to Hungary weighted down with marmalade that she has made from my oranges and lemons and the big smile she has when cutting the grass on the ride on mower - see picture.
    The garden was a bit overgrown because I have been in hospital but Anna cleaned it up, planted some French potatoes, mastered the bush-cutter and the ride on mower, all whilst she tutored Maths and Physic students back in Hungary via my very fast WiFi.
    So can you continue her wonderful work?
    This is the latest up-date on my introduction to you coming to help me keep the garden and the land looking good and productive.
    In early 2015 I did not know what a workaway was, since then I have met many, enjoying their company and the transformation they have created here in Carril.
    Martin was the ground breaker, who came for a week but was here for six months and but has been diverted by his family responsibilities. Martin started remaking many aspects of the garden and the outbuildings, which has allowed the improvements to become more and more interesting with further help from others from Australia, Nederland, Germany, England, Estonia, Nigeria, Brazil, Ireland and Hungary.
    All your fellow workaways seemed to have enjoyed my cooking and some interesting long conversations, stories about filmmaking and music. I have enjoyed their company and some interesting food from cakes made from sweet corn from Brazil, many breads from Germany, great soups and desserts from Estonia – you are increasing my knowledge in many areas – thank you.
    I need the land improvements to be maintained and to go further. I have a garden around the house and swimming pool, with orange and olive trees, a small herb garden which is being renewed. The other land across the road, is much more extensive with many trees.
    The heating of the house is biomass.
    I prefer people to come for longer than two weeks. At the moment I need a bit more help as I have broken my thigh bone.
    I look forward to welcoming more people to this wonderful part of Central Portugal to understand the culture, history, beautiful scenery, interesting castles and the coast which is an hour away and have some fun.
    But enough from me, here is what Martin thought and seems to be what most people who come here say:
    The food is great here, Barry is a great cook, he cooks very well and is always inviting people to British Sunday Lunches, which go on for every. He even cooks brilliant vegetarian food. He also does not stop talking, very interestingly, about working in the film industry where he ran little companies, big companies, directed a lot of famous film people and music stars, even worked with world leaders!
    The house is very comfortable, the work is very varied although he says it is gardening. Well it is a lot more.
    There is a large garden with grass (most of it is really weeds) which surrounds a swimming pool which I have learnt to clean – so I am now a pool boy too!
    There are about 40 olive trees which will be ready to pick from October onwards, which we are looking to have our own pressing, which should produce 50 litres.
    Over from the house there is more land where I am trying to resurrect some old vines for making wine, growing more vegetables and picking lots of oranges and lemon.
    I am also helping to make some buildings so they can be habitable after many years of neglect. Also watching how fast the trees and everything grows!
    This area of Portugal is very beautiful, the house is on a hill and you can see a very long distance. There is a long lake nearby which is very clean as it is part of the water supply for Lisbon which is 100km away. The sea is about an hour’s drive away and the coast is stunning but the seas are big.
    Barry has shown me many places near-by from big markets and the fascinating castle in Tomar where the Knights Templars had their very impressive castle. We have been to many places including Lisbon, which Barry seems to know well.
    He has a lot of friends around and is always having interesting ideas, I hope you enjoy it as much as I.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    The garden is mainly grass with olive trees, oranges, lemons and cherries. There is a small herb garden and flowers and shrubs around the swimming pool.

    If vegetable growing was wanted then there is more land over the road about 4 hectares (10 acres) of trees.

    There is a motor mower and bush cutters.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Iniciante
    Português: Iniciante

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    The house is on top of a hill with far ranging views. It has central heating, two bathrooms, if there are two of you and you did not want to share then you could have separate rooms.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There is a small town nearby, which is visited most days for shopping and meals etc.

    Within 20 minutes is Tomar where the Knights Templar's ruled Portugal from, which has an interesting castle from the 12th century, many shops and has some fun bits.

    Lisbon can be reached in about an hour, there is swimming in a nearby lake and the sea is about 40 miles away.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    I have a very fast connection, it is fibre optic into the house.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    I have two plots of land which are across a road, your van can be on either side,

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 897913948574

Comentário (16)



Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicação: (5.0)





















Embrace the joys of coastal living while helping in a surf hostel in Peniche, Portugal
Come and join our permaculture adventure towards a self sufficient ecofriendly farm in São Miguel de Acha, Portugal