1 / 4

Help with my sled dogs and take part in outdoor activities in Brumunddal, Norway

  • Favorito 223 vezes
  • Última atividade: 15 abr. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 mês ou mais

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    I am a semi-retired female medical doctor who have taught in the University Medical School and worked all over the world. I also do competitive dog sledding sports and winter expeditions. I ski, cycle, run dogs, have rock climbed, kayaked and sailed. I usually host one or two young people who are interested in outdoors activities with sled dogs.We only do fun trips and some dog sledding competitions. We have 13 sled dogs that are very social, a cabin in the woods and a house near trails for sledding and skiing. We live with the dogs close by, and have all gear needed for doing everything - like sleds, skis, carts, bicycle, ATV, kayaks, 2 vehicles etc. I prefer people who can stay for more than one month, since it takes a little while to get to know the dogs. The dogs live mostly outdoors, but some are indoor dogs. I do prefer people who can 1. Commit themself to coming after they have been given a place here, and do not change their mind just as quickly. Dogs are living animals and we need predictability. 2. Are able to stay more than 4 weeks, as it takes a bit of time to get to know the dogs and our routines. If you can stay over fall/winter, you can take part in sledding and maybe enter a competition.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Cuidar de animais
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I am an "internationalist" who have lived and worked in Asia, USA and mostly Africa. I have spent a year abroad as a youth, and a lot altogether. I am a medical doctor. We are a community of friends here where we live. Mostly a person would learn about winter activities like skiing, dogsledding, winter camping, dog racing, but also summer activities like hiking, kayaking, swimming, sleeping outdoors etc. I have had young people working around us for over 20 years, (one stayed 8 years and another two, 3 years). It is really like a wilderness experience. We own two remote cabins. We can drive dogs from the house. We speak fluent English. Daily tasks are feeding and training dogs, some household shared duties, cleaning dogyard and maintenance occasionally . It is possible to either study part time or bring hobbies as well. Not hard work nor long hours, but a lot of dog love and hair.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We have a small sled dog kennel (12 dogs) for recreational use and some competitions. We need help around the friendly dogs, especially feeding and dog yard tasks, and if you want, also training them. And some responsibility - being present - when we have to take shorter trips away. A good person may also get to train and race the dogs. We live in a neat big old red and remote country house - 1,5 hours from Oslo, in Norway, in high altitude and real winters, near ski resorts, relatively remote - but 15 minutes to town and 1.5 hours with a train to Oslo. Many cities nearby, and a railroad connecting to Oslo, Hamar, Lillehammer every hour. We are very active in summer and winter outdoors, including skiing, sledding, kayaking, camping and hiking, and trips. We appreciate willingness to be around the dogs, chat at the dinner table, taking responsibility , and participating in all we do. It is not hard work, and it is not only holiday. We also need help over the summer. Winter stays are enjoyable, as you can get skills in dog sledding in pristine nature.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Norwegian: Fluente
    Danish: Intermediário
    Alemão: Intermediário
    Swedish: Intermediário

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You get your own room (and workawayers have a separate bathroom). You get access to a fridge. You can use our kitchen, dishwasher and washing machine within reasonable limits. We live an active life and utility rather than beauty is the description of the house. You participate in daily chores like emptying dishwasher and vacuum cleaning dog hair. You get ordinary, but simple meals, but may have to take turns cooking.....( - no fancy diets in this household - Norwegians eat a lot of bread, potatoes - and one hot meal per day!) We acommodate vegetarian people, but are not so easy with very special dietary claims. We have a spare car that can be borrowed if you have a licence.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We have internet, several kayaks, dog sleds, atv, cars, carts, outdoor gear etc. Everything you need shop wise is reachable from here. One hour to airport. Several dog kennel colleauges nearby. Many sports facilities, like swimming center, sports club, training center, cross country ski resort, just around the corner. Cultural heritage city Lillehammer less than an hour away. Our cabin is also one hour from here. I am a social person with many connections, and very active. I am more intellectual than most and read a lot, work a lot and laugh a lot. I appreciate HUMOR. I love my dogs and my friends and my family (they do not live here), and I am fond of clear communication and people who can enjoy to test their limits (sledding) and still relax and manage their time. I do get to be around young people pretty often.

    We have gotten a lot of requests and seem to be blessed with good people for most of the time now....... but many young people change their minds from day to day, so I prefer those who commit themselves to coming, and can givce a date of arrival and departure.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    we have good enough wifi

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    there is enough space

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    We already have a LOT of dogs and need no more pets

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 662294462429

Fotos

Comentário

Help out with DIY improvements and projects on a west-coast island smallholding in Bømlo, Norway
Workawayers to help with daily projects in Rosendal, Norway