Help me create a self-sufficient paradise 4 hours north of Sydney, Australia



Favorito 11 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Descrição


    I've got a new empty block of land a few hours north of Sydney, that I'm turning into an off-grid small farm.
    I've got lots of bush and paddocks.
    I"m about 30 minutes from the beaches, and 30 minutes to towns with everything you need.

    I've built a shed, a carport and I'm currently working on my small house. I currently live in the shed.
    I have a dog, ducks, geese and a large food forest which is very young.

    I need energetic people to help with everything. If you're excited by the prospect of starting from scratch, and want to learn gardening, building, and everything in-between, then I want you.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I can teach many things even besides what tasks we will do.
    My family an I are Aussie born and bred, with British backgrounds, but we have all travelled extensively and lived in cities and rurally.
    I have couch surfed and hosted a lot in the past too, so I am familiar with the needs and requirements of travellers.
    I love learning about other cultures and place and I really enjoy teaching too!

    Between me, my sister/partner (who live next door) and parents (nearby) we have a few decades of experience in Horticulture, agriculture, landscaping, native plant identification and bush regeneration, home renovation, building, IT and technology skills; numerous degrees and high levels of knowledge and skill.
    My sister and I especially are interested in Regenerative Agriculture and follow people like Richard Perkins, with hopes to do a lot of what the leaders in the field are doing. We do a lot of fermentation and making sauerkraut, kimchi, kombucha, water kefir, and similar things :)
    I also have bees, and dabble in many areas.

    You can assist me with errands in town, help around my parents place if you have anything to offer.
    Basically, we have 3 properties that could all use some help. The list of help available is endless, and you'll be interacting with 5+ adults with huge amounts of experience each.
    Mostly you can learn about Australia, the bush, building, cattle/Australian small-scale animal farming, coastal farming from the tasks we will do.

    I have "Workaway'd" in Denmark on an organic pig farm a few times and other places and I feel like I know how to be a good host.
    I'm happy to help you explore any part of Australian culture you want.
    Just nearby my farm you can see typical traditional Aussie farmers doing their thing.
    By going into town for supply runs you'll see how a typical coastal Aussie "Service town" works. You'll meet lots of proper Aussies, hear lots of broad (hard to understand) accents, and experience Australian rural family life with my retired parents, my sister and her newborn baby and 2 dogs and animals.

    My family have a huge amount they can teach, among the topics would be:
    landscaping, agriculture, fermentation, farming, fencing, ecology and sustainability, horticulture, botany, physics (and all sciences), trees, plants, birds (we have counted around 40 species), animals (wallabies among many others), animal husbandry, English language, machinery, building, carpentry, metal help, weed identification, driving a 4WD and tractor, tool and equipment usage (like chainsaws), how to split logs with an axe, all about Australian timbers, different types of forests. My land has dry and wet sclerophyll forests (bush), sub-tropical rainforest and other varieties of tree groupings (we really like plants!).
    Between us all, you can learn a LOT, and most of it from just me too. I am a jack of all trades, have done a LOT of outdoor adventuring, canyoning, caving, climbing, camping and multi-day hiking and I'm even a former SCUBA instructor.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    In 2020 i put in a couple of dams, driveway, carport, fencing and infrastructre and started a food forest.
    In 2021, I built a shed, did more fencing and planting and have gotten a good start on my house.

    The house will be innovative, fully off-grid with solar power and solar/wood/compost hotwater.
    There will be tasks to do such as collect/cut firewood, feed animals and general farm/rural help. I have some cattle although they come and go.
    The property was abandoned for over 5 years before I got it, and the former owner did not take care of it either.

    This kind of help would ideally suit people really keen to get down and dirty who don't mind doing things alone, or lots of random things. I'd love people who are good at taking initiative. Experts are always welcome, but anyone willing to learn and enthusiastic is fine by me.

    Workaway suggests I answer these:
    1. How much time is expected and the details of the tasks you need help with
    - Approx the standard 25 hours per week. We will work to you experience level and skills.

    2. How meals and food will happen
    - It will be provided, or discussed and worked out amicably. We are very flexible and have multiple areas to cook. If you camp on the farm I'll get ingredients.

    3. Internet/Phone rules
    - Mobile reception is not great around these parts, but sufficient for you if you're on Telstra. We have internet at my parents with wifi. You may use it freely when at the house.

    4. Public transport info
    - There is very little to the farm area, but if taking a bus/train/plane to a nearby town or city, I can very likely pick you up or help you get here. The nearest major town is Taree, NSW (about 30 minutes away). It has a train station and bus stops, and is between Sydney and Brisbane.

    5. Things to see and do locally
    - It really depends on the weather and what's happening but if you enjoy nature you won't be bored. We have a huge entertainment library, and make regular trips around the area.

    6. Can you accommodate families/children/animals?
    - Probably yes to all 3; just ask!

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I like all languages and learning about them.

  • Acomodação


    Whilst we can shower at my parents place, mostly I'm looking for campers and people who don't mind "roughing" it on my property (certain people might be able to stay on my parents nearby land). I have a fireplace, a dam that could be swum in, and plenty of space. A compost toilet and solar to charge phones etc. I have a camp kitchen too, and a covered space (shed and carport). I have a couple of spare tents and some old portable buildings nearby that need to be cleaned out and fixed up a bit but that will be fine once done.
    Currently I'm sleeping in the shed with my dog.

    Food will be provided and will be mostly good stuff, or whatever people want.

    There is ample entertainment available at parents for rainy days etc, reasonable internet, and whilst we're not exactly central, it's not too hard to get around and between my family there are regular runs to town.

    There is a separate kitchen at my parents house for use by guests if we need it, so really, you can do whatever you like regarding food, and if you want to make your own then you just let us know what ingredients you want.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There is much walking to do around, but regular trips to town will happen with various family members. Some beach time can also happen. You will need a car to get anywhere but we have 5 between the family so it shouldn't be too much of a problem.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    There is decent Telstra mobile reception for those true self sufficient digital nomads if camping on my land.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Any size vehicle can be accommodated. In fact, vehicles are preferable.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Dogs are fine, provided they're socialised. Anything else.... well, they're welcome but they'll be outside so up to you... I have an intact male young dog.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 677153547164