atualizado  

Teacher needed for homeschooling a free spirited girl on a small Carribean Island, Isla Fuerte, Colombia

  • Colômbia
  • Favorito 81 vezes
  • Última atividade: 16/01/2023

Disponibilidade

  2023 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 mês ou mais

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi,
    I'm Lala, I live on a small carribean island of Colombia named Isla Fuerte.
    I'm the mama of a wild and strong spirited 10 year old girl. We're surfers, simple, and free spirited girls living a simple island life with my partner.

    We live in the bush, 50 meters from the water on a nice offgrid property. Energy is solar, use rain and well water; lots of fruits grow on the property.

    There is 2 cabins for rent on the property but I decided not to work with tourism at the moment. Rather receive friends, do other things and just enjoy a sweet island life with my man and daughter.

    Quiet place to relax from the madness of modern life, enjoy nature, tranquility and connect with yourself.

    We live 20mins walk from the village.
    Here there are no cars, no police, no covid and no weird restrictions.


    I speak fluent French, Spanish and English.

    Rainy season is ended now so sun is shining daily, it's hot, mosquitoes are still out.

    This ain't for fancy folks. I need strong, solid people, as yes it is a beautiful place but it can get lonely at times. It is not for everyone as there is no shopping malls or coffee shops, hipster vibes and that kind of things. It's wild and hardcore.
    Also tourist season is started and there will be lots of not so cool full on reggeatón partying going on and we ain't in that scene so we don't want those vibes in our home.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ensino
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We live on a beautiful property, super quiet, even when it's full on tourist season we don't feel any of it.

    Travelled a lot in my life. My daughter is a wild, fun loving creature.
    We are quiet, respectful, fun, easy going and open minded persons.
    Enjoy living a mellow life out of the system, sharing with nice folks, have a good time!

    We don't always meet many interesting people here on the island and am not traveling at the moment so why not open my house, get some help and share good vibes!

    And most, enjoy a beautiful Caribbean island.

    If you want a offgrid, off the system experience, we got it.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    I am looking for people with strong ,solid experience in teaching children.
    My daughter is 10 years old, she always been unschooled and travelling lots but now desiring to study at home.
    She speaks fluent French and Spanish, she is also learning English (she can have basic conversations).
    Someone who speaks fluent French or Spanish is needed in order to work different subjects (language, maths, geography, history)
    Someone who also speaks English can also be good in order for her to learn more but it's not mandatory.

    I have lots of materials here at home in order to work with her but experienced people who know how to build a study plan is a lot better even tho creativity is also key.
    I just don't want people coming unprepared and loosing time figuring out what to do.

    My daughter is real smart and creative, real fast learner, hungry to learn but she isn't your typical 10 year old girl!
    She is very independent, curious but also has a real strong personality and is not always easy to deal with! Show her that you are the leader!

    The main thing is really to help her gain the structure and the discipline to study daily.
    Teach her not only subjects but how to study, how to research and all.
    I don't want to interfere in someone's work so that's why I am looking for people who really have solid experience in the teaching field and together you work out your study plan.


    It would be 5days/week, 4-5hours/day wich doesn't have to be 4 hours straight although start early in the morning.
    During surf season the waves pretty much rule our daily life so early morning study (7am starting) mandatory before going out to the reef.

    Help with her if I need to go somewhere would also be appreciated and required sometimes.
    Also help with maintaining the house and your quarters clean please.

    We don't have wifi reception at home, just basic cell reception. In the village there is a hotel where you can use their wifi if you consume food or drinks.


    My daughter is only starting with this homeschooling process , she lacks structure and routine and I really need people coming in a continuous way so she doesn't loose her rythm. Hence that's why I need people that are willing and also available to stay for longer periods of time (minimum one month) so she can build a relationship with you and gain many valuable lessons.
    It's more than academical here!
    Meaning when someone leaves I would not want to wait a month before someone else comes in.
    Also if you decide to come please don't choke at the last minute. Really take time to decide if you have what it takes to do this, ask all the questions, don't be shy!
    Yes it's a beautiful Carribean Island but not everything is picture perfect.
    It's also not a game playing school teacher with a 10 year old to get free stay and food in a gorgeous place, it's teaching many valuable things to a young individual so when she does leave the island she'll be ready for the outside world.

    Please know and be conscious that you will have a 5 working day trial to see if you're fit for this.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You would be staying in a private cabin with your own bathroom or in the little loft wich uses the house's bathrooms.
    Both places with brand new mattress and queen size bed. Mosquito net provided.
    Really comfy and intimate spaces which you are responsible to keep clean please.

    Kitchen use is in the main open plan house.

    We don't have wifi at home, just basic cell phone reception which isn't always the best.

    I get most supplies from the mainland once or twice a month but in the village there are little shops where you can get what you need, like veggies, meat, fish etc.. REAL BASIC.

    I provide food but simple.


    If you like dry fruits, honey, nuts, peanut butter, yogurt and such things please know that there is NONE on the island so you will have to provide for yourself those 'special items'
    I Highly recommend people to bring certain special things they enjoy eating for their stay .

    Meals are depending on the day schedule cause we never eat at the same hours since our day activities always change.

    We don't eat big meals at night never.

    I won't necessarily cook for you or with you but basic food is there.
    Feel free to use the kitchen but,
    PLEASE ALWAYS CLEAN UP AFTER YOURSELF. I'm real annoying with that, I don't want to be cleaning anyone's dishes or mess in my kitchen. We are all adults and I ain't your cleaning Lady. We live in an open house in the middle of the bush, we need clean otherwise animals will come and we don't want that!!

    Be real aware that we live on an offgrid property on an island.
    Don't waste water, it is precious!!
    Don't leave fans and lights on.
    Disconnect your cellphone when charged.
    We use solar energy and we need to be mindful.
    I don't want to remind someone everyday of those things.



    If you are a smoker please smoke away from the house and never ever in your private quarters.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Beautiful Caribbean island so of course enjoy the sea!
    I have some SUP boards you can use, also have a dingy and can offer so aquatic tours and activities.

    There is a reef break for surfing almost in front of the house.;Season starts in November. It is not a beginner wave, experienced surfers only please.

    Snorkeling. Fishing. Walks in nature, bird watching.

    We have a concrete mini ramp on the property, skateboarders would love it.

    I can lend equipment for activities but know that if lost or broken you will be charged the totality of them. Remember I'm on a small island and sport equipment is real hard and expensive to get!

    I'm really quiet, open minded. I don't drink alcohol or do drugs. I like to skate the ramp in the mornings, go surf daily when it's wave season and if not go for a SUP paddle.

    We wake up real early daily.


    I don't have a strict routine and am the least discipline person ever. When the surf is on that's the main thing going on, the rest comes after.

    I'll be really serious who I consider into our home since it's for my daughter's education.

    There is lots of party on the island but please know that the community is not the friendliest even tho we are in the Carribean. I don't want nor need people coming into my home then they get sucked into the party vibe and forget what they came for. Now the tourist season is starting, heavypartying, reggeaton stuff and twerking all around wich we dont want in our house or my kid involved with.
    Us we surf, enjoy the sea and do a lot of things at home that needs to be done. Living on a offgrid property is non stop maintenance!


    Small island means big gossip and we don't want any of that. Of course you will meet people outside of us but please keep them away from our private life.

    I need solid, mature, respectful people who are really qualified and also interested to share life and teachings with my daughter while staying in a beautiful and quiet place.
    You do whatever on your free time, just have the utmost respect for us and our home while here.
    I won't hesitate to have someone leave if I feel their actions don't go with my values.

    Also know that here on the island is cash only. ATMs are on the mainland. There are daily boats that cross to the mainland 11km away.

    NO DOCTORS OR CLINICS ON THE ISLAND SO DON'T GET HURT OR SICK!!!

    I'm really open minded, direct and transparent in my communication; I don't want to put a strict schedule on anyone. Just have serious, responsible, respectful, fun loving people coming into our place. I want things to get done but for the person to enjoy himself and his time here with us and on the island.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 869441859978

Comentário (2)


Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicação: (5.0)




Help create an organic, sustainable cacao farm and eco-tourism site in the Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta, Colombia
We are a non-profit organisation focused on sustainable growth and local development projects in Andina, Colombia