Enjoy sunny days and a slow small village pace of life while helping me with milking goats and general house and gardening in Kamieskron, South africa

Country

África do Sul

Favorito 153 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    17/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    ****I have torn a hamstring muscle in October and urgently need some help in November, with milking goats, light housework, cooking and watering the garden. I will be able to walk again then, bit still need to keep my weight off my leg mostly.

    I am a 55 year old woman, living in a tiny village in the deep rural area of the semi-arid Namaqualand, Northern Cape Province, South Africa. I share my space with 3 cats and 4 dogs, and the property is home to three milking goats, chickens and a duck. I work for a conservation NGO, which keeps me busy during the week. I practice slow-living, reading a lot, sourcing a lot of food locally, the goats provide me with milk and the hens with eggs. I like cooking meals from scratch, mostly bake my own bread and sometimes I tackle a mosaic project from broken crockery I pick up from the local rubbish dump. Once a month I attend the local market, sometimes selling second hand books, goats milk and baked goods. I love my cottage, where the decor leans to Bohemian and to have a glass of wine on the porch which has a spectacular view of the Kamiesberg mountains.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    There is no big cultural experience that I can offer, but you will be staying in a comfortable home, enjoying peace and quiet in a safe and beautiful environment. There is a small home library, an outdoor cooking area on the porch and access to natural areas within a five minute walk from the house.

    You can experience the unique atmosphere in a small rural village in Namaqualand.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Working full time, with a house, animals and a garden to take care off, I need someone to help me with general tasks.house sitter/ animal minder for the latter

    Dogs, cats, chickens and goats needs to be taken care off, and the goats milked every day. You would ideally know how to milk goats, but if you cannot, I can teach you.Other tasks are to water the garden and the trees, and help.with small plumbing or carpentry maintenance jobs.

    Your total time spent on duties will likely not be more than 4 hours a day.

    If you are a handy person, who can fix a pipe or a sagging cupboard door, you love animals and have some experience of taking care of both pets and farm animals, and are able to keep a house in a reasonably tidy fashion, you are exactly what I am looking for.

    There is very little in terms of entertainment, and you would need to be self-contained and able to function in a slow-paced environment.

  • Idiomas

    Afrikaans: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You will have your own bedroom in my cottage. The bathroom will be shared. We have water shortages here, so only get water every second day. I have a holding tank though, so always have water, but it gets low sometimes. Because of low water pressure, "bucket shower" are how we get clean..

    You have to be comfortable with animals in the house.

    I have no television, but I have entered the online second hand book business, so there is plenty to read.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The village, Kamieskroon, has an agricultural shop which also stocks basic foodstuffs, a small grocery shop, a cafe and two liquor stores, as well as a coffee shop.

    There is a clinic and in my absence, I will arrange with a friend for any trips to the closest bigger centre, Springbok, including for healthcare needs, and grocery shopping.

    While I am here, we can share cooking duties, and the grocery cupboards, fridge and freezer will be stocked to provide you with food, which you will have to cook yourself, in my absence.

    I don't smoke, but smokers are welcome, you can indulge on the porch or the deck.

    IMPORTANT: Volunteers need to get to Kamieskroon under their own steam. Several minibus taxi companies run taxis daily from Cape Town to Kamieskroon and will drop you right at our door. There is also a bus service which drops passengers 47 km away, and I am happy to pick you up there. I can supply contact details on request.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Campervans and motor homes welcome, I have a large yard.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 821141888622