Organic project, seasonal help with the farm and animals near Cochabamba, Bolivia

Country

Bolívia

Favorito 665 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    29/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 3 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello Workawayers!

    My name is Teresa (Tere) and I own a small plot of land around 1 hour from the city of Cochabamba near the municipality of San Benito. I bought this land in 1995 and have worked for a long time now, together with many Workawayers as well, to make it a small green oasis with different fruit trees (for example cherries, peaches, apples, walnuts). Especially Olive trees and Aloe vera plants feature prominently on the farm. There is also a fenced in garden as well as a small greenhouse, where we mainly grow vegetables and tropical plants respectively. We also have quite some animals on the farm: seven cats, three dogs, around 20 chicken in three chicken houses and three free roaming lamas! We also produce our own honey with currently three beehives, one more to be installed soon. At times my children, Natalia and Sergio, who are at the moment studying abroad, are staying at the farm as well.

    I am currently working 4 days a week from home for a certification body for organic and fair trade products. During the week you will be working mostly on your own and from Friday to Sunday we would be tackling projects together. For this reason I would be happy if you took your free days during the week.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Ensino
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    True rural Cochabamba experience, the food, the language, and the countryside with a clear vision of organic production. We are happy to provide new insights into the culture of our country and will most likely also visit the nearby market town of Punata together.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    The work varies widely depening on the season that you are visiting us in. We usually need help with the olives, apples and other trees. We have to attend the parcels and prepare the soil (e.g. putting fertilizer, rearrange the dripping irrigation system), control the weeds (the main task almost all over the year), a bit of gardening (e.g. planting new vegetables or flowers) and to prune/rake the acacia "forest". Also our fences continuously are in need of improvements and repairs. During harvesting season we usually require help with harvesting the different crops.

    In general there is always a multitude of building, beautification and construction projects going on where we value creative input. If you would like to, there is the opportunity to teach English (no native level English needed) to interested local children of the community.

    The hens and the lamas need attention the whole year, the pets also like to have some extra care.

    We intend to build an even bigger green-house soon. For this project we are looking for helpers with some construction experience. We also have always projects that generally require some woodworking skills.

    If you have experience with...
    1) rain water harvesting
    2) renewable energy (especially with planning and installing photovoltaic panels and solar thermal energy)
    3) constructing a dry toilet
    4) automatization of drip irrigation systems
    5) restauration projects

    ... we would be especially happy to receive you and realize one of those projects together! Naturally knowledge in these areas is no requirement for hosting you, so do not feel intimated to write us if, even if you do not have experience in those areas.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente
    Italiano: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You will be sleeping in one huge bedroom (double bed and single bed available) with your own bathroom and well equipped kitchen (see pictures). You will have great mountain views.
    Fast WiFi (2,4 and 5G), hot shower and washing machine available 24/7.
    We generally eat lunch together (and we are happy if you share occasionally your local cuisine with us). Breakfast and dinner you will normally prepare by yourself for yourself. Fridge and pantry full of the basics (no meats), such as milk, cheese, fruits and oats, are available at no charge.

    Over the last couple of years we were able to host many volunteers and have gained a lot of experience.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Valle alto is a region of Cochabamba, which is famous for its agricultural produce and the clear, beautiful light. Old little towns all around can be visited, mountains everywhere and full touristic attractions a few hours away. Distance from downtown Cochabamba is around 30km and it takes around 1 hour to go there by public transportation (minibuses and buses that pass by on the mainroad every few minutes, price is around 5 to 10 Bolivianos). There are some small shops and eateries available in walking distance. Rural Bolivia is not expesive at all.

    Due to the thorns of the acacia trees we recommend that you bring sturdy shoes or boots. The tempureature variations between day and night are significant, so bring some warm clothes as well. Ample solar protection is recommendable too, since we are located at 2.700 meters above sea level. Some of the neighbour´s dogs are barking quite a lot, also during night time. Therefore, you should bring good earplugs if you are senstive to noise.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicação: (5.0)


























Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 836748859746