Looking for a couple to help with our animals, housesitting and gardening in the beautiful Dordogne, France

Country

França

atualizado  

Favorito 210 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    28/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    95.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 2 dias

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a British family of 4, a married couple with two sons, age 12 and 10. We have been living in the south of the Dordogne, SW France since 2017.

    We live in a semi-rural location with 5ha of land for our 3 horses and 1 pony that are used for pleasure riding. We also have 4 hens, 2 cats and our adopted dog, Shadow, who has 3 legs but runs like the wind! We have 1.5ha of grounds; a growing orchard including a fully grown walnut tree ready for harvesting during the month of September; a farmhouse yet to be renovated, another outbuilding that needs some work, a restored 1 bedroomed Pigeonnier and our renovated 4 bedroomed barn for our family.

    We are situated in-between two beautiful medieval villages that have markets at the weekend selling local produce including organic vegetables, approximately 7km away. We also have a little shop selling local produce and convenience food, just 2km away.

    From our doorstep, we have many off-road trails that can be enjoyed by foot, bike or horseback, with distant views of Chateau de Biron.

    My husband works from home on the computer and I look after the house, garden and animals. I horse ride when I can, while the boys attend school. We are a vegetarian household, however my husband and eldest son eat meat when out at restaurants.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We all speak English at home and my children are fluent in French, I speak some French so there is an opportunity to learn a little French or English!

    You will experience the way of living in France; the local produce; plums, mushrooms, hazulnuts, local french restaurants, markets with some organic produce, breweries, wineries, beautiful hilly countryside with many chateaux, medieval stone buildings and Pigeonniers, a network of hiking trails, the wildlife; many birds, deer, boars; red squirells, farming; cow farms, sunflowers crops, hay making and of course many vineyards!

    Enjoy our peaceful surrounding of nature at home by a small river with some amazing sunrises, paddocks lined with oak trees, horses grazing and bright stars and galaxys on a clear night!
    During the summer months there are night markets where locals get together and eat local food with music bands.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We are looking for help with:

    **We are looking for a couple who’d like to help renovate outbuildings from 6th November for approximately 1 month!

    If you have experience with horses, then I’d love your help from now including some gardening and to house sit for 2 weeks as we go on holiday from 22nd October and return on 4th November.

    ANIMALS: Tasks involved with the horses are; poo picking, giving hay & feeds, filling up water buckets (1hr per day), walking our rescue dog Shadow, feeding our 2 cats, feeding and cleaning out our 4 hens!

    1-2hrs per day:
    OUTDOOR TASKS: Gardening; cutting the grass, strimming, weeding, tending to our veg patch, planting trees, hedge cutting, leaf blowing.

    2hrs per day
    OUTDOOR PROJECTS: To renovate our farmhouse, garage and outbiuldings. Includes knocking down walls and taking off old plaster, breaking up concrete, taking down roof tiles etc, erecting trellises, setting up wildlife meadow.

    **CAR/TRANSPORT ESSENTIAL**

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I’m interested in furthering my french language and can help with English

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We have a cute 2 storey Pigeonnier renovated in 2018; Upstairs offers a kingsize bed (150cm), chest of drawers, hanging space and a Bathroom; shower, toilet and basin accessed by a wooden spiral staircase.
    Downstairs offers a kitchenette; fridge/freezer, 2 plate hob, (no oven), sink, cupboard space. Living area; 2 seater sofa and breakfast table. There is electric underfloor heating downstairs and a small electric radiator upstairs. It looks out to the South West enjoying the sunrise and onto the horse shelter and paddocks.

    ALL FOOD AND SOFT DRINKS WILL BE PROVIDED BY US:
    Breakfast can be enjoyed at the Pigeonnier by yourself whilst we will be busy getting the children ready and off to school. We can enjoy and share some meals together whether it’s lunch or dinner and creating meals for each other (Our evenings vary due to the children’s after-school activities).

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are looking for a non-smoking couple/friends or individual who respects nature, loves the outdoors, who are calm and patient around animals, especially the horses and enjoys the outdoor work!

    TRANSPORT is essential as we are not within walking distance to the local shops and tourism, unless you are happy to stay local during your time off. We could collect-drop you from/to our nearest train station (Bergerac). You are welcome to use our bicycles to get around and explore the quiet country lanes and to get to the local villages.

    Our nearest airport is BERGERAC for flights to/from U.K and Belgium (20mins) and BORDEAUX for international flights with train links to BERGERAC (1h15mins)

    There are many attractions in this part of France, visting chateaux, wine tasting, hiking etc.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    The Pigeonnier has a WIFI connection.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have an off-road parking area next to the Pigeonnier for an average size camper, where you can hook up with electric. The Pigeonnier can also be used.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    4 - 5hours per day, 5 days per week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)









Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 756876872191