Sustainable lifestyle on a mini-farm near Kuranda on the Atherton Tablalands, QLD, Australia

Country

Austrália

Favorito 95 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    13/11/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    109

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 6 dias

  • Medalhas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are looking for some one who LOVES kids to work as a au pair for our 3.5 year old. Duties are basically play, play, play, and tidy up behind yourself. We need some one to start 6th July. You would be needed for two full days a week in return for accomadation and meals. That leaves you with the other days free for paid work or to explore. It would be best if you had your own trasport.

    Our lovely property borders a beautiful river and is located near Kuranda on the Atherton Tablalands Far North QLD. We are two family's sharing the property that we are developing on Permaculture Principles. We grow organic vegetables and fruit and try to produce most of our own meat needs, raising our animals in a sustainable and loving manner. We are 15 min drive to Kuranda, 30 min drive to Mareeba, and 50 min to Cairns.

    We live in rustic cabins, that we have lovingly built or renovated. We have shared shower/laundry/toilet. All our organic wastes is returned to the soil including humanure, using a composting toilet.

    We have very friendly goats for milk and meat, lovely cows, chickens and an energetic and affectionate dog. Annually we raise chickens and sometimes pigs for meat.

    We are looking for caring helpers, who have good English and an interest or experience in living sustain-ably and caring for the Earth that provides everything we need.

    We can pick you up from Cairns if needed, on a Monday - Wednesday, or Kuranda any day.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Cuidar de animais

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Travellers will get close to nature and experience a low impact, and healthy lifestyle applying permaculture principles to live off the land and provide an abundance of food. We choose to work with nature to support our lifestyle and feed ourselves wherever possible. While visiting us you could learn about natural animal care, growing food and the natural environment.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We need help with a variety of things, this changes depending upon the season. Sometimes we would like help with the daily chores such as some house cleaning and animal feeding when we have babies to bottle raise.

    We always have many projects on the go. There are always building/renovating projects that need doing for those with the skills or someone who is capable and practical and wants to learn.

    Gardening jobs change seasonally, but could include mowing, brush cutting, irrigation installation, mulching, weeding, planting, harvest and storage. In 2019 my big gardening project is to cover our food forest in a thick layer of mulch and plant it out to be more of a Syntropic system.

    Also if you make friends with 3.5 year old Zella, there might be some childminding involved.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Workaway accommodation is a partially self contained room in our up-market shed. There is a queen size bed in this room so suitable for couple or single. We can add a matress on the floor for an extra person or a family. The shower is shared with us, as is the composting toilet. Some evening meals will be shared, but as we have a baby evening meals for us are generally very early and not a great time for socialising. You will have to prepare some of your own meals. For those who have a van they want to stay in there are many beautiful spots to park.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    For those who don't have their own transport public transport is limited, but there are are lots of opportunities to organise a lift to any of the towns nearby, or to hitchhike for the bold. There is lots to do in the immediate area. We have kayaks that guests can borrow to paddle the river. There are lots of walks that can be done from our front door. For those who have their own transport there are many gorgeous waterfalls to visit, World Heritage rain forest to explore, and all the attractions of the Atherton tablelands. The beach is also only 35min drive, and the Great Barrier Reef is accessible.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 767955591638