We love to have you as part of our family in Ottawa, Canada



Favorito 190 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 mês

  • Descrição



    I'm a busy working mom with two healthy, vibrant, talkative little boys aged 7 and 4, looking for a kind, helpful, caring workawayer to help us with our daily routine. Our family is global minded and we would welcome you from around the world.

    You love kids, and have experience with young kids and are open to doing the evening and/or morning school drop offs, preparing some weekday dinners and weekly house keeping such as dishes, laundry, floors and organizing.

    In exchange we have a lovely guest room and you can eat whatever we have, including sharing our family meals. we will help you build your English language skills along the way. We want you to become like part of the family. The boys enjoy having visitors and babysitters. The busy period is from about 6:30-8;30 am and 3pm to 6:00 pm and then everyone quiets down and you'd have most of your day times and evenings free to pursue your own interests.

    Close to the house is a public library, gym, community centre, skating rink, walking paths, grocery store, restaurants, pharmacy. There is close access to city buses and we are about 15 minutes car drive (30 min on bus) from downtown Ottawa. It is in a residential community in the city. There are many schools close by and it is a safe and friendly neighbourhood. I have a bicycle you can borrow and there are lots of cultural things to do in Ottawa, amazing museums and lots of things to do.

    We have a 4 bedroom home and share it with two nosy, bossy, affectionate cats.

    I am from a small town in Nova Scotia on the east coast of Canada. I grew up with horses, dogs, cats, goats, chickens on a little hobby farm. Now living in the capital city of Canada and we have a city lifestyle! We have a large friendly, open minded group of friends who are starting to have young families.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Manutenção geral
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Cuidar de animais
    Prática de idiomas

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You would have most of your daytimes from 8:30 am to 3pm free and evenings free after about 6pm. The busy period would be weekdays mornings from 6:30-8 am and evenings from 3 to 6:30pm. I would ask you in advance for an odd evening here and there where you put give the boys dinner, put them to bed and stay in with the kids while they sleep. But mostly your evenings are free. Most daytimes, evenings and weekends you would be welcome to do activities, sightseeing, museums and social events with us or I am equally happy for you do your own social activities, studies or hobbies.

    When the kids are away, I would ask you to help with home projects for max 4 hours a day and then the rest of the time is yours.

    You would be immersed in an English speaking environment and would be happy to help you with your language skills. we would also welcome you to social events and join us on activities, if you are interested.

    You are welcome to use our bikes, skates, breadmaker, icecream maker, internet, and whatever else the family has available. we are also supportive to help you find access to the activities that you are interested in, whether it is yoga, dance, art, sports whatever you like! You would be responsible to pay for your own activities outside the house as your own choice.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    Seeking someone who loves children, has experience with children, can help walk the kids to school and from school during weekdays and stay with them after school until I get home from work. I usually cook help the dinner, but sometimes i might get you to prepare the veggies then I do the cooking when i get home. We have two cuddly indoor cats. Some light housekeeping would be ideal, like tidying, laundry and dishes. I would welcome you to spend the time with the kids speaking your language (such as French, Russian, spanish etc) to them to help them learn and speak, if possible. You could also teach them any kind of sports! The boys are well behaved, happy, chatty, healthy, loving and friendly. They love guests, new people, chatting and play a lot independently. The older one is crazy about Lego and building blocks. The little one loves books and jumping around.

    I would need help with getting the kids breakfast in the morning and walking the kids to school in the morning. After you drop them off at school, your time is mostly free from then until picking up the kids at 3pm each school day. Then in the afternoon walk about 10 min to pick up from school at 3pm and bring them home and stay with them reading, games and they often play on their own after school while you are there. You might help with dinner routine sometimes during the weekdays.

    I would ask you in advance for an odd evening here and there where you stay in with the kids. Occasionally I have work events in the early evening that I am also asked to attend. On those evenings (planned in advance), you would ideally be able to pick up the boys, have dinner together then put them to bed. But mostly your evenings and weekends are free for you to pursue your own interests, classes, hobbies, social events etc.

    In general I have to work long days, and it is very busy as a single mom. I am running to work in the morning until about and home about 6pm. Having someone to help would be very appreciated. Plus, I am not so good at organizing!

    The kids will be at the house only every other week. so it would be some days in the week with kids, then some days without kids. When the boys are not with us, I would ask you to help out with some other projects and preparations around the house.
    For example, there might be the odd other home project that I would need you to work on such as painting furniture, gardening. If you are handy with tools or like home decor, that would be fun!

    Here are some ideas of what I would hope you can help with:

    Baking healthy cookies or healthy snacks for the kids
    walking kids to school, picking up kids from school
    cooking dinners
    housekeeping- changing bed linens, mop floors
    occasional evening babysitting
    helping boys with reading
    watering plants
    cat sitting if we go out of town
    painting walls, wallpapering, painting furniture
    home decor
    grocery shopping

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação


    You would have your own bedroom in the basement, beside the family room, with a queen size bed, and wardrobe. we have two shared bathrooms upstairs.

    We have high speed wireless internet. The home is 4 bedroom with a basement TV room, large kitchen.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Ottawa has many excellent museums, cultural events, festivals and sporting activities. There are biking trails and lots of outdoor space. We have bicycles, which you can use and there is public transit access (bus) with pick up in front of the house.

    We generally eat pretty healthy, and I try to make balanced meals for the family. However, we are not fanatical about not having any junk food. The kids very seldom get candy but once in a while we pick up junky take out or have pizza and movie on fridays. The kids will behave better if this is a reward at the end of the week!

    We are global citizens and I worked in the field of international development and currently work on education policy for First Nations and Indigenous with the Canadian government. I speak Spanish, some French and have lived all around the world. I am open minded, clean living and have a professional career. I work long days and it is very busy for me from 6;30 in the morning until the kids are in bed at 8 pm most nights. I would hope that you would also have a strong set of values and openness to new things.

    In terms of hobbies- I once was an avid tango dancer. if you want to come and learn tango I can help orient you to find classes and milongas. The boys love dance, music, martial arts and swimming classes. They also love to go to parties!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 787738562737