1 / 3

Help with DIY projects at an old house in the beautiful countryside, Puysserampion, South-West France

  • Favorito 30 vezes
  • Última atividade: 15 fev. 2024



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 mês



  • Descrição


    I am a Dutch woman (63) with a holiday house in France (Lot et Garonne) just 30 km from Bergerac airport and 90 km from Bordeaux airport. The house (oldest rooms date back to 1870) is situated in the country side, 4 km from Miramont de Guyenne, in a very peaceful setting with beautiful views. The house has 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and an attached barn. On 7000 m2 land there's also an old building (former chicken sheds, converted into outdoor kitchen with self-built wood oven for absolutely delicious pizzas) and a hangar (storage for agricultural machinery in the old days). I spend quite some time in this place with my 5 year old dog that I got from the shelter at Begerac in 2018. I speak 5 languages (Dutch, English, French, German and Italian), have lived in several European countries (France, UK and Italy) and a great part of my family have lived in France since 1920. I love cooking, DIY, reading and travelling. I have 3 sons (34, 32 and 24), who live in The Netherlands. I spend as much time as possible in these beautiful surroundings, with stunning sunsets. I am a moderate smoker (trying to quit), but will only do so outside.

    I have bought this house in August 2018 and since then I have done many DIY jobs, with the advice of others and help of videos on YouTube. I have created a bathroom with walk-in shower from scratch (removed former interior), put in tiles etc. I love to reuse old materials, giving them a second life. I am a hard worker and not afraid of new challenges. In 2019 I have created a modest vegetable garden. The garden has 3 fig trees, 1 cherry tree, 1 apple tree, 1 plum tree and 1 brugnon tree (local fruit, family of nectarine). I try to save as much rain water as I can, thus avoiding using city water to water the plants and vegetable garden. I have a brand new mowing tractor to cut the (endless) grass fields. In 2021 I have created a 'piste de pétanque' on the foundation of a former horse stable next to the barn. To do so, I removed some 30 centimeters of soil and weeds over a stretch of 84 m2 with just a pickaxe, a shovel and a wheelbarrow.

    Since 2021 I have been busy transferring the big barn (attached to former farm house) into my main habitation. It now holds two bedrooms, a bathroom, separate WC and big living area with open kitchen area. We replace the back wall inwards to create a covered terrace. DIY now mainly consists of painting the plasterboards and there are many of them!

    From time to time, family members or friends from The Netherlands, France or Italy visit me which I really enjoy. I like to play card games. Once a day (or more) I walk my dog for at least half an hour.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    It would be a challenge to get to know this part of the Southwest of France, with its beatiful sites, typical cuisine (duck meat, prunes etc.) and wines (Côte de Duras). People are open-minded here, there are quite some people from Great Britain who have settled down in the surroundings. In fact, 60% of the inhabitants of Eymet (10 mins drive from here, in the region Dordogne) come from the UK, the majority of which are permanent residents. Its medieval centre is always lively, with lots of restaurants and bars. But also other places, like Allemans du Dropt (4 km) and the mideaval town of Issegeac (30 km), are well worth a visit. Just take a look at the site to discover the Northern part of the region I live in. If you are willing to work 5 hours a day, 5 days a week and at the same time enjoy good food and the beauty and peacefulness of the French countryside, search no longer!

  • Ajuda


    What I am looking for is people who can help me to paint plasterboards, fix other elements in the barn and to install insulation on the roof. No experience needed, precision and dedication will be appreciated ;-).

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente
    Holandês: Fluente
    Alemão: Intermediário
    Italiano: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I'm always interested in sharing language experiences.

  • Acomodação


    You will have a 2 persons bedroom with its own bathroom. I will prepare your food, but you are of course free to use the kitchen yourself as well. I am always interested in learning new recipes, I like all kinds of food. With or without meat or fish, only vegetables, just surprise me! We will share the living room and garden, which is very big and the outer area has its own chill out corner. From time to time I invite people to enjoy pizzas from the wood oven I built myself in summer 2020, always a big success. The outdoor kitchen also has a plancha (big grill plate of cast iron) with which one can make delicious things. The house does not have central heating, just a wood burner in the living room, but there are other heating ways (hot water bottle in your bed). I have never found it too cold though, I just put on an extra cardigan. The house has a large veranda overlooking a cross-road (not very busy) and the new terrace on the back of the barn overlooks the land.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    In your spare time I could teach you French, English or Dutch, should you be interested. I have been a French teacher for 10 years at a highschool in The Netherlands. I work as a translator for a firm in the UK (English-French-Dutch). nearest towns are 4 km from here, Bergerac airport 30 km and Bordeaux airport 90 km. Nearest train station is Marmande (22 km).

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    There is plenty of room to park the campervan or motorhome, 7 km from here there is a place to empty waste and refill water. The latter can also be done at my place.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    No cats, just dogs. However, there are strict rules for dogs (not in bedrooms, nor corridors towards bedrooms, nor on carpet in living room). Other than that, a dog is very welcome to function as playmate for my own dog (5 years old, mix labrador and border collie).

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 744634564694

Comentário (2)



Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)