Help create a food forest landscape with folk musicians near Baltimore, Maryland, USA

  • Favourited 133 times
  • Last activity: 4 mar. 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    ABOUT US:
    My name is Emily and I am a 47 year old homeowner in Nottingham, Maryland. My partner, Jason, and I just bought a townhouse together in February 2024. We are a folk music duo who plays around town at farmers markets and private events.

    ABOUT OUR HOME:
    The house is a single family suburban home with a true magical history. We have dedicated this space for yoga, healthy foods, wellness, music, meditation, and doing our inner work. I am specifically passionate about using fruits, vegetables, herbs, spices and wild foods to heal chronic illness using Medical Medium© tools and protocols.

    WORK: We are creating a food forest permaculture landscape in our backyard. This is our first time doing anything like this and we are learning as we go. Any experience you have will be welcome.

    1. Yard Work, Digging, planting, gardening, making runs to the hardware store
    2. Assist in handyman tasks
    3. Miscellaneous projects such as cleaning, cooking, washing dishes, taking out trash, etc.


    EXPERIENCE:
    I am listing the ideal experience we would love our volunteers to have. But if you don't have these skills already, it's perfectly fine. We are looking for good workers with motivation and willingness to learn. We want someone who has an attention to detail and who values a good work ethic.

    1. Building a trellis for a raspberry bush, peas, and cucumbers
    2. Landscaping and gardening experience
    3. Create a rain capture system using barrels and gutters
    4. Installing an irrigation line
    5. Laying down a garden walkway
    6. Planting fruit tree guilds


    MISCELLANEOUS INFO:

    -No drinking or smoking (of any kind) will be tolerated. We are a fully sober home. If you rely on substances of any kind as part of your lifestyle, this home is not a good fit for you.

    -Jason's son stays with us every Saturday-Tuesday. We are accepting volunteers to stay with us for four days at a time from a Tuesday evening to Saturday morning.

    -A vegan dinner is included after every day you work 5 hours or more

    -The reviews listed here are all from the house I owned for 13 years in Utah. We have not hosted a volunteer yet in our new home. We look forward to meeting you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    -We have a piano, two guitars, a banjo, and djembe drum. We would love to jam with you!
    -We live in a very safe neighborhood where everyone looks out for each other.
    -You have the opportunity to learn all about installing an urban food forest in a tiny space!

  • Help

    Help

    Open, honest and reliable communication is very important for this work stay. We are looking for volunteers who have made a habit in treating everyone they come in contact with like they were the most important person in the whole world.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I speak intermediate Russian, beginning French and beginning German.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two bathrooms with a shared shower.
    The kitchen is very tiny, but the plus is that it was remodeled in January 2024.
    I have included a photo of our current guest room. (It is the full mattress with the black bedspread). I am also including a photo of our future guest room (which currently has brown siding for walls.) We will have this room ready soon. This guest room will have a queen mattress with 100% organic materials and its own private 1/2 bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Behind the backyard fence: There are private trees where you can hang a hammock
    2 minute walk: Linover Park, the largest city park in the area
    15 minute walk: access to public transit to downtown or a straight bus route
    We are a 25 minute drive into Baltimore.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    You are welcome to use our hotspot

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Your van can be parked right outside of the house on the street.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day

Host ref number: 841811231345

Feedback (3)



Feedback






Help us with some spring cleaning in Beautiful Breckenridge, Colorado, USA
Join us on our homestead in Western Colorado, USA