Learn about Renewable Energy on an Electric Catamaran in NZ - Sailing from Waiheke Island

Country

Nova Zelândia

atualizado  

Favorito 140 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    30/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 5 dias

  • Medalhas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 semana ou menos

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi!

    I am passionate about many things, but above all sustainability, dancing and always learning something new.

    My ideal Workawayer will have carpentry or mechanical/engineering experience, but I will consider anybody who likes sailing and/or renewable energy and caring for the environment and nature.

    I have a 42' sailing catamaran "Vida", which has fallen behind schedule on regular maintenance over the last two years. There are also a few upgrade projects that I have started and would like to get finished. Vida is moored on Waiheke Island and I usually take her out of the water at Norsand boatyard in Whangarei for refit each year. I don't have specific dates set for this year, but I'm looking at October, November or December of 2022. Planned work includes some minor repairs, finishing the conversion to electric propulsion (one engine converted already), upgrading the solar power system and various other jobs.

    My professional background is in power engineering, renewable energy and electric vehicles, but I also love connecting with nature, whether it be in or on the sea, in parks and mountains, or getting my hands dirty in the garden. I moved back to New Zealand in 2014 and joined an eco-village on Waiheke Island. While living in Norway I travelled and worked a lot around Europe and Asia and spent holidays on bicycle trips and volunteering on organic farms in Norway, Denmark, Germany and France.

    I have enjoyed non-competitive sailing for most of my life and have around 2 years of seatime on various sailing vessels in New Zealand and around the South Pacific ocean. I have personally skippered Vida on several coastal passages and many years ago on my dad's smaller 28' yacht "Atahua".

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I am originally from New Zealand with a mix of mostly European and some Maori ancestry. I have lived, worked and played all over Aotearoa, as well as many other countries around the world from an early age. Other Kiwis often ask me where I'm from because of my accent and I usually reply "Earth"... partly in jest, but this does match my sense of where I come from and it is quicker than trying to explain all the places I have lived.

    Besides sharing stories about cultures and experiences, I will also be happy to share my knowledge about renewable energy, including solar power systems, lithium battery storage, electric propulsion and hydro re-generation. I have also studied and practiced celestial and Polynesian navigation if anybody is interested, although I have to admit that was ~15 years ago now so I'm definitely a bit rusty!!

    If you have an interest in sustainable living and intentional communities then I do also sometimes need help at my home in the eco-village on Waiheke Island.

    I look forward to meeting some interesting people and making new friends :)

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    I typically take 2-3 days for the sail from Waiheke Island up to Whangarei, depending on the whether and who else is sailing with me. It would be great to have a few more people on board for the trip each way and the boat will probably be out of the water in the boatyard for 1-2 weeks. Once we get to the boatyard I am ideally looking for people with mechanical / engineering / boatbuilding / carpentry skills, but anybody with practical skills will be considered!

    I enjoy practicing my German, French and Scandinavian languages, but I'm also happy to host people from around other parts of the world. I have myself travelled, lived and worked in ~50 countries/places from China to California and Namibia to Greenland. I'm always happy to meet new people and make new friends.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Danish: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Norwegian: Fluente
    Alemão: Intermediário
    Francês: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I like to practice my Dansk, Norsk and Deutsch whenever I get the chance. I would also like to learn some more Francais and improve my very basic Svenska. On the other side I also try to help my foreign friends to improve their English whenever they make mistakes - I always appreciated this when people do this for me too :)

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Vida has three double cabins and by the end of refit we should have reclaimed the workshop / storage room back as a fourth single cabin / workshop. For the sail up to Whangarei there are presently two spare private cabins. Once in the boatyard we may continue to sleep on board and make use of the boatyard's shared facilities. Depending on timing and numbers we may alternatively be able to stay with my friends in Whangarei and/or rent a private house at the boatyard. I will cover cost of all meals, but will need help to actually buy the food, cook and wash up.

    It would be ideal to have people with similar dietary preferences, but I am pretty flexible (still learning myself also). I like organic food and produce, but also need to consider the carbon footprint and keeping within my budget. I try to limit sugar, dairy, wheat and limit my consumption of meat for reasons of sustainability and animal welfare. I'm not vegetarian, but happy to eat vegetarian meals most of the time.

    The last times I was in Whangarei they had a great farmers' market on Saturday with lots of local and organic produce, so hopefully that's still happening when I go back this year!

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The boatyard in Whangarei is around 3.7 km from the city centre. From memory there is a bus connection to the city 2-3 times every hour. I may also have access to a bicycle and/or car that we can use while we are there.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Este anfitrião indicou que adora hospedar nômades digitais.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    There are no cats or dogs allowed in the eco-village on Waiheke Island, where my home is based. Other pets might be okay and/or possible to have on Vida... just ask :)

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 777222327481