Join our family farm and help out in Gabriola Island, BC, Canada

  • Favorito 133 vezes
  • Última atividade: 23 abr. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Our three generation family farm is a bustling and special place on Gabriola Island! Situated next door to the BEST hiking and biking trail network on the island, our 23 acre property is a quiet and peaceful space for you to rest your head, help us out for few hours and then launch from for your island adventures.

    We have a large food garden for the family that we appreciate help with as well as a four acre nut orchard with annual and perennial cut flower crops. We are passionate about invasive plant species removal; building and restoring soil; renovating and maintaining our old farm house and buildings; keeping the 90 yr old seniors on the property happy and healthy; playing board games and road hockey with the 14 yr old; recycling building materials into helpful farm improvements; taking good care of our dogs and flock of chickens and cooking healthy and nutritious vegetarian meals! Some of the adults on the property are fluent in Slovenian, Dutch and getting better at Spanish! We have a piano we'd love to hear you play on; a small sailing dinghy at the local marina and love to step away from the farm for a sail around Saturnina Island in the evenings. We have bikes, fooseball table, ping pong table, archery and pellet gun rifle shooting range to help us unwind after our chores!

    We are not selling produce or looking for business help, the crops are for personal/family use in 2024. The focus this year is on expanding the hazelnut orchard and invasive plant species control.

    We would prefer to host experienced travelers who are mature, independent, non-smokers, comfortable eating vegetarian food and value simplicity, self-care and healthy choices!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Companhia para idosos
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Sustainable agriculture practices; vegetarian and Ayurvedic diet/lifestyle; local ecology and identifying flora and fauna; habitat restoration; birding and nature appreciation; sharing our experiences in adopting/fostering children; small boat sailing and living simply and fully.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Plan for 4 hrs of help per day sometimes with the hosts and other times independently. Invasive plant species removal; splitting wood and kindling; stacking firewood; clearing fence lines; minor home renovation or maintenance; general tool and building maintenance; baking, cooking and seasonal gardening with of course includes WEEDING! :)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Holandês: Fluente
    Slovenian: Fluente
    Espanhol: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Dutch, Spanish, Slovenian

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    loft bedroom above workshop with queen bed or choice of private forested campsite (bring your own tent)
    and outdoor hot water shower and composting toilet. Limited wifi access, spotty cell service. Access to indoor bathroom in main farmhouse.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are next door to hundreds of acres of trails suitable for hiking, biking and nature appreciation! Short bike ride to Silva Bay marina and 7km to village centre/ferry On the community bus stop route which runs regularly during weekdays. Ferries to Nanaimo (main city on Vancouver Island) run every 30 minutes.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have a lovely forested camping spot for bike or car camping or a recreational vehicle!

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Must be well behaved around chickens and other dogs

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    3-4 hrs per day, 5 days

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 837575379318

Comentário (11)



Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)















Help with DIY projects on my hobby farm in Errington, BC, Canada
Come have an unforgettable experience at a fishing resort on pristine Lake of the Woods, Kenora, On, Canada