We're building a nonprofit community nexus for builders, makers and black sheep near Porto, Portugal

Country

Portugal

atualizado  

Favorito 1050 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    06/10/2022

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello!! Our next festival is in late September and we are getting our hands dirty!

    We are a bunch of nerds helping a non-profit near Porto on an enchanted forest estate. It used to be an old wedding venue - we've taken it over to host workshops, explore permaculture, build epic infrastructure in harmony the land, and create experimental festivals.

    We have lots of milled chestnut, granite as raw materials and finally our workshop is set-up. We like to get our hands dirty and work with local materials. If you like working with wood, send us a message!

    We really see this as a center for connection and creation, with self and other, and right now we're focused on building that!

    July/August Focus:
    Designing & building a bunch of tiny cabins so we can host this winter!
    Converting a cold spring into a hot spring
    Lots of painting of walls
    Lots of pruning
    General handiwork and carpentry projects (making shelves, bed frames, trim, benches, etc)
    Collecting chestnuts & plums
    Setting up an organized storage system
    Improving the woodworking / carpentry space
    Interior designing and sourcing a morrocan lounge, water bar, art lab, and some other spaces.
    100 other things.

    September Focus:
    What we didn't do in August + producing the super duper super secret participatory arts festival in September

    This is almost our one year anniversary, so the project is quite new! (But the land is an old estate). Right now we are very much in the 'build' phase, but the estate is still quite comfortable with lots of nooks, creature comforts, and nights by the fireplace. Over the past 7 years, we've organizing fantastic events around the world and build an amazing network of friends and co-conspirators. We are now building the permanent nexus for these ephemeral gatherings, and a year-round place of art, creation, and connection. This is not your typical off the grid farm / community. This is very much an active exploration and experiment in how to make the best place, and bring together bright humans from around the world.

    A wild horse live in the property as well. The land has a spa, sauna, pool, and lake, and several orchards.

    June 2022 Update: Somewhere was amazing! 150 people came from over 20 countries and we have 7 theme camps and 15 art installations. !!! !!! !!!

    The land is 90000sqm with around 2000sqm of buildings. Thousands and thousands of mature trees, many of them fruit, nut, cork. Edible plants and many mushrooms. It's a true paradise on a private mountainside.

    The amount of people living on the property varies from 10-30. This summer will be a lot of humans. But there is a lot of space. We value privacy and everyone coming will have their own private tipi to sleep and a real bed! Around the event, sleeping will be a bit less glamorous as we'll be more people.

    Culture bla bla bla:
    While we are mostly scientists, every month we host a free ecstatic/contact dance jam.

    This place is an intimate and intense container! We value direct communication, presence, and a balance of reverence and irreverence (we aren't very politically correct:)). As a group and individuals, we tend to connect more by doing, feeling, working, and playing with the present and future, than by telling stories about the past. Finally, physical touch and cuddling is a big love language for us, but that doesn't need to be true for you!

    We're not big on drinking or small talk, and the property is smoke-free. We're big on building, dancing, real talk, massage & stretching, music, work as play. Play as life.

    The closest train station is Viana do Castelo, 15-20 minutes away. There is also a bus station in Viana do Castelo, Ponte de Lima, and Barcelos that are all close. Porto airport is 45 minutes and you can also get a rideshare directly. If it's a good fit both ways, we'll send you the arrival guide

    Let me know if you have any questions!

    -Andre

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    This is an international project of cool weirdos who are passionate about the land, creation, and connection. We are mostly in our 20s and 30s, but open to accepting workawayers of all ages, and currently Andre's parents are here making art and fixing things! There is a sauna, cold plunge, and pool, as well as a fitness and movement space. We tend to connect at the intersection of play, rationality, hard work, embodiment, and the surreal.

    We have internet, but we prefer if you don't spent your time here just on the phone/computer.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We are generally open about what kind of help people do here, so long as they come with a clear intention. This could be doing stuff on art residency or installation (we are interested in big art, murals, permanent sculptures, etc), massage, gardening, interior design, pruning (!!!), building, cooking, interior design, painting, or design, photography and videography. Sometimes we will be in a more open/creative phase, and sometimes there will be a few specific projects we're trying to get off the ground, so just ask if that matters to you!


    If you feel like joining us on this adventure, in your message please include:
    Why you are writing us and what your intention is!
    What your current passions are.
    Any technical skills (carpentry, cooking, photography, interior design, pruning, etc)
    Something weird about yourself!
    Your whatsapp contact & the word syncopation so we know that you made it this far

    If you're interested in cooking family dinners, let us know what you like to cook and your experience! We love fresh chefs in the kitchen <3

    The culture here is working hard with a 'fuck yes' attitude. We like to play and relax, too. But this year, we are really trying to make it happen :)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Português: Fluente
    Espanhol: Intermediário
    Francês: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    The core team here is from South Africa, Czech, New Zealand, and California so we'd love help learning Portuguese!

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You'll be glamping in a 2m tipi with a real bed! Around the event, sleeping will be a bit less glamorous as we'll be more people.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    During your time off you can swim, hike, use the sauna or hot tub, jump in the lake, forage for fruits and mushrooms, go to the beach or the hot springs

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have plenty of room for your van

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Depends on the pet!

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5h a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.9)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (4.6)















Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 732513731896