Help with new eco-projects, growing organic veg and more on a smallholding on the beautiful Presqu'ile de Crozon, France

Country

França

Favorito 262 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    27/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 32 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a nice, welcoming family of 6 happily settled on our smallholding in Landevennec, Finistere, Brittany. We, David and Samantha, are a laid-back, well travelled couple, looking forward to meeting other like minded people from around the world, as well as having a bit of extra help.
    After 20 years in the forestry and tree surgery business, David now works as a handyman/groundskeeper. Samantha looks after the children, runs the smallholding and works part time as a gardener and english teacher.
    Our aim is to live and run our smallholding in a respectful way to the environment, raising healthy organic produce using techniques such as permaculture and using natural and recycled materials as much as possible.
    We produce the majority of our vegetables here, as well as enjoying the company of many furry family members!
    This year we are starting work renovating some old stone barns, preserving the existing stonework, adding a wooden storey on top (hopefully incorporating round timber structure), a green roof, reed bed filter system for all wastes. The new wooden storey will be a gîte/holiday accomodation specialised for people with reduced mobility.
    We try to maintain a healthy balance of work and play, enjoying quality time together exploring the peninsula and the numerous outdoor pursuits it has to offer.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Manutenção geral
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Cuidar de animais

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We embrace cultural exchange, enjoying the sharing of cultures, travel stories, meals etc. We are well integrated into the community enjoying local culture and events. We try to live as self sufficiently and low impact as possible, gaining many skills to do with animal rearing, vegetable production, foraging, land management (permaculture), house renovation etc.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We have a varied list of works required, if you can help with any of these please let us know.
    Over the years we have gained many skills which we are happy to share as well as being eager to learn new ones.

    *️️️️ We need help with the general maintenance and running of the smallholding; vegetable patch, fencing, tree felling, firewood and animal care.
    *️️️️ During school holidays, childcare and help with the housework is needed.
    *️️️️ We need help this year with the stonework, and groundworks of the old barns.
    *️️️️ We are hoping to put in the reed beds this year.
    *️️️️ We also need help with the refitting of a large caravan, which will then be guest/workawayer accomodation.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Within our family home, double/twin bedroom with DVD player and beautiful view of the estuary. Shared family bathroom. Free WIFI. Or a large independant caravan when refitted!

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We live in a national park on a beautiful peninsula "the presqu'ile de Crozon", which has much to offer. Landevennec is a small picturesque village on the banks of the Aulne estuary (rade de Brest). From our doorstep are plenty of good walking and cycling trails, through the countryside, forest and along the coast. Good shore fishing and foraging too (oysters, clams, cockles ect.). We can lend bikes, canadian canoe and fishing gear.
    Own transport is recommended, the peninsula offers many beautiful beaches, coastal paths, villages, market town and fishing ports. For the sporty there is great climbing, surfing, diving, horseriding, watersports etc. all nearby. During the Holiday season there are many small festivals, music events, entertainement and night markets in the area.
    For those without transport, we can pick up at an agreed time from Brest train station or airport. However please note that Landevennec is a small, calm rural village.
    We are a family of animal lovers and have many pets: 3 dogs, 2 cats, 2 donkeys, 4 goats, 2 pet pigs, chickens, rabbit and guinea-pig. We also try to eat healthily, mainly a plant-based whole-food diet.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week with some flexibility.

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.3)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)



























Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 676196686635