Hobby farm family aiming to be more self sustainable in the Cowichan Valley, Canada

Country

Canadá

atualizado  

Favorito 324 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    28/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 5 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    My name is Kevin, I am a self employed carpenter and small hobby farm owner, originally from the East Coast of Canada. My wife Deana is originally from England and came to Canada as a Nanny. We met in Vancouver, but moved to Vancouver Island nearly 18 years ago for the rural lifestyle. We live on 5 acres in the beautiful Cowichan Valley (The Warmlands) with our son Josh 22 and our dog Snow (an adorably friendly Lab). We are a busy family and love to meet new people from various backgrounds and share our beautiful surroundings with them. We are constantly working to become more self sustainable with garden and greenhouse.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    The beauty of living where we live in this wonderful valley is we can enjoy the great outdoors.

    We grow many of our own vegetables. I still eat meat, most of which is in the freezer from what I have previously processed, but my wife no longer eats meat and dairy, so we have a pretty varied diet. We love to exchange knowledge and experiences with people we meet. In the Cowichan Valley we have one of the largest first nation communities on the island, there is a lot to learn about the legends, history and culture of the Cowichan People and the Coast Salish Nation. The natural beauty of our valley is incredible, lakes, forests, ocean, mountains. There are farms and vineyards, and wonderful communities such as Chemainus (murals), Cowichan Bay (spot prawn festival), Lake Cowichan is the new home of a huge music festival (Sunfest), Victoria (with its British Heritage) is the capital of BC and just a bus ride away. There are plenty of mountain biking and hiking trails, or kayaking opportunities.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    At the moment our initial help needed is a variety of outdoor projects. We always seem to have small building and maintenance projects around the homestead, so extra hands are always welcome. We would also like to get our garden enlarged and become more self sufficient, as well as some landscaping and ongoing property maintenance. We have been part of workaway for a number years and have thoroughly enjoyed the experience, as have the workawayers that have visited us.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    A private bedroom with queen size bed and bathroom.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    In your free time, there are plenty of hiking/biking trails close by, that will take you all the way to Victoria, Lake Cowichan and just around the countryside. We are also 15 min drive from Lake Cowichan and 20 mins from several bays on the Georgia Strait (Salish Sea), or 1hr from Port Renfrew on the west coast of the island, if you are a water lover. We are on a bus route for easy access to both the local towns of Duncan and Lake Cowichan. From Duncan there are busses that go both down the island to the Capital of BC, Victoria and up island to Nanaimo and beyond. The Cowichan River is well known for it's fly fishing. We also have a 33' x18' solar heated swimming pool (for summer) and a saltwater hot tub (for winter) as well as ping pong . In the past we have thoroughly enjoyed hosting, through different programs, people from Mozambique, Mexico, Eastern Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Holland, Jamaica, Trinidad, Brazil, Chile, China, Japan, Germany, UK, Russia, Israel, France & Norway. We don't smoke so would prefer non-smokers, but other than that we are reasonably flexible and easy going family.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)































Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 793166435975