new host  

Help me with art and eco projects near the beach in Baja California Sur, Mexico

  • México
  • Favorito 19 vezes
  • Última atividade: 10 mar. 2023



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana



  • Descrição


    I’m a Canadian artist in Baja Sur doing land art. Art from found organic materials and other found materials. Also doing some drawing and shiboro dye techniques. I’m looking for volunteers, you don’t have to be artists but must like constructing things, to help with building small structures with the local bamboo like plant called chorizo. Making large mandalas in the sand is also my interest. Perhaps you’ll add some of your creative ideas.

    You will help out 4-5 hours a day for odour to five days a week. Food is provided: rice, quinoa, beans, vegetables and some fish, tortillas etc. Life is pretty relaxed and fun here. Weekly trips into town for shopping and music happen though there is live music at the bars around Cerritos too.

    I’m retired and am enjoying the community life of the camp I’m living, not a 15 minute walk to the beach. This group of young people invited me to live here to do my art and be part of their life.

    I’m here until the end of March. I’ll be driving back to British Colombia then and am open to sharing the trip especially with someone who would appreciate seeing Baja. I did this last spring with a volunteer at the camp and we had an awesome trip.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    The Mexican culture is a wonderful experience and we will be living in a camp of mainly Mexican or Spanish speakers. Food and crafts of the area and beyond are prominent here.

  • Ajuda


    Currently I’m Building small tripod sculptures. In February I’ll be experimenting building with chorizo, the sugar cane gone wild from plantations here of over a 100 years ago, to construct simple shelters/sculptures. Also creating mandalas at the beach. Etc.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Spanish and French

  • Acomodação


    Large tent with good quality sleeping pad. I prefer you have your own sleeping bag but not absolutely necessary. If you have a tent that’s good too. There is an outdoor kitchen under a palapa, bathrooms and a cold water shower. We cook our own food but I have a small fridge in my van run by a solar panel as well as my own small size camp kitchen set up.

    The surfing and swimming beach is just a 15 minute walk. Beautiful sand of a beach many kilometres long. Hikes in the area. Lots of eateries at Cerritos as well as in Pescadero. Live music nearby at the bar as well as jam sessions that break out spontaneously here in the kitchen.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Lots of time for the beach, bar down the road, hiking, I teach tai chi twice a week and for general relaxing and exploring the area. Music sessions breakout spontaneously here with anyone who wants to contribute. So bring an instrument if you want to play.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Small to medium size camper vans can be accommodated.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    There are four dogs living here and more are welcome if they get along with other dogs

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 724841998196


Join our family hostel in Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Come and be a part of our family and enjoy cultural exchange in Napoles, Mexico