Join our small permaculture and sustainable living farm in the beautiful Vienna Woods, Austria

Country

Áustria

Favorito 284 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    05/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    96.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 4 dias

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 mês ou mais

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We usually prefer long term stays but short stays are sometimes possible for people with the right skills. Part-time arrangements (staying a few days per week or per month) are also possible for people living locally. Experience with gardening, animals, carpentry is ideal.

    We don't smoke, drink alcohol, or use drugs and appreciate the same in others.

    We produce organic vegetables and eggs for local consumption, with a focus on training people in sustainable food production. Our second cottage was previously used for farmstay guests and in the future will be living space for long term community members.

    We primarily need help with gardening, animal care, carpentry, maintenance/renovation of buildings; this can include taking care of the whole farm when we are away. The work may also include domestic household duties, cleaning, organizing, interacting with visitors, etc. Some prior experience is preferred.

    If you have an interest in things like growing and preserving your own food, regenerative agriculture, market gardening, homesteading, permaculture, pastured poultry, horsemanship, carpentry, creating sustainable communities, eco-tourism/education, we would like to hear from you!

    We are a married couple ages 50 and 63, living on a small farm in the famous Vienna Woods outside the city. One partner is an Austrian artist/graphic design teacher and one an American farmer/musician. The American half of our partnership is certified in ecological horticulture from the University of California Center for Agroecology and Sustainable Food Systems, and ran an organic farm in California, hosting farm volunteers for 15 years before moving to Austria.

    We are working to restore our historic property with a modern twist on its origins; as a small demonstration farm to teach and inspire others towards more creative, artistic, and sustainable living based on regenerative agriculture. Part of our goal is to create a small community here.

    In 2022 we hope to find 1 or 2 long term community members, add a new flock of ducks, and begin offering public demonstrations of composting and biointensive gardening methods. Besides the two human residents the farm currently includes 50 chickens, 1 horse, 3 cats; plus ever-expanding organic fruit and vegetable gardens, forested hillside, two cottages and outbuildings, and a tiny house/cabin.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Ensino
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    For people hoping start their own small farm, homestead, or market garden, the experience is particularly valuable since the same methods taught by the University of California Agroecology apprenticeship are taught here, but without any tuition expense!

    This is a good opportunity to expand your ecological farming skills in a hands-on environment, while experiencing life in a historic mini village in the scenic Vienna woods (Europe's oldest planned public green space). This tiny village of 10 houses was originally established by the Austrian government after World War 1 as an experimental cooperative farming community, like an early eco-village. Today the individual houses are privately owned and no longer a farm co-op, but still surrounded by thousands of acres of forest land that will never be developed and is open to the public for hiking.

    The location is ideal as a countryside home base for touring the city of Vienna and all of central Europe affordably. Located in a very scenic area in the first foothills of the Alps. A quiet peaceful area where you can listen to birdsong and see the stars at night, but only 45 minutes from the city center of Vienna.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Self motivated, responsible people with experience in rural living, gardening, carpentry, and animals will fit in well here. Prior experience is preferred as farm-sitting for short periods when we are away is sometimes needed.

    Stewardship of this little farm does involve hard physical work and requires being in good shape! There is always lots of gardening; weeding, watering, clearing brush, making and moving compost, harvesting and preserving garden produce. Also animal care, stall cleaning, fence repair etc. We have 1 horse, poultry (usually around 50 chickens), and 3 cats. Old buildings require constant maintenance and repairs. Being handy with tools is important. Cleaning and domestic chores can be part of the work as well.

    When we are at home the schedule is flexible and can be arranged so that you can travel part of the time. A general guideline would be 20-25 hours help per person/per week, but you do not have to help every day. At times when we are away, you would need to be on site most of the time and take full responsibility for garden and animal care.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Accommodation is usually a separate recently renovated tiny house/cabin with a loft bed for 2 people, electricity, wifi, kitchenette, shower and compost toilet. There is a wood stove for heating during cold weather. During summer months we can sometimes host an additional person in an outdoor campsite.

    We provide food supplies for you. You will be responsible for preparing your own meals. Shared meals are sometimes possible depending on our schedules. If you have special dietary restrictions, it’s probably ok but please discuss your needs with us ahead of time.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    It's ideal if you can come with a car but also possible without. The closest train station is about 10 km from here. The city boundary is a 10 minute train ride. We have bicycles you can use, and can sometimes take you by car to the train station or into the city. Public transportation in Vienna and from there to other cities in Europe is very good.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    The wifi connection is pretty reliable but not high speed. It is normally fine for zoom, skype, watching videos etc. If you need to upload very large files it can be difficult. Mobile phone connection is also patchy here.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Smaller campervans are possible but we don't have a flat parking area for larger vehicles. Please tell us the size of your vehicle in your inquiry.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)








Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 674111763241