Help with housekeeping, dogs and reindeer in Karasjok, Norway

Country

Noruega

Favorito 167 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    15/05/2022

  • Medalhas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    A family with a mum (35), dad (33), Two daughters (8 and 15) and one son (5).

    We are sami people, the indiginous people in Norway. We live in the NORTH of Norway, Karasjok.

    Mum works as a journalist/producer at the Norwegian Broadcasting, NRK. Dad is a fulltime reindeer herder.

    We have 3 dogs and our own reindeer heard. In wintertime dad spends much time on the tundra with our reindeers and summertime we move to the coast with them.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Cuidar de animais
    Prática de idiomas

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You will learn and experience a unique culture where people lives with and for the reindeers. In wintertime you Get to know the arctic weather which is kinda rough with its up to -40 Degrees.

    Our meals are very often made of reindeer meat. That means that we also need to kill and slaughter some of our reindeers. You'll be able to be a part of this work also.

    In wintertime we use snowmobiles, summertime we have ATV/UTV to travel to the reindeers, and you will offcourse have the possibility to come with us.

    To avoid the predators taking the newborn reindeers in the springtime, we put the herd in a smaller fence. This gives us a better control over the newborns. This is a very unique way of reindeerherding. There are not many others who do the same and gets the same contact and connection with the newborns and their mothers. We feed the mothers, and if you manage to build trust with the mothers, maybe you'll be able to feed them from your hand?

    You will be able to learn the sami and the norwegian language.

    Mum and dad are both joikers, wich is the sami way of singing. We sure would learn you how to joik.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We mostly need help with housekeeping, cleaning and organizingto, cooking, take the dogs out for a walk. Dad Also needs some help On the mountains, either to help Him while feeding the reindeers, with mechanical stuff with the our vehicles, Housekeeping, carpentry or whatever shows up:)

    This years plan for the reindeer herding so far:

    des/Jan/Feb/Mar:
    Arctic and cold weather (Often between -25 to -35 degrees) **EXTREME**
    The dad is on the tundra most of the time. Mum needs help home. You can see the norther lights almost every night.

    April:
    Dad needs help with Setting up the fence for the "delivery room" for the reindeers.
    Mum still needs help at home.


    THE SUN IS BACK for real, and its the best time to be outside now! the whole family is spending almost every weekend with dad In our cottage:)
    Wanna try icefishing with us? Skiing? Or other funny things in the snow?

    At the same time its now time for the easterfestival here. Many things to experience; reindeers races, snowcross, joikconcerts etc. google sami easterfestival :)

    May:
    The climate is getting kinder. Maybe we have +degrees now:)
    We take the reindeers in the fence, they are ready to give birth to the calves. We need help with the feeding and to look after the reindeers and to keep the predators away. You will be able to try living like our ancestors did, back In the days: in lavvo with bonfire, an amazing experience!

    June:
    - We start marking the reindeer calves with earmarking. Theese are the cutest animals you will ever see! ❤️
    We cut some small cuts in their ears, to mark which one of us is the owner of the calves. We need help to chase the reindeers to the fence, hold and handle the calves while we mark the ears. NOTE! It will bleed a little, so you have to endure seeing blood.
    - We also start to repair the many fences we have. We are staying on the mountains in 1-2 weeks . Still living in a lavvo/tent.

    July:
    - Still repairing the fences.
    - Second part of this years earmarking of the reindeer calves. This time we have moved with the reaindeers to the biggest mountains we have here. That means that we are surrounded by the most spectacular nature we have here. Google: Livnas Porsanger Norway. Note! You may have to walk up the mountains because We only got one utv. But that will be a wonderfull hikingtrip😊

    Also, Say hello to the mosquitos :) NOT dangerous ones :)

    August:
    Mostly we dont need any help this Month, But we never know for sure ;)

    - Now the berries in our fantastic nature are ready to be picked. We pick blueberries, cloudberries and lingonberries, and have a berryparadise just outside the door.

    Sept:
    Time to have the reindeers in the fence again, but this time we are on the coast.
    Get ready for a little exercise, because the reindeers we are going to handle this time is much bigger then the small calves from last time. We are looking for the ones who can handle long and hard workingdays. Its an advantage if you're in a good shape. We separate reindeers and send them with an animaltransportation trailer to the slaughterhouse. We also slaughter reindeers by hand, and would be happy for your help here. Its an advantage if you have any experience with slaughtering, But not a must. Note!
    You have to endure seeing that we kill and slaughter the reindeers.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Norwegian: Fluente
    Sami: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You will be staying and living with us, in our house when we are home, and with us in our place on the mountains with our reindeers. We have Also a caravan for the volunteers as their private room.

    The reindeers travels froms the summerplace to winterplace, and dad has to go with them. You will be able to go with him. Then you will be staying in a lavvo or a tent for some time.

    Most of our meals are with meat (reindeer, pork, chicken+). Dont expect vegetarian food.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We have the sami parlament here in town And some other sami tourist attractions. In wintertime the cold and rough weather will give you an experience you wont find other places. In wintertime You will experince the northernlight almost every evening.

    Other things we do: drive snowmobiles or atv/utv, go fishing on lakes in the mountains, flyfishing in one of Norways best Salmonrivers Lakselva.

    More info will come.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours per day (max 25 hours/week)

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)






Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 748735348331