Help with native regeneration project in Okaihau, Northland, New Zealand

Country

Nova Zelândia

Favorito 9 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    04/02/2022

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi, we're Dawn & Isaac, an English couple who moved to NZ 7 years ago, since then we have dreamt of owning a piece of kiwi paradise that we can regenerate. Earlier this year that dream became a reality when we purchased a 10-acre block close to Okaihau in The Bay of Islands.

    So why New Zealand?

    Why not! Isaac has family that lives in New Zealand and in 2009 we decided to take a 6 month trip over to NZ to get to know his extended family and to learn about his heritage. Little did we know the trip would change our lives in so many ways, quite simply we fell in love. We found NZ so similar to England but yet so different in so many ways.

    The 4 years that followed after our 6-month trip away was full of dreaming of life over here in NZ. We tried to settle into life in England and adjust to some sort of normality but we couldn’t, it took years but finally, we decided to pack up all our belonging and move to NZ. In December 2014 we moved to Auckland, then we swiftly moved to Wellington, followed finally to a move up in the Northland to be closer to Isaacs family.

    Part of the reason we purchased this land is because we vowed not to live our lives full of “What if’s”. We knew if we didn’t do it now we would never take the leap!

    The land is a blank canvas and we want to give it some character, love and kiwi heritage. It is right by the Twin Coast Cycle Trail between Opua and Hokianga Harbour and we are needing help with the care and regeneration projects we have envisioned.

    We have would love to have you onboard to help us protect our slice of paradise!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We have travelled extensively through China, Europe, Africa, South East Asia & Australia and we know we learnt the most about a country when we were staying with hosts and families. We are excited that we can finally do the same now the shoe is on the other foot (so to speak). We know we've got a lot to learn about gardening, regeneration so are excited about meeting people who can learn alongside us!

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We are looking for help with multiple projects around the property and can tailor them to your interests and skills!

    The main projects we will be looking to undertake in the next few months are as follows:

    - Gardening: Assisting with relocating numerous fruit trees to another location on the property.

    -Fencing: We have some really great electric fencing in place however for our regenerative plan some of the fencing needs to be relocated.

    -Planting: We want to plant as many native trees onto the property as we can. We have a beautiful stream that needs a little love so that is where we will start with this project! We also want to create different walking tracks along the stream edge whilst working on protecting the stream from erosion.

    - Building: Helping with land clearing/removing of some old sheds and relocating them to a better location throughout the land.

    - Painting: The current house on the land needs a little TLC, mainly on the outside but there is a big bathroom renovation going on currently so you are welcome to help us in this department also!

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Accommodation is in the main house on the property. You will have your own room that links onto the sun-filled deck and has beautiful views of the valley below us. The room has a writing desk & chair, heaps of storage, a queen bed (with bedding) and a heater on the wall. The bathroom, kitchen, laundry and living spaces are to be shared. Unlimited internet access is available to you as is parking and somewhere to work if you need to work online at all.

    We will provide breakfast, lunch, and dinner 5 days/week. We do eat meat but can cater for vegetarians. We are pretty flexible so do reach out if you have special dietary requirements. Cooking dinner may be part of the hours some days (with food provided).

    We do have some friendly sheep on the property, they have also become our family members, I am sure they will greet you as you get to know the property and of course them!

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    A car is recommended, as we do live not in walking distance to shops etc. If you have your own campervan you more than welcome to store it securely in our double garage.

    We spend our weekends exploring the Far North, there are plenty of things to do, like walking trails, private beaches, surf spots, restaurants, cafes, and of course, the cycle trail. Dawn worked in the NZ tourism industry for years so can certainly point you in the right direction of the best things to do in Northland during your time here. Summer is coming - we believe the Northland it's the best place to be in NZ during the summer months. :)

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have really great fast working wifi and a few different areas around the house that you can work in, including your bedroom or a work desk in the sleep out.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have plenty of space on the driveway for your campervan, and even a garage to park it in if you would prefer.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 796218365775