Sustainable home renovation in historical Hércules, Querétaro, México.

Country

México

Favorito 9 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    02/08/2022

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi! My name is Alejandro and I'm working on rehabbing my grandparents' colonial home in the city of Querétaro, Mexico. The home consists of about 200 square meters, plus a small workshop and orchard. We are located in the town of Hércules, which is about a ten-minute drive from the historical center of town. This area is known for the Fábrica, a former textile factory that has been converted into a brewery and commercial complex. That is located right across the street from our home.

    I'm working on making this property sustainable. I have already installed a water catchment system, water filtration system and solar water heater. Still to come are a biodigester to generate methane gas and a hydroponic growing system to start to produce some of our own food. We have a small orchard with about 8 fruit trees and there's room for either more trees or some other plants. We also have lots of wall space where we'd like to paint some murals or other creative ideas. Areas still to be worked on include the kitchen, one bathroom, and two rooms in the main part of the house. We have two bedrooms available for workawayers, which we also rent on bnb. We've got a cute little dog named Flaco who loves to go for walks and just to cuddle.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You can learn about sustainable systems like water catchment, natural water filtration, hydroponics, construction, and general maintenance. I'll tell you all about the history of this area and especially my family's role in the workers' union of the textile factory. I'm learning Russian and would love to practice that and learn about Russian culture. I can help you with your English and Spanish and teach you about Mexican culture and photography.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We can use help in the following areas:
    *cleaning
    *construction (if you have the skills or would like to learn)
    *gardening
    *cooking family meals ; We would love you to help with meal prep and grocery shopping.
    *mural painting and other art projects
    *maintenance of the water systems (we'll teach you!)
    *help with taking care of Flaco
    *other small maintenance projects as needed
    *language practice: English, Spanish, Russian

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Russo: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I've been studying Russian for two years and I want to practice conversation.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We have one bedroom available with one double bed with mosquito net and private bathroom. We would love you to help with meal prep and grocery shopping. The kitchen is a work in progress but fully functional.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Querétaro is an important city in the history of Mexico and you can learn a lot about the Independence movement here. The downtown is safe and charming and you can visit lots of museums and attend cultural events on the weekends. We are located in a canyon which is great for hiking and getting your exercise, and of course you can walk to the brewery in minutes to check out the local beer scene.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Internet is generally good and you can have a desk to work at.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    One small dog is ok.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 819763622952