atualizado   Última hora

Help with gardening, building, our dogs and daily life in North West Tasmania, Australia

  • Favorito 77 vezes
  • Última atividade: 16 jun. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: Sem período mínimo

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi there from Emma and Robbie,

    We live on the beautiful North West coast of Tasmania with two maremma dogs (big), two curious cats and eight roaming chickens on a lovely acre of land. At the moment we have one of our five month old puppies staying with us while we find a new home for him. Our dream is to transform our block into a sanctuary of lush vegetable, herb and fruit gardens with spaces for accommodation, retreat and creative arts. So far it is a bush block and we are just beginning...

    At the moment we have a few small construction jobs on - getting ready for winter including adding a couple of windows and doors, digging out the bank for access and drainage and lining a room for Bowen Therapy... We are coming into winter now with shorter days, crisp cold air and fires inside at night.

    Here in the land of rainbows we have three sheds - we currently live in Shed 1 in a temporary camping type fashion with electricity, combustion heaters, limited hot and cold running water, an outside shower and composting toilet arrangement. There are two other 'bedrooms' in Shed 1 - one with a double bed, one single. The bedroom in Shed 2 is transforming into a therapy room for Bowen. We are working to create more amenable living areas. In the future we plan to build an ecofriendly permanent home on the knoll with views down to Table Cape. We also have a fold out caravan set up for visitors as per photos :)

    We use organic gardening methods and hope to be certified one day. We are also very interested in permaculture and using many of these techniques and designs - plenty to learn here also though!

    There is plenty of work to do including building, watering, pet care, mowing, brush cutting, planting, weeding, clearing, landscaping, woodchopping, setting up a small solar system, etc. We are experimenting with a giant hugelkulture which also needs input. Inside there is cooking, cleaning, sewing, animal care and other work such as making products such as jam and preserves, processing seeds and other creative endeavours. Emma has recently received a gift of sourdough starter and is learning to cohabitate!
    Robbie is working part time and Emma has just completed her study as a Bowen therapist - always looking for volunteers to practice on!

    Given our unusual accommodation situation it is good for us to have helpers with flexibility, initiative and independence.

    We have friends with racehorses that need regular riding and if you are experienced there is a possibility to do some of this.

    Playing music and singing are something we would like to do more of - as well as taking part in the local music scene. Robbie plays guitar and Emma ukulele :) We also like playing games like board games and table tennis.

    We live in a wonderful place and love to share this with visitors - waterfalls, amazing beaches, unique land formations, beautiful towns, superb crafts and woodwork, mouth watering produce (and chocolate!), world famous hiking opportunities and so much more. When we have time it is our pleasure to show you around. At other times we can point you in the right direction and provide some resources to help.

    We are happy to pick you up and drop you off from/to the nearest bus station/airport by arrangement.

    There are various accommodation options available depending on what stage different projects are up to!
    - The 'Glampervan' which has a double/queen bed, a sitting area and limited kitchen facilities
    - A single bed inside Shed 1 which has visual privacy but not much audio privacy - and a double bed much the same.

    Our home is safe and respectful. We care about your safety and space and expect the same in return.

    Our journey with workaway so far has been lovely and we are keen to continue!

    Both of us had a small amount of exposure to other languages at school and Robbie has had more recent experiences with German. We are keen to learn and happy to encourage others wanting to improve their English.

    We are looking forward to meeting you, furthering some of our projects and sharing recipes and other life experiences :)

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are interested in permaculture and gardening, we like to play music and share this with others. We have building projects including creative aspects that will be interesting to some. This is a lovely place to experience and explore. Meeting others and hearing about their experiences and passions is great fun. We like to socialise and have friends of varied backgrounds. People love to stay with us and leave happy :)

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We need help with building, watering, pet care, mowing, brush cutting, planting, weeding, clearing, landscaping, a small solar project, etc.
    We are experimenting with a giant hugelkulture which also needs input.
    Inside there is cooking, cleaning, sewing, animal care and other work such as making products such as jam and preserves, processing seeds and other creative endeavours.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Alemão: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    We are both interested in languages - we both speak English well and are happy to help others with this. We both speak a few words of German - but happy to try and learn anything...

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We have a single bed and a double bed inside and a double/queen bed out in the Glampervan 100m away. It is a possibility to camp or park a caravan or similar. The situation changes according to where we are up to with projects - please ask when you get in touch with us.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    North West Tasmania is a very beautiful area with many varied places to visit and experiences to have!

    We have various animals including two large dogs (and puppies for a short time).

    Internet only through the phone

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Of course we are happy for people to work on their own projects/employment. At the moment the only internet we have is on our mobile phones so you would need to provide your own internet. We have a printer and desk.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We are happy to have people in their own vehicles but we have limited facilities where the parking spot is - no power available. Very beautiful though :)

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    We are happy to consider pets that would fit in with the animals we already have here and our household circumstances. It's worth asking :)

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 772596333188

Comentário (6)



Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)












Wildlife, the outdoors, great views and good food, Tamborine, Australia
Join our little piece of paradise and help with weeding, clearing and vegetation removal in Reesville, Australia