Be part of our mountain community in Bloomingdale, USA

Country

EUA

atualizado  

Favorito 170 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    16/11/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    490

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 90 dias

  • Medalhas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    I moved around a lot growing up while my father worked for the military. My husband and I have both traveled extensively throughout Europe and visited Africa when we were younger adults. Now as parents we have not been able to travel as much as we would have liked (though we were able to bring our children to France, England, Aruba, Bermuda, and Canada). I remember how kind people were always to me when I went from city to city and hope to be that same person to someone else.

    I have my own business as a writer/public relations and marketing consultant as well as author of two Adirondack Family Time guidebooks, featuring easy hikes and family activities in the Adirondack Park in northern New York. My husband is a math teacher in the public middle school (Jr High) as well as an outdoor expedition guide taking families hiking and camping in the six-million acre Adirondack Park. We are a non-smoking, dog-owning family.

    My children are 19 and 22, working whole at university. We have a golden retriever dog. My children help around the house as well as with the guiding business, garden and projects, when home. We have six hens that provide us with eggs.

    Our goals are to provide people with healthy activities as well as converting our 1800s house into a alternative energy B&B for people interested in hiking, nature and organic gardening. We have solar electric and a sustainable wood pellet furnace.

    We love being able to introduce people to our area, going on picnics, listening to outdoor concerts, attending museum, art and theatre openings. We get up early and get our work done so we can enjoy the day.

    Meals are casual, but healthy. I am a vegetarian, but the rest of my family is not so we have a variety of options always available. Lunch is usually a picnic or sandwiches as we are out hiking, canoeing or sailing in the summer. Dinner is casual in the summer as we eat outside as much as possible. During the other months we eat together inside family style. We want someone to feel comfortable in our house.

    If you play an instrument, we have a piano and guitars here. My children work in nearby Lake Placid when not away at college so usually can provide rides to town. We have an attached apartment that rented, but visitors to this elderly neighbor are welcome..

    When we purchased the property the 1/2-lot had been poisoned and unable to even grow grass. In the three years that we've been in our house, located in a small rural village, we now have planted apple trees, blueberry bushes, strawberries, raspberries and arctic kiwis plants to use on the table. We've planted milkweed to attract monarch butterflies and flowers for bees and birds. We tap maple trees in the spring to make our own maple syrup (an organic sweetener). We have a small organic garden as well as a natural swimming pool (filtered with plants.)

    We hope our 1800s house will become a place of education and relaxation for people that participate in our guided outdoor treks or as a destination for those interested in finding ways to convert their own house to passive solar or other energy efficient means.

    We know the Adirondacks (I wrote a book about it ;-) ) and get the most pleasure out making sure other people get to see how very special and unique our part of the world is.

    Thank you for reading!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Companhia para idosos
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I hope that we can learn from each other. We have hosted only a few people over the years, but are still in touch with them. (We had to stop hosting due to moving and caring for an elderly parent.) Travel promotes tolerance and we want to learn more about you and want you to learn more about us.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    There are always ways for people to help out depending on their own individual strengths.

    The house projects we are currently working are: an outdoor shower and sauna (with sauna to be used to heat the shower.) hot tub (with fireplace used to heat hot tub.) Passive solar roof top to heat main house upstairs shower.

    Language: We wish to have a situation where my children, husband and myself can practice our French and Spanish language skills. My daughter has been teaching herself Russian online so I’m sure help is needed on that end. We could also help someone else with their English language skills.

    Help in the house/Cooking: My husband and I love to cook, but welcome being introduced to new food. New recipes are welcome! Lawn mowing, planting, painting, weeding and house maintenance may be part of volunteer work if other larger projects are not ready to be completed.

    We love hiking, sailing, and exploring throughout the Adirondacks. Join us on some of our adventures.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Iniciante
    Francês: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    My daughter is studying Russian at university and we are all interested in learning French

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Our home is your home. If you play an instrument, we have a piano and guitar here. We also have a game room with pool table, ping-pong and air hockey and numerous board games. Washer/dryer is on the first floor.

    The backyard has a trampoline, small zip-line and volleyball court and natural swimming pool. The canoes can be used after a quick swim test and a car is available if you have a driver's license. Vegetarian option always available as I don't eat meat.

    We are also constantly driving to various locations so rides are also easily achieved. We do live in a rural community without easy access to public transportation. Communal computer and printer provided.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We live a 10-minute walk to the Saranac River which can be used for canoeing, kayaking or fishing. We live a 30-minute drive to Lake Placid, which hosted the 1932 and 1980 Winter Olympics with a variety of Olympic sporting activities as well as outdoor concerts, shopping and creative outlets. There are numerous lakes, ponds and streams for swimming as well as our own pond. There are countless walking trails and mountains to climb. The town of Saranac Lake is a 15-min drive with restaurants, farmers markets and a thriving artist community. If you love natural beauty, mountains and clear air this is the place to come.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    1-2 hours a day,



Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 735849991448