Help in agroforesting and olives harvest on the slopes of Etna, Sicilly, Italy.

  • Itália
  • Favorito 357 vezes
  • Última atividade: 31/01/2023

Disponibilidade

  2023 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    My name is Sara, my passions range from ecology, permaculture, agroforesting, self-sufficiency practices, theater, ethno-anthropology and ethnomusicology. I speak Sicilian, Italian, English and Spanish. Since 10 years I am part of the regional Permaculture network in Sicily, after many experiences in various community and realities I settled and live on the southern slopes of Etna in Belpasso, in the old farmhouse of my grandparents that I renovated and turned into a B&B / convivial farmhouse. I also dedicate myself to the cultivation of olive trees and the production of extra virgin olive oil for me and my family. There is a small vegetable garden that I'm going to improve, and I am progressing in the design of the garden around the house to increase resilience and self-sufficiency. In addition, right next to the house, together with my cousins, we manage a vineyard and produce organic wine with ancient methods (pressing in stone tanks without using synthetic products). The production is rather small so it is enough just for me and for the family: the vineyard is a bit abandoned but this has created a good balance between wild and cultivated so the work will be a delicate reclamation. I live there with two dogs and two outside cats and one inside. Usually many friends visit me and I love conviviality. Another larger olive grove is located at my mother's house in a town further downstream than where I live. During the month of November, the olives are harvested first at my mother's house (a nice big house with a big garden), and then at my place.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    In all the works I do I always try to be inspired by permaculture so the knowledge I can share are mainly about permaculture, ecology, soil and community regeneration. Lately I feel very inspired by the social application of ecology and the creation of small communities. I strongly believe in the ethics of caring for the earth, caring for the person and equitable sharing.
    Also I am passionate about traditional music, I have had experiences in research, and I have a large musical archive on Sicily and on the tradition of storytellers. I love the sacred conviviality and the exchange that is created by exploring territorial identities and traditions and for me is very important the genuineness of improvisation.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Mostly I will need help in November for the olive harvest. The trees in my mother's garden are very easy to harvest and safe to climb. Instead the trees in my mountain home are taller and the use of long sticks, ladders, or good climbers is required!
    In addition, if anyone wanted, could help me in the social media managing of my project ... even just by taking beautiful photos for social media and helping me to prepare the marketing plan for the next season (I'm not very good at this!).
    The accommodation will be in a nice common dormitory shared with the other volunteers (hosting a maximum of 2-3 people).
    The olive harvest is a very important ritual moment in our area. The work consists of spreading large nets under the olive trees and dropping the fruits with the hands or with the help of small rakes. It is not a very heavy job, it takes patience, almost meditative, and it is preferable to have the pleasure of being under the trees and in contact with nature. The olives are placed in boxes of about 20 kg and taken to the mill where they are transformed into oil. During the harvest season it is very nice to make bread at home and eat it hot with freshly squeezed oil!

  • Idiomas

    Espanhol: Fluente
    Italiano: Fluente
    Inglês: Intermediário

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    During the harvest at my mother's house we have a private room for up to a couple and an attic with some mattresses for about 2/3 people.
    While during the harvest at my home volunteers will sit in the bigger B&B room (30m2) as a common dormitory with 4 beds (one double and two singles) , it's a very nice one, and it has its own private bathroom. The house is served with all comforts, heating hot water and wi-fi.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The house is located in a countryside area outside the town so it is better to have a vehicle available to visit the area. Reachable from Catania by AST or FCE bus (Borrello stop), the stop in the village is 3 km from the house: I will pick you up at the stop, on foot it's a bit tiring climb!
    20 minutes from the Sapienza Refuge (cableway to the central craters), 35 min from Catania, 1h from Syracuse, 1h from Taormina, 40 min from the Riviera dei Ciclopi (Acireale), 20 min from the Simeto Valley, 25 min from the Serra la observatory Ship.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have a 30M internet connection, of course if you have to work online in your free time it's possible! We can organize our days together!

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have enough space for the campervan!!

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 885453647445

Comentário (9)



Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)












Speak English to our child and join in with local activities in the historic city of Vigevano, Italy
Help me to paint and redecorating my house in a little town near Asti, Piedmont, Italy