Come help at a community hub event space in Vale das Barrocas, Portugal

  • Portugal
  • Favorito 632 vezes
  • Última atividade: 29 nov. 2023



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 3 semanas



  • Descrição


    Hello and welcome.


    Currently looking for some people who love winters in nature, building new hang outs, making pathways, clearing shrubs, setting up spaces on land and painting and decorating rooms at our gorgeous new location with ruins and a pool!

    Moving from one place to another the next weeks..animals and humans.

    Will be in tents/stone room/caravan - ideally bring your own space to camp for your comfort.

    Responsible, kind, positive attitude, must be okay with variables of winter, happy with quiet time and social interactions.

    Family vibes here, meals we share in, social time and quiet time, buddhist chanting some mornings, plenty of books to read.

    Please read below for more info.

    Thank you.


    Welcome :)

    Our hub in Portugal is near the city of Castelo Branco, in the forest in a valley.

    We have 6 hectares, a river and eucalyptus, mimosa and pine forest, some meadows and other gems, a natural swimming pond (during winter-spring) and a couple of river beaches in the vicinity. Mains and off grid power.

    In 5 years we have transformed the place into a cool hideout in the forest, good energy and conscious mindset, many people from the wider community frequent the space, we hold events here and there, but the goal is conscious retreats for guests and a community environment. Lots ahead in the pipeline.

    - we have really awesome people coming and staying - kind, problem solving, proactive, creative, respectful, helpful and independent nature is expected and preferred.

    we welcome woodworkers, builders, gardeners, artists, electrician/plumbers, people who can work independently and love nature and animals.

    If you're just looking for a holiday stop gap, this isnt the place for you...we want people who are enthusiastic and proactive - we have a 2 week minimum stay policy for volunteers.

    No alcohol, smoking or drug taking in communal areas please. There is a smoking area and of course people can do as they wish in their own space - practising mindfulness and care for others is important to s.

    We ask for 3 hours a day 5 days a week in exchange for a space to stay. Everyone chips in for food weekly Works way better like this as we eat together. You can buy food alone of course.
    You're in charge of your schedule - we review your progress over the week and see if all seems fair, if working in groups please stick to times agreed

    We have 2 team meetings per week, am meets to plan day...chanting mon-fri.. nam myoho range Kyo.

    Rambo & Ninja our dogs, our 12 cats and 8 chickens live in abundant happiness...who needs a tv with them around.. our horse will be back from vacation soon with 2 other equine family members.

    We are diverse, musical, conscious, weirdo, aliens, queer, magickal and accepting of everyone - please be okay with time alone as we all enjoy space as well as communally shared time.

    We love board games and cards. Backgammon and chess especially

    We have a bathroom with shower (hot showers available with some effort, a few compost toilets, kitchen, heated chill room/communal space, a basic gym/weights, event space, gardens of veg in progress, water tower, small swimming pond ( most of year) and a load of other stuff..

    Being animal friendly/lovers, we are vegetarian/vegan and don't eat meat, please respect this and refrain from eating meat at our home. You can go to town or out for food when you like of course.

    There are wild boar, hares, terrapins, otter, frogs, lots of flowers, birds and insects around, depending on the time of year.

    In the summer it gets really hot sometimes hitting 45, prepare accordingly - the most temperate times are spring and autumn, winter is fair in the day time - however in the evening not so much. Nothing a couple of logs on the fire /a warm sleeping bag cant fix

    Preparation is important in winter

    Ideally volunteers have their own transport. But not as essential as a good attitude.

    If pick up is needed from city, it must be arranged before 1330 or preferably hitchhiking/bus works from castelo Branco (10-15€ pick up towards fuel as its an hour round trip) and we pick up from Barbaido village for free, if a car is available - you maybe can get a cab otherwise (30€). Or hitchhiking to Barbaido, the closest village and a 30 min walk to us.

    2 week minimum stay, we prefer people staying longer and joining the fam longer term, makes life easier for us and more authentic for you.

    Any questions DM please

    Please add: 'Rambos Jambos Mambos' as the subject title in the email you send to us, to confirm you have read the above.

    Thank you. Hope to see you soon 👽💚😅🏳️‍🌈🦄

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    it is tranquil, peaceful, healing energy, time for yourself, time to be in nature and connect with good people and animals, time to do yoga, make music or do art - to learn open communication and how to be part of a community space

    we do bi-weekly team meetings and always stuff happening, be prepared for random adventures - considering its in the middle of the forest.

  • Ajuda


    Current Tasks:

    Clearing land
    Making a workshop
    Making a store room
    All kinds of stuff

    Building kitchen/bathroom area

    - land clearing from Estava and brambles
    - building shed
    - tidy up of land
    - picking olives,
    - veg gardens to maintain
    - paths to decorate,
    - steps to install,
    - painting/maintenance of buildings,

    minimum 2 weeks
    (if we get on okay/the match fits). It takes this long to get into the swing of the place and figure out how everything works/goes; will build a load of cabins and platforms too.

    Our schedule for volunteers is 5 days a week 3 hours a day, in exchange for a place to stay which will be a simple tent with mattress and bedding or your own van.

    You will need to chip in for food. meals we eat together and take turns cooking.

    Everyone joins in the cooking schedule at home if eating with the family.

    Food we eat a lot of veg/beans/protein/varied and healthy diet aimed to keep us energised and fuelled.

    Sometimes we have pizza night or burgers and chips.

    People go in town regularly for food too.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Iniciante
    Português: Iniciante

  • Acomodação


    single tent or shared bell tent, with mattresses and bedding/sleeping bag.

    Stone House.

    Bring your own snacks and food. Veggie only please.

    prefer independent people with own accomodation/vehicle or people with tents and sleeping bags.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    swimming, hiking, drive to town if you have a car, bar in village, sleep, read, art, play music

    We have so many cool events here and a packed social diary if desired.

    bus from village twice daily

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We are mainly off grid. We do have our solar set up and this allows us to work online if there's a need to - care to charge during the day in sun on cloudy/ winter days and also flexibility weatherise. 4g picks up just fine and have Wi-Fi most of the time (hotspots). During rainy days minimum electrical at present

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    plenty of space to set up a camper/motorhome. (Please only organic toilet/compost or take to town to dispose of) actually its preferred to have people with their own vans, this is because it is helpful to have more drivers and frees up sleeping spaces. :)

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Only cat and chicken friendly female dogs / spayed boys - it will not work otherwise - our male dog doesn't like other boys, especially if they're barky/too energetic. please let us know first :)

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    3 hours a day, 5 days a week- for a place to stay

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 874297614243

Comentário (12)



Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicação: (4.9)

Tasks between Miramar beach and city centre Porto, Portugal
House/Yurt sitting in Alentejo, Portugal