Native English speaker to be part of a homeschooling family living in Port-Vendres in the South of France

Country

França

Favorito 51 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    22/06/2021

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 mês

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Are you looking to travel to the South of France and live near the sea in a well-connected area but also with lots of nature around? We chose to live here for its lifestyle and natural beauty!

    We are a couple Emilie and Marc with a 4 year-old boy Arthur living in Port-Vendres in the South of France. We're looking for an English-speaking helper to join our family for a minimum of one month to teach English to our boy in the everyday life (no course, unschooling style) and to give a good help around the house. We homeschool our boy so we have plenty of free time to enjoy all kind of activities inside and outside.

    Emilie is fluent in English, Marc isn't. Language spoken at home is French. Emilie has lived in the United States as an exchange student when she was 18 years old, then in Berlin, Germany, during her studies. Emilie and Marc have traveled in Europe for extended periods of time when Arthur was a baby.

    Marc works in renting real estate and Emilie is a stay-at-home trader on the stock market.

    We will provide a file with more photos, photos of your accommodation, information about our town, the region, what to do for fun, the weather, transportation...etc if you are interested in staying with us...

    We are currently hosting a Workaway until March. So we are looking for a new workaway exchange after that date. Go and email us to find out if we could be a great match! Currently only email us if you're located in the European Union!
    Before writing to us, please read current travel Covid-restrictions:

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Share time with us around meals and family activities and enjoy outdoor activities, in nature. We would love for you to be independent as well and explore the area on your own. We love the cultural exchange but we also love our intimacy. We also believe it's important for you to know that we don't expect you to stick with us all the time and it's perfectly fine for us if you leave for the whole day when you have days off. During our spare time, We like to sail (we have a sailing boat), we love to use our spa, and sometimes go in the big town for shopping. You're welcome to come with us, but you don't have to if you'd like to do something else or need some time alone.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Help around the house and interact with our son to share your language, culture and hobbies (to open his mind to other things we can't provide):

    - help around the house is related to cooking, preparing meals for the family and cleaning up afterwards. Also we will need you to take care of cleaning the house and doing the laundry. You could prepare meals and cook with our son. If you have ever cooked with a child, you know you'll start early to not stress and have plenty of quality time. You could also insert some new vocabulary in English then. I have plenty of easy recipes which I can give you even if you don't know much about cooking. We're not picky-eaters. We can accommodate you if you have a Vegan or Vegetarian diet as we do try to eat less meat and eat a healthy vegetarian diet. We're definitely not perfect and we still eat meat sometimes either for convenience or because we like it but it's always possible for you to cook a healthy vegetarian meal even if we eat some animal products with it. However if you can't stand meat or animal products at all, then we're not a good fit. Vegetables, coconut milk, organic oils, seads, tofu, grain legumes (such a lentils or chick peas), soy products, yeast, are part of our cabinet. We would love for you to take our son to the farmer's market or to a local farm where it's possible to pick our own vegetables (there are several farms nearby).

    - teaching your language in the everyday life to a child demands energy and creativity. When looking after our son, we would like you to speak your language and to use as many words as possible to enrich his vocabulary. "Let's have a snack. We're going to have a snack now. What do we need for our snack? We need to get some bread, chocolate...etc You are now eating bread and chocolate. Is it yummy?" We would like you to be proactive. We would also appreciate if you can prepare games or activities around everyday vocabulary. The unschooling way means we don't force our child to listen to a course he doesn't want to follow. It has to be fun, playful and joyful for him and you (the best way to learn). We would also like you to share your hobbies with our child to open his mind to new possibilities.

    We are looking for someone who could stay with us (flexible) from the beginning of March 2021 up to the end of June 2021 (flexible).

    Our region is very beautiful. We have both the sea and the mountain to enjoy and there are many many many things to discover for adventure, peacefulness, nature and friends. There are many people who live here that come from different parts of France and the world and we found that people are very friendly and welcoming. We made friends very quickly when we moved here compared to other places. The town next to ours is Collioure which is infused by arts, if I can say, because many famous painters lived there, one the most known is Matisse. If you enjoy painting, drawing and arts in general, you will definitely find lots of inspiration there. The sea offers the opportunity to learn to scuba-dive, sail, fish and so much more (all year round, we have the contacts). The mountains offer lots of nature, peace, snow in the winter, possibility to ski (when not closed by Covid). You can walk, run, hike,...etc. My son being homeschooled, we would love for you to share your passion and hobbies with him from time to time to open his mind to new possibilities (and with us!).

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Food and accommodation is provided. You will have your own private room and shared bathroom with the family. Shops, restaurants, the beach, train station, bus stops...etc are available from a walking distance. Having a driving license is convenient but not mandatory. The bus is only 1€ and the train is cheap.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There is a regional bus driving through our town (only 1€) which goes to Spain, Perpignan (20 minutes) and the ski stations. Very easy to go around. The harbor and town are in walking distance from our house (supermarket, drug store, restaurants, library...etc). There are many paths through nature available from our house. Perpignan is a big city with all the shops such as H&M...etc, and everything a big city can offer such as exhibitions, museums...etc

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have a decent wi-fi connexion. We also work from home using our wi-fi connexion and it's reliable. It's unlimited.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have a parking space which can welcome a vehicule.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 778523457948