Help with permaculture and other various projects around a beautiful 40 acre property in the countryside of Pennsylvania, just 2 hours from NYC, USA



Favorito 679 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    86.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 47 dias

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

  • Descrição


    I am excited to announce a project that I would like to start working on this year, or rather, many projects. My dear sweet Oma (grandmother) has passed away last year and left behind a 40 acre property containing her beautiful home and a bungalow. Our family would love to see this property come to life and turn it into something amazing in honor of our beloved Oma. We have many ideas and also welcome many more. The first steps would be to clean out the house and re-design the interior of both houses. We would also like to work on the landscape around the property, maybe planting some flowers, etc. We would love to clear out both the small raised bed garden and a bigger garden on the property as well and start planting some fruits and vegetables for the summer. My brother has taught himself how to build wooden chairs to go around the fireplace to maybe he could use some help with that if anyone wants to learn. Would love to make some decorative pieces to go around the house also such as wooden plaques or macrame dreamcatchers. Ideally, to learn to make some handcrafted items out of natural products that we find around the property would be so amazing so if anyone has any other ideas on little crafty items we can make that would be great! I just finished my permaculture design course in Costa Rica and can't wait to start implementing some of those ideas this summer. We would love to find some volunteers that would could help us with a variety of things.

    I am currently working online and in the process of creating my own business online so another idea of mine is to create a kind of co-living/co-working type of feel. So if you also work online, or are interested in doing so, let me know! I am hoping to create an atmosphere of motivated people that want to get down to business, but also have fun.

    I am also a certified yoga instructor and would love to eventually down the line build a yoga shala with my brother. I would love to create a beautiful community here on this land. But for now, would happily welcome any yogis that would like to join us for our daily yoga practice.

    A little about me - I have been living the digital nomad life for the past 5 years. I am an avid traveler and love to meet new people and learn new things. I have been teaching English online for over 4 years and working on creating my own teaching business. I am currently learning Spanish and German. I currently travel full time and I am hoping to start spending every summer in Pennsylvania to work on these projects.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Being that I am an English teacher, this would definitely be a great place to practice/polish up your English. I would like to share my gardening and permaculture design knowledge for those that are interested as this has recently became a passion of mine. My brother is a photographer and woodworker apprentice so he would be happy to share any knowledge in either of those fields. We both plan to learn a lot more about building and creating small pieces of furniture and decorative pieces so would be interested in sharing knowledge about that as well. I am a certified yoga instructor and would be happy to hold yoga classes. I am also really into circus arts and have some aerial silks that I would be happy to teach as well. I love to share and learn to make dishes from all over the world. By spending time here with my German/American family, you will get to experience a little of each of those cultures, along with the cultural knowledge and traditions that I have learned about through the many years traveling around the world. I am also happy to learn about your culture as well!

  • Ajuda


    Some projects we would like to work on:
    -converting an old van into a camper van
    -gardening/permaculture design
    -clearing trees
    -landscape design
    -interior design
    -building small furniture and other items
    -creating a website

    We would like to find others that are as excited as us to be part of something spectacular. We are looking for people not so much with certain skills, but more importantly with a positive, fun, openminded outlook on life that would be pleasant to live and work with. Ideally, people that are as eager to learn new skills as we are. Of course, however, any previous experience would be a plus! We could also use some help with basic daily activities, such as cleaning and cooking.

    We are happy to provide accommodation and meals in exchange for 20-25 hours of volunteer help per week. My brother and I, who will be leading these projects, are very easy going and travelers ourselves so we would like to do this not only to find help, but also to share an incredible experience with likeminded people from all over the world. Therefore, we are not here looking for some cheap labor and don't want to take advantage and work you to death. Rather, we would like to work on a loose schedule to make sure we do get in some work but if you need some days or times off, we will be very flexible with that. We have both been hosts for many years and love to share experiences with our guests. I have also hosted workawayers years ago in my house in Miami and had nothing but great experiences. I would love to setup a daily schedule that is light and fun for everyone. I want it to feel more like a community where we learn together rather than work.

    The first project I would like to work on is clearing out some dead/fallen trees and making use out of the wood in some creative way. Ideally, I would like to try to transition to living waste-free and using everything we find on the land and all waste for another purpose. Would like to create a food forest in the areas that are/will be cleared as well.


  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Intermediário
    Alemão: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I am an English teacher so I could definitely help you with your English! Would love to continue practicing my Spanish and German!

  • Acomodação


    Accommodation will be a private room and shared bathroom.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The location:

    Shohola is a very small town of only 2,500 people, located in the Pocono Mountains. The house is just a 5-10 minute drive from the center of this tiny town. It is a very rural woodland area of Pennsylvania. There isn’t even cell phone service that reaches to the house. Not to worry - we do have wifi! ;)

    The great part about this location is that not only are we located in the mountains, but we are also just a short 15 minute walk to the Delaware River and just a 2 hour drive into NYC! My brother and I actually grew up in Brooklyn so we are happy to take you down to the city once in a while as well if you would like to do so! Sometimes the hustle and bustle of the big city can be a nice little break from the country lifestyle you will experience in Shohola, Pennsylvania. There are many amazing sights to see in the area and lots to do such as kayaking, tubing, fishing, boating (my family does have a small pontoon boat that we like to take out to a nearby lake from time to time), hiking, exploring historical towns, etc.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    I myself am a digital nomad therefore, I have a comfortable work space available with strong wifi.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    There is lots of space to host campervans on the property.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    I may be able to accept workawayers with pets but they should be okay with being outdoors most of the time as we are not really used to having pets in the house much.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 874945656492