Help us get our home and garden fixed up, and work towards a self-sustaining lifestyle in Livanates, Greece

Country

Grécia

atualizado  

Favorito 38 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    28/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello Workaway explorers! We are Evangelos (Evans, 32) & Annie(29), a Greek-British couple living in Livanates, Greece. We first met 4 years ago when we lived in a community in Denmark, whilst studying alternative education. In 2019 we moved to Annie’s family home in England, where we worked through most of the COVID pandemic in a residential home for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder. Then, for a few different reasons we moved to our current home in Livanates, Greece, in summer 2021. The biggest reasons include that because Evans inherited our small home with a large garden it meant we could work towards a self-sustaining lifestyle with the home and land we have here. In Greece we feel a stronger sense of community, family support, and relaxed lifestyle which we value.
    We speak English at home, Evans is fluent in Greek & Annie is learning. Evans speaks some Italian and Annie some French. We welcome language, cultural & thoughtful exchange.

    We live on the edge of a small town, Livanates; 5 mins walk from the town centre, 10-15 mins walk to the beach and 7 mins walk to the supermarket. There is a market 2 mins from the house every Monday morning.

    We have a very large garden, it’s 100mx50metres so it’s more like a field which hasn’t been used for a long time. There is a lot of work to get it properly organised but so far we have made a chicken run where we keep 10 chickens and a cockerell. We also have 2 friendly dogs who roam the garden, so liking dogs is almost necessary to come because we cannot keep them away from you all the time. We have a vegetable garden and we have planted some trees and herbs around the rest of the garden, to get them growing to provide more shade as soon as possible. The garden is south facing so gets a lot of sun and there weren’t many trees when we came to provide shade. We have great views of the hills around and the sea in front of the town.

    At the moment Evans is going to work everyday so his time is limited at home and this is why we really need some help, as the number of jobs that need doing can get a bit much.

    We love listening to music, playing board games and watching movies, getting creative and discussing meaningful things in life.
    The buses from Athens or northern Greece often stop in Livanates so we’re quite easy to get to, even if you only want to stop off for a day or two as you’re passing. Because of the things that we need help with, we don’t need you to commit to staying for a long time, but we’re also happy for you to come and stay a bit longer than planned if you enjoy it here.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Staying with us you will have the opportunity to practice English & Greek languages. We will happily share what knowledge we have of permaculture gardening, keeping chickens and herbal remedies. We are trying to find out more about natural building techniques, and thinking about some small projects we can do in the garden to become confident in them, so we could explore this together. We love discussing culutral differences, what there is to be offered by community living, and would be happy to share with you our experiences from when we met living in a community and what we've learned living&exploring in foreign countries.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Generally you will work 4 or 5 hours, 5 days a week.
    What we need help with right now:
    -Organising the garden. Clearing pathways and using mulching techniques to make areas for planting more.
    -Planting trees/herbs/vegetables/flowers.
    -Keeping the vegetable garden. Clearing weeds, watering the garden etc.
    -Harvesting and preserving herbs. Annie’s mother is a herbalist and so she has always been raised to go to natural remedies first before pharmaceuticals. Over the years she has learnt some basic knowledge in herbal properties and how to make them into useful mediums e.g. teas, tinctures, salves/balms. Muma is always on the end of the phone for any advice, and we can’t wait until the outbuildings are developed so we have better space for our herbal and food preservations.
    -Looking after the animals. Cleaning out the chickens, feeding the animals etc.
    -Water saving system. We plan to get barrels or similar to harness the water from our roofs when it rains so we can reuse this in our garden (We’re aware of the worldwide need to reduce water consumption and food waste- we also compost what food waste we cannot feed to our dogs or chickens.)
    -Making mosquito nets for the windows. We’ve just purchased some netting and now we need to make this into suitable nets we can use to keep those annoying bugs out!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Greek: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário
    Italiano: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Currently the accommodation we have available for you is a choice of sleeping in a tent we can put up in the garden, sleeping in our '89 VW campervan . We have plenty of space if you have your own van/tent to stay in.
    We wanted to get better workers accommodation sorted but right now we need the help more, and you can help us build the outside area so it is better suited for visitors!
    We will share our kitchen and bathroom within the house.
    Concerning food: we usually have fruit/yogurt/fresh eggs for breakfast, salad/soup/leftovers for lunch and a freshly cooked dinner in the evening. We would like to cook together in the evenings- often with workawayers we cook alternate evenings (we cook one night, they cook the next, etc.) and eat together, but this is flexible. We tend to eat either meat or vegan meals, the only dairy we eat is eggs and cheese. If you are vegan or vegeterian this is welcome as we are always trying to consume less meat. Annie has many food intolerances so we are also very understanding if you also have allergies or intolerances.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The biggest attraction locally, in our opinion, are the beaches! There is not a lot of other entertainment venues in our little town, but it is very nice to take a walk into town or down to the beach front to sit and have a coffee and watch the world go by. If you want to go walking in the hills behind us maybe we can arrange a time to go together. It is not recommended to go by yourself because of wild animals, and we should not go when the fire risk is high during the mid summer.
    You can take a ferry from the next town, Arkitsa, over to the island of Evia to explore. It has hot springs in the north, near to the ferry though not within walking distance.
    There are bars open along the beachfront every evening if you like to go out at night- we may join you if so!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Our Wi-Fi is fast & reliable - unless there is a power cut, as these are reaonably common in Greece. We do not have a particular space but we happily find an agreement for you to use our living room or work on the balcony if you have the need.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Our garden is huge- we have plenty of space for you to park up! Keep in mind our dogs may be curious about your vehicle, and there is not somewhere that it can be in the shade all day.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    No cats, unfortunately our dogs will chase them. Same could be said for all small creatures. If you have a friendly dog then they are more than welcome, we will be considerate that we introduce yours with our dogs carefully. We have had visitors bring their dogs into our garden before and we have not ever had a problem with our dogs, but we are mindful that this doesn't mean it could happen. Hopefully our animals will get along well because we love them all!

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 874689259746