atualizado  

Tiny community living and kombucha brewing in a jungle house, Langkawi, Malaysia

  • Favorito 140 vezes
  • Última atividade: 18 abr. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Salam and Hello.

    I'm Syed and my wife Laurine and I recently started up our new life in a quiet jungle bungalow in Langkawi Island. We are two young simple people with a cat named Kitty who need some help with keeping our house in order and helping with kombucha-related tasks once a week when needed. I'm originally from Kuala Lumpur and moved to Langkawi 4 years ago. Laurine is from France and she is a French teacher online and writes articles.

    The Jungle House is close to Kuah Town, and about 30-45 mins drive to the other parts of the island, so we are at the centre of the island at the foothills of Gunung Raya. With the perfect location in the jungle, you can spend your free time reading a book in the hammock, sitting in the garden watching dusky leaf monkeys, hornbills, blue-winged pitta and many interesting jungle animals.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Living in a quiet jungle can be a therapeutic experience, it's a good time and place to engage in simple activities and recharge your batteries. You will definitely meet interesting people who will teach you something meaningful here in Langkawi. Once a week or so, we will have cultural activities like visiting places, cooking local cuisine, workshops, beach time, etc. We love fermenting things and making exploring new ingredients. You get to make your own set of custom flavour kombucha or other fermented products while exploring the art of fermentation with us. Cooking is our favourite activity. You get to see and experience Malaysian food from the comfort of our kitchen, we are more than happy to share some recipes and techniques.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We are able to host 3-4 volunteers at a time either 3 solo or 2 solo and 1 couple.

    Generally we are looking for people who can work independently as we also have our work. We will brief you on the tasks or problem for you to solve and you mobilize the people and let me know what you need.

    What would be helpful is if we have people perfect for these roles:

    1) Household management;
    - Plan and lead/assist in preparing meals and cleaning efficiently. You don't have to do the same tasks all the time so you can arrange taking turns with anybody who is available.

    2) Handy Man
    - All rounder who can drill

    3)

    Here's what our weekly routine loosely look like;

    Mondays : Clean used bottles & grocery shopping.
    Tuesdays : Bottling of kombucha,
    Wednesday : First fermentation kombucha and labelling.
    Thursday : House cleaning & maintenance - sweep, mop, arrange, fix
    Friday : Traditional family lunch, workshop, digital work.
    Weekends Off : Volunteers are free to explore Langkawi, stay in and chill or join adventures we plan.

    4-5 hours a day give and take, we're flexible with the timings. We don't count, just happy if essential things are done. Most of the activities if done together are quick, so there is more time for doing some side projects that your skills can offer.

    We usually balance days of hard work and chill days where we just do small tasks.

    We have the space that can potentially be set up to encourage more growth in health, relaxation and wellbeing, which we are interested in, would be nice to build a program together of daily stretching and fitness to encourage a healthy environment small steps at a time.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente
    Malay: Fluente
    Espanhol: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Laurine would like to improve her Spanish.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You will stay in the jungle house dorm room, sleeping in either one of the two bunk beds with shared bathroom. Within the dorm room, there is a small room with a queen bed for solo or couple. We have a porch for hanging out, big garden, shared living room with Google ChromeCast TV, desks for study/work and a full kitchen with almost everything you need.

    Meals are mostly provided. We provide seasoning ingredients, eggs, white bread, rice, spices and many more for all of us to use anytime. Volunteers would usually prepare their own breakfast with provided ingredients. On weekdays we mostly cook, and sometimes eat out or buy lunch for everybody. Once or twice a week, volunteers can also prepare meals if they have interesting ideas and we provide the ingredients. For dinner, past volunteers sometimes prefer to cook for themselves, skip dinner, go out, etc. So we are flexible, but there is always food. Sometimes we receive such gracious volunteers who love to be in the kitchen and cooking so we pretty much don't have to worry about organising food, but just to help whenever needed.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Volunteers are free to use our motorcycle, petrol receipts are claimable. Our car is also available when we are not using it. If there is not enough vehicle, it is also very cheap to rent a motorcycle, about RM250-RM350 monthly, and a car for RM600. Alternatively, volunteers can use Grab E-hailing services app for a reasonable price.

    We encourage our guests to explore the island and surrounding, sample new foods and enjoy their time here. We will share with you the best of Langkawi.

    On our free time, we like to visit local hang out spots, eat at our favourite restaurants, watch movies and play music and many more. We like a good adventure like hiking, visiting neighbouring islands and would love to share with you our favourite escapes. We love cooking good food in our complete kitchen, especially Malay & South-East Asian food. So volunteers are welcome to join us whenever they like.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have desks, 5G WIFI and a good work-from-home culture as we all work from home.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Plenty parking space. If you prefer with camping with your own gears, we have the garden space. Nice place to hang hammocks too.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 721361569795

Comentário (3)



Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.7)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)






Volunteer at floating house and kayaking tour in Malaysia
Join Our Family in Tropical Penang: Help Needed with Household and Fun Times!