Help on our 13-acre Homestead in the rural community of Milburn Lake, Cariboo Region of BC, Canada.

  • Favorito 3 vezes
  • Última atividade: 11 fev. 2023

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Welcome!
    Hello travellers, we have had a great time these last 5 weeks as we experienced -25C and 1meter of snow to green grass, budding trees and 20C temperature.

    Are new friends from Wales and Germany have moved on and there are more things to do and experience.

    We can accommodate two people, a team, in our motorhome venue.

    Life is great, all are healthy. Give us a ring
    9 May, 2020
    _______________________________________________

    AS of today, we have our facilities booked for the unforeseen future. We thank those who have reached out and send wishes of health, success and good fortune to all travelers in the workaway program who can made a difference in how the world relates and binds together.

    In these times, as you travel, winter is still in the north, isolation will be required to some extent and you must be able to be self sufficient in providing for yourself. Skill exchange for considerations is the ultimate goal, but do consider an opportunity to find a safe harbour to hold during the storm.

    ___________________________________26mar2020


    Hello travellers, here we are mid March 2020 and the whole world is in a crisis over a new virus with no cure.

    Most borders are now closed and travel within even Canada are being restricted. As a travellers you may find yourself in a "stranded" position.

    No one is really isolated, but some have an advantage due to location and self sustainability.

    If you are "stranded" in BC, many hosts be able to help you. We have skills, knowledge, space and resources.

    ___________________________________23mar2020

    Come visit our small corner of the world, here you can find nature at it's best. Come stroll through the forest on the natural animal trails, discover some of BC wild berries and plants that have holistic uses in various cultures.

    We are:
    Monika, anglophone Canadian of Austrian heritage and Head Hen;
    Michel, francophone Canadian, and the farm's Master Builder, Plumber, Electrician, Landscaper, and Decorator.

    Michel has retired from a Wireless Technician job, Internet service in various forms. Monika holds a customer service position at the local country general store and is managing foody business.

    Away: Stéphane, 21yo son of the family, Automotive technician, avid Longboarder and Photographer;
    .......... Danielle, 24yo daughter of the family, usually overseas pursuing all the education that life has to offer.

    Our Homestead is a 13-acre property in the rural community of Milburn Lake. We are 8km from the local convenience store, where Monika serves customers ice cream, gas, ammo and alcohol with a big smile and sly remarks on the side. Our little community is tightly-knit; here we know our neighbours, we help each other out, and most people have something to contribute to the local farmer's market (Monika's baking, for example!) Our home is a rustic version of a Victorian cottage, so you can enjoy a cold beer on the front porch after a hard day's work. We have an extensive garden that all members of the farm help to maintain - furred, feathered, and two-legged. We raise egg-layers and meat chickens, rabbits, and heritage turkeys. If you are lucky, you might see newborn baby bunnies or equally fuzzy peeping chicks. The majority of the property is old growth forest with a network of trails leading you to sun-dappled moss beds and the sand bars by the creek. Some Mosquito repellent is advised.

    We are located some 22 km drive, West, from the town of Quesnel, Quesnel has an urban population of 10,000 with an additional 13,000 living in the surrounding areas. there is a small airport, ViaRail come through our town. Two municipal buses link downtown and the southern neighbourhoods to West Quesnel; lots of municipal parks, flower pots, and 1850's railway relics make the city photo-worthy in summer time, when the summer shines eternally and the temperatures reach 30 degrees Celsius. In winter, our area is buried under 1-2 meters of snow and the mercury plummets to -30C.

    Because of our climate and rural setting, we receive most of our guest during the warmer months, but if you cross-country ski, snow-shoe, or winter camp, this might be a good place to come while the snow is on the ground (December to March most years). Be prepared to shovel some snow and garden dirt. If you want to visit the surrounding area, your own transport is suggested; however, Michel loves showing people around and can usually be convinced to take a drive most places. Most days of the week at least one member of the farm is driving into town and it is possible to catch a lift.

    We have various mountain bikes available for use.

    MINIMUM 1 WEEK STAY PLEASE.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Cuidar de animais
    Prática de idiomas
    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda com computadores/internet
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    In addition to the above activities, our home is place of constant exchange, learning, and sharing. We often have guests from other parts of Canada or the world, through programs or spontaneously after a pleasant introduction. We are looking forward to having your energy, experiences, and voice in our home.

    Amongst our skill sets, we have outdoors experience as scouts, we have botanical knowledge of the extensive variety of plants that grow in the surrounding forest. Our location offers sighting of wild life, as they find our woods a sheltered space.

    We have travel experience and languages skills to assist in learning the Canadian culture.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    The tasks around the farm are for the moment varied and never the same from one day to the next. We have an apiary with 2 to 4 hives with docile occupants.
    You can expect to help feed, water, and care for the animals; plant, water, weed, and help in the garden during the warm months; shovel snow on the driveway and paths during the winter months (you may be tasked to build an igloo); help boil off sap to make syrup in March-April; cut, haul and stack wood year round as our home is mainly wood heated in winter; help Monika with her cooking and baking for the weekly farmer's market; help Michel with building projects around the farm; general house hold chores....

    Living at our Homestead, you will be part of our family, and you will help out as any member of the family would be expected to do. We like to work hard for part of the day so that we can relax and play for the rest.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    We currently speak English, French, German and Spanish. Languages connect people and cultures.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Depends on you, depends on the season:
    We have a guest room in the house available mainly in winter. During the warm months, you can either pitch one of our large (up to 8-person) tents in the (soft and comfy) grass behind the house, settle in full size motor home or you can locate in our rustic guest cabin on the roof of the outbuildings. There is a rumble bed, electricity, a microwave, and a bar fridge available in the guest cabin. Other than sleeping, you will share our entire house with us, like family: entrance/dining room, office, kitchen, laundry/storage room, cold room, root cellar, living room, 1 bathroom, and our bedrooms in the upstairs loft (private of course).

    We try to eat as a family when possible, but are also aware of everyone's different schedules. Michel works up to 5 hours a day as a handy man while Monika sometimes works evening shifts. You may be alone for a couple hours some days, in which case you are free to go into town, enjoy the area's recreational activities, or work on your own projects.

    MINIMUM 1 WEEK STAY PLEASE.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There is a nice lake about 1 km away and forest trails from the property. Wild life sighting is easy and abundant. We have bicycles for use. The town of Quesnel has many amenities that a small town can offer, such as a respectable library, arena, swimming pool and lots of trails around the city and area.

    With the apiary close by, our world is always buzzing from the life of the bees. This sound is a soothing music that indicates the abundance of life in our area.

    Our property is Drug and Cigarette-FREE. Thank you for your cooperation.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have wifi in the house and there is a booster in the guest cabin.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have parking space, a discussion about your area need must be discussed in order to better facilitate a location.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 668556315189

Comentário (3)



Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)