new host  

Help on our family permaculture project in Feakle, Ireland

  • Favorito 23 vezes
  • Última atividade: 9 jul. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Family of 3, son Cuan is 5, Leslie and Sean are in the early years of building a herbal permaculture small holding on 15 acres in East Clare.
    Leslie is a trained and practicing herbalist, and
    Sean has 15 horticultural experience, a permaculture degree, butcher training , and volunteered on farms and small holdings, all over Europe, and North and South America. He has been working as an organic market gardener for the last 5 years for a local farmer, while setting up a fruit and nut forest garden.
    They are building a sustainable off grid farm, equipped with solar panels, well, back boiler, vegetable garden, polytunnel , herbal garden, forest garden, orchards, mushroom cultivation, fowl, horses, dogs, cats, community, playgrounds, zip lines,

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Having collectively over 30 years of horticultural experience, permaculture degrees, and experience in mushroom cultivation, Herbal medicine knowledge, naturopathy, butchering, water flittering, off grid electric technology, vegetable production, tree care, self building, bee keeping, livestock husbandry, etc. We are happy to share all that we have learned on our road to homesteading.

    Having both volunteered for experience before many, many times, we see the value in one to one hands on knowledge exchange. Hard work and dedication will always be rewarded with plenty of time to question and learn. Fun and Learning are highly encouraged!
    Community is a very important part of our farm, and we are very social, and have interesting friends constantly calling by. We live in a very interestingly sustainable part of East Clare, we are surrounded by food producers and avid home gardeners, who we meet with regularly.
    There is a very active music scene in the local area, especially Irish trad, with festivals on in surrounding towns for most of the summer months.
    We are close to two big university cities, Galway and Limerick, and not far from the wild Atlantic way.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Huge range of tasks available. Daily tasks change with the seasons on our farm, and we have a wide range of interesting and often experimental projects on the go at all times. Tasks may be repetitive at times as with any small holding.
    Daily tasks will include, cultivating food, weeding, feeding animals, and we are aiming to be as self sufficient as we can, so we are constantly cooking, dehydrating, persevering also. We also have lots of DIY building projects on the go all the time, from building animal house to creating saunas.
    It’s a new permaculture project, so we’re still planning and creating a lot of new spaces on the land for biodiversity and our own living, and always need help with that.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Francês: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Mobile home, comfortable but rustic. Mobile is shared with our clinic, but separate from the family home. Separate double bed, own compost loo, small sitting room, shared kitchen, limited solar electric, 90% organic food….
    Shared meals at least once a day midweek, breakfast DIY, shared harvesting, cooking and cleaning.
    Very peaceful surroundings, and an amazing dawn chorus.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Very active community of small holding farms. Garden club once a month, unique Irish trad session in town 7 mins away. Sandwiched between two towns Tulla and Feakle, both about 5-10 mins by car. Bike available, one hour drive from the coast,…. half an hour from Limerick, Gort and Ennis, Galway city 1 hour. Seed savers 10 min drive.
    We are very social people are constantly have friends calling by or visiting people. Close to Shannon airport.
    Young, interested and motivated.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Possibly if the pet fits our farms, but must be good with all farm animals.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 667568219973

Comentário

Busy family in Galway offering a fun WorkAway experience, Ireland
Join our family home help needed for daily farm, garden and household life near Tuam, Co. Galway, Ireland