Connect with horses and learn about natural horse keeping in Alcoutim, Portugal

Country

Portugal

atualizado  

Favorito 619 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    13/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    99.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 2 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 mês

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Work with horses in a natural way on a horse farm that offers no riding. With us you can really connect with horses as animals with intrinsic value and learn more about ethical animal keeping and training.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    All our workaway positions are currently filled all the way to the end of the year - applications accepted for dates from January 2023 onwards.
    ---------

    We offer a kind, compassionate environment that is good for horses and people.

    The way we handle our horses is all non violent and based on mutual respect. All the activities and training we do with our horses is based on the horses voluntary participation. Our horses are kept naturally, living outside in a herd 24/7 with constant access to roughage. This allows for very interesting observations of the herd and understanding of the natural behavior of horses. The horses presence itself is healing, and we actively encourage you to spend time with the herd and enjoy their company and healing presence.

    We also have plenty of very interesting books on law of attraction, manifesting, spirituality, energy healing and of course science based horse training that you are welcome to read on your free time. A selection of different oracle cards are available too should you enjoy reading cards.

    The town of Alcoutim is within walking distance and has a really nice typical portuguese feel to it. It is not a touristy trash place, but a genuine Portuguese riverside town. You can take a river boat taxi across the river to visit the Spanish town on the other side too.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    All our workaway positions are currently filled all the way to the end of the year - applications accepted for dates from January 2023 onwards.
    ------

    We run a non ridden horse farm in the south of Portugal, right by the border with Spain. We have 11 horses, 2 large dogs and 3 cats at the farm, so no two days are the same! You do not necessarily need previous experience with horses, but an enthusiastic and compassionate attitude towards animals is a must!

    The farm is run by a Finnish-Portuguese couple who had a baby in February, which of course means more hands on deck are needed with the work on the farm.

    We run a small business on site, where clients come to enjoy time with the horses or learn about horse training or natural horsekeeping. We also offer lead rein riding for small children as a family activity. Please note, Workawayers are not expected to participate in any of the business activities with clients - your help is needed in the day to day care of the horses and housework only.

    If you are active on social media, we are also open to social media account takeovers, where you would be in charge of the "stories"-section.

    The tasks here are not physically very demanding, but we are looking for responsible and reliable people to help with duties such as;

    Preparing the horses feed and feeding them twice daily, this includes wheeling straw uphill with a wheelbarrow.
    Cleaning a small section of their 7ha paddock daily
    General housework duties such as sweeping up, cooking and cleaning common areas daily.
    Walking the dogs
    ----
    TYPICAL DAY
    The days start at 7.30am with feeding the horses and spreading out their daytime hay and a general tidy up around the house and the farm. The morning duties are usually all done by 9am.

    After breakfast there is a bit of housework to do; sweeping the lounge, wiping the kitchen counters & stovetop and checking the bathroom is nice and pleasant. This takes no more than 30 minutes and is what you would do at home too.

    During the day you will have free time from 9am to 5.30pm to focus on your own work, head to the river beach or hang out in the hammock with the horses. You are not required to stay on the farm during the day.

    The evening work consist of feeding the horses, spreading out the hay for nighttime and preparing their morning feeds. We spread the hay by car and a small trailer, so ideally you are comfortable driving a car slowly around the farm.

    The evening feeding starts at 5.30pm and takes no longer than 1,5h.

    In the evenings after feeding the horses, we share the joy of cooking for everyone taking it in turns.
    ----
    We are looking to host two or three people.

    Ideally you are hardworking, positive people with a responsible attitude and some experience in farm animal care. Most importantly you feel connected to horses as animals.

    You need to be able to drive a car, as some of your duties will include driving a vehicle around the farm.

    Ideally you walk around with your eyes open and notice little things you can do and actually do them. On a farm there is always little bits and bobs that need attention even if it's just picking up a bucket that the wind blew over. We have guides and instructions for the work, but please bring your common sense too!

    We would like to have you here for at least 4 weeks, as it takes time to fully learn and become confident in everything.

    GETTING TO THE FARM

    We will pick you up and drop you off to Vila Real De Santo Antonio bus - or train station. If you are travelling from Lisbon, there is also direct bus service to "Balurcos Cruzamento" - a bus stop only 5 minutes away from us. Occasionally, we also travel to Tavira so it may be possible to pick you up from there if you are traveling to us from Spain.

    PLEASE NOTE - This horse farm is NON RIDDEN - horse riding is not at all possible here.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Finnish: Fluente
    Português: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Happy to chat in different languages if that helps you in your journey!

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You will be living in the same farmhouse as the hosts, sleeping in a shared bedroom with 3 volunteers in the same room.

    There is plenty of communal space to hang out in, inside and outside so it is easy to find space to be on your own too.

    There is fast wifi available. We share the rest of the house; kitchen and bathroom and lounge are all communal areas. The rooms are kept clean and tidy and we do not allow smoking inside the house. Dogs and cats live inside the house too but you do not have to let them into your room.

    You can help yourself to food when you are hungry. We cook at least one hot meal per day to eat together. We are "almost vegan" vegetarians, we eat cheese and eggs still but do not really use any other animal products.

    You are of course welcome to eat what you please, but the house supplies are limited to veggie goods. We try to be accommodating to your tastes and requirements within reason.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    All our workaway positions are currently filled all the way to the end of the year - applications accepted for dates from January 2023 onwards.
    -----

    The farm is run by a Finnish - Portuguese couple with an absolute passion for horses and caring for them naturally. We are easygoing and flexible, as long as the animals are well cared for.

    The horses 7ha paddock surrounds the house, so the nature and the horses here are really on your doorstep!

    The farm is located within a walking distance from a riverside town of Alcoutim. The town has all your basic needs, small supermarket, pharmacy, restaurants and coffee shops as well as a very cute river beach and bar. We have direct access to marked footpaths so should you be a keen hiker, there are plenty of dirt tracks and paths for nice walks in the area. There is a river boat taxi service across the river to Spain and they hire out kayaks, jet skis and bicycles too.

    Public transport around here is not great at all. The nearest big beaches and bigger towns are all about 30min drive away.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    You will have plenty of time in between farm work to focus on your own work. We have a fast wifi here and good mobile signal too.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have space and can provide a plug in for standard size campervan.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    21h a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.9)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicação: (4.8)





























Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 856418582999