Learn about wildlife and our life on our finca in southern Catalonia, Spain

Country

Espanha

atualizado  

Favorito 266 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    23/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 10 dias

  • Medalhas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi! We are looking for one or two energetic and motivated people to come join us for a month or two (or more...) to help us get on top of things on our farm. We will do a range of tasks such as strimming, putting up a yurt, building a compost toilet and new projects like building steps with bottles, stones and mosaic.

    🌳🌳🌳🌳🌳🌳🌳🌳🌳🌳🌳

    Do you have experience in building🔨 simple structures? Please get in touch and join⛓️ our future mission to build... a dome (cúpula) for sound🎶, yurts (currently looking for an individual or company who can make a quality new cover) shade shelters, building with cob and glass bottles, bamboo, cutting and milling wood (pine) into useful timbers, tree houses, benches, outhouses for storage and shelter, root cellar, excavating old tunnels and caves...
    Please come and join us by sharing your skills 🌰🌱🕸️ 💗

    🌻🍀🌼🌸💐🏵🌹🌺
    Hi! We are Silke and Nick. We moved from Scotland to our finca, a 20 hectare valley of olive grove and mixed pine forest, in Southern Catalonia 5 years ago. We are following our instincts to live in harmony with nature; to care for, restore and cultivate this land. Now we invite good people to work, rest and play here, to join us in learning, growing, creation and exploration.

    Our dream is to co-create a community of like minded people who will join us in holding a healing space for sharing skills and abundance, so that people such as activists can flow through to build and restore their capacity to contribute to the healing of this world.

    Silke is a sound healer and a facilitator for The Work That Reconnects. Nick is a practical handyman, creative gardener, and stone wall builder extraordinaire! We both love cooking, foraging, hiking, permaculture, being silly, learning new things and welcoming people to our amazing land. We have high hopes to meet the right people, to invite to live here with us in community to join us in stewarding this land.

    Our place has got so much wild space to explore. We are developing a network of colour marked paths through this beautiful and peaceful valley of long abandoned terraces. It is a richly biodiverse ecosystem full of magic and mystery, and it is a total joy and honour to be here, witnessing beauty and observing and learning about the interconnectedness of all the plants, animals, insects, rocks and soil around us. We are working hard towards self sufficiency and future food security. A huge part of our vision is to create the space for people to deeply connect with nature in many ways, as from this a mutual healing of people and planet emerges. We always say that "the land has worked on us more than we have worked on the land". One of our main ongoing projects is the designing and planting of a forest garden in the olive grove behind Silke and Nick's house. So much to do, so much to learn! But how? That's where you come in!

    We are looking for self motivated people with energy and enthusiasm. We absolutely love to share what we have learnt and also learn from others. We are equal beings here, working together and taking turns to do everyday jobs like cooking and washing up. We have backgrounds in working with communities, running workshops, foraging, permaculture and gardening. We have no official permaculture training however, we are self taught, so are really interested to hear the experience of others. We are seeking to learn and share, exchanging skills to increase the sustainability of our lifestyles for the maximum growth, learning and well being for all. So get in touch and tell us about you :-)

    Our place is in the hills about 30 minutes drive from a few towns, and totally off-grid with solar panels and only rainwater catchment, so if you come here you need to be EXTREMELY careful with water. No hot running water and composting toilets. Telephone reception is limited; you need to climb a couple of minutes up the hill to get signal, but we do have satellite internet in the house. We have space for volunteers to park up a camper van and will normally accept travelling pets. As for animals, at the moment we have three cats, two dogs and 10 chickens. We live simply and try to reduce consumption and waste as much as possible. We treat the land as provider and teacher, so please do not bring non-biodegradable cosmetic products.

    We love music, singing and dancing! Please bring instruments and teach us how to play ours! In the evenings we also like to play games and watch films, or take space and time for ourselves to meditate, read and study.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We love to share our growing knowledge of the wildlife here, as well as our experiences and processes on the finca, such as how we prune the trees and maintain the forest, making biochar from the prunings then processing, charging and applying the biochar to the land.

    There is so much to see in the surrounding areas, especially if you like walking, cycling and exploring. We are about half an hour to drive to the sea, and we are also very close to the Ebro delta with its rich variety of water birds. Inland from us you can find ancient cave paintings, a gorge to swim in, and lots of old villages rich in history and crafts. It is a very inspiring place to live and we are looking forward to exploring it more ourselves.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Things we work on throught the year: building an outdoor kitchen and compost toilet for a yurt, building water storage, digging swales, making paths, pruning and maintaining the olive grove (we prune the trees in January and February, and we normally harvest at the end of October/ start of November), making and processing biochar (composting and infusing charcoal with organic matter to build and improve the nutrients and water retention of soil), transplanting trees and plants. If you really want to get your hands in the soil then come and see us!

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Here are some specific activities and skills we would love to learn about or have help with, so if you can do any of these we'd love to hear from you... even if you don't have experience in these but have bags of enthusiasm and energy then we'd love to see you too!

    Knowledge of growing food in a semi-arid climate. We are learning and experimenting all the time. Any experience of optimising water collection and usage will be particularly appreciated. We have plans to expand our rainwater catchment and storage areas and want to develop these very soon. We are currently deepening our knowledge with a practical regenerative soil science course.

    Map making and development of marked paths through out the valley. We want to create beautiful hand drawn maps of our land to show paths and landmarks, to help increase access for walking. Wildlife photographers, drone operators, treehouse builders and geologists will be particularly welcome!!

    Building! Benches, swings, signposts, storage sheds, huts, treehouses and one day.... a dome for sound! Please get in touch if you would like to go on the list for helping us to build the dome. We want to start this in about a year or two maximum.

    Woodworking and forestry. We need people to help us with forest management, surveying, felling, extracting, milling, building a lathe, etcetc!

    Language exchange. We are learning Spanish and Catalan so if you can speak them with us then excellent!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Accommodation - we have a caravan and tents for volunteers to stay in and we hope you will be very comfortable and happy. There is also another house that needs a little work (no plumbing).
    We have a dry compost toilet that we take turns to empty (about once a week depending on how many people are here). Cold, quick showers only.

    If you like to cook, great, we love cooking together and sharing recipes with new friends. We eat a mainly vegan diet apart from eggs from our chickens and very occasionally some meat or fish if it has lived a good life.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are quite tucked away and don't like to drive out and use too much petrol unnecessarily, so if you want to go out and about a lot whilst you are with us, you will need your own transport. In your time off you can relax here on the finca, walk, create something, whatever you feel. We are two hours south of Barcelona, in Tarragona region, and the closest city is Tortosa, closest town is El Perello (25 mins). There is so much nature to explore surrounding us, with sights such as the Ebro river and Delta, the cave paintings on our doorstep, and the amazing caves in nearby village Benifallet, the Coves de Meravelles. There is also some good cycling along the nearby via verde, an old train line.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Our driveway is quite narrow (approx 3m) so get in touch if you have a large vehicle to discuss

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Este anfitrião está aberto a aceitar viajantes com animais de estimação.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)








Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 872955135383