Visit our off grid permaculture farm in the Alpujarras, Spain

Country

Espanha

atualizado  

Favorito 191 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    25/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    97.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 3 dias

  • Medalhas

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    *please be advised that we have filled all our available spots for February.

    Las Mecias is a small farm perched on the Alpujarran mountains overlooking the Contraviesa winemaking region. We (Nina & Laura) bought the house and 2,6Ha property in June 2021 and live here with our very loving and energetic puppies, Frida & Tony, and 3 very relaxed, independent cats.

    As it stands now, 8000m2 is planted with mature lavender bushes but as they are around 15 years old they are reaching the end of their life. In their place we will be planting upwards of 100 trees and shrubs to provide food but also shade and protection from the wind. In the long term we would love to create a lush food forest, inviting life back into the sun baked soil.

    The previous owners had a decent sized veggie garden with chicken coop but over the years they have started to dry up and fall apart. Its not all bad though ;) We also have quite a few mature fruit trees in the garden and the small orchard that produce many tasty snacks! Mulberry, apple, pear, cherry, apricot, quince, madroño, pomegranate, kaki and about 25 fig trees 20 almond trees and 15 olives spread out over the property.

    Our water comes from the springs of Trevelez, a beautiful area just north of us and is stored in a large communal alberca (reservoir). We are 100% solar powered and can do just about anything on the current system, just not all at the same time. All our toilets are dry composting and the grey water is re-used to irrigate the orchard and veggie garden. Because of this we, and anybody visiting us, can only use natural soaps and detergents and the least amount possible. We have a solar boiler for hot water which is backed up by a gas system so even if it gets cold in the winter, the shower will be hot! There is no central heating but the fireplace keeps the living room and kitchen comfortable.

    Because of our remote location we play host to the occasional family of wild boars, foxes, mountain goats, grouse, rabbits and a wide variety of creepy crawlers and flying insects as well as the occasional snake and scorpion. They mostly mind their own business so not anything to worry about but please be mindful of this if you do have any known allergies. We always have an epi-pen of adrenalin on hand for emergencies but would rather not have to use it :) The closest clinic is half an hour away and if hospital care is required you will have to be flown out in a helicopter.

    We both had careers in professional fine dining kitchens before moving out here but when balancing tiny leaves on tiny dishes for 15 hours a day got a bit old, we decided to ditch our chef whites and go follow our mutual dream of a permaculture farm in Spain. The love and passion for food has not changed, just the way we approach it. Food will always be an integral part of our lives and we are more than happy to share the knowledge. We pickle, ferment, bake, brew, forage and otherwise tinker a lot so feel free to join in and enjoy!

    Our diet is mostly vegetarian and dairy free but occasionally we will indulge in some local cheese and a bit of fish. We eat lots of fruit and vegetables and also forage for wild food on site and in the area when we can. We pop open a bottle of local natural wine or a few beers from time to time but its definitely not a daily thing.
    We can cater to most dietary needs or preferences but please let us know beforehand.

    We learn new things every day and hope to keep doing so forever!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We hope to give back as much as you contribute. Before working in kitchens, we both ventured down many different paths. From journalism and yoga instructing to stage building, event production and hotel management, we've done a lot, collected a fair few skills and made enough mistakes to know we don't know everything and you can't do it all alone. We can teach you all we know and would love to learn from you and hear your story over a nice meal and share ours with you.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    So far we have gutted and renovated both the guesthouse and the main house, done some gardening and are currently planning the main landscaping works starting in February. This will entail removing all of the dead (or dying) lavender bushes, having the fields plowed and amending the soil before we can plant the food forest.
    In the mean time we are keeping busy with building a new chicken coop and re-doing the tool shed, putting up a new fence as well as some repairs and maintenance work in the garden/orchard. Some building experience would go a long way but we can also teach you a lot.

    In March it's on to the vegetable garden and the food forest which will eventually number around 130+ trees.

    We work around 5 hours a day, 5 days a week and take 2 days off. We usually take normal weekends but it may vary. Breakfast is self service from the guesthouse kitchen that we keep stocked with all manner of breakfasty things. In the summer we start early (around 7AM) to beat the heat but in the winter we will be rising with the sun and starting at 9am.
    We all have lunch together around 2pm and have dinner between 7 and 8. The afternoons and evenings are for everybody to do whatever they want. :)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Holandês: Fluente
    Alemão: Intermediário
    Espanhol: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We have a guesthouse just 30m from the main house with two ensuite double bedrooms connected to a kitchen and living room with fireplace. There is a swimming pool in the garden for cool summer swims or the odd winter ice bath ;)

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There is not much in the way of entertainment in the area but there is a nice little bar in Lobras that opens on the weekends. Cadiar is a 25 minute drive away and has a few shops, bars and all the essentials. It's a quiet life here and there is lots of time and space for hiking, yoga, foraging, lounging by / swimming in the pool, tinkering and playing with the pizza oven.
    The neighbours down the hill keep horses and are happy teach you about natural and holistic horse rearing.

    In terms of public transport, there are local buses with a notoriously Spanish-style (somewhat spontaneous) schedule. If you're coming from afar, we might be able to arrange a pickup for a small fee (to cover petrol} or you can easily get the bus from Malaga or Granada to Órgiva, where we can pick you up. Renting a car is also an option and very affordable, yet we discourage this for solo travellers for environmental reasons.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have a 30Mb internet connection that mostly works fine for most things including Zoom calls. In reality its more a 10 to 15 down and 1 to 3 up connection but again, most things work.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    If you prefer to park up your camper, we have enough space and you can use the facilities in the house. There is not much in the way of shaded parking yet so be mindful of that if you are coming in summer.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 678462526814