atualizado  

Creating a safe place for dogs near Madrid, Spain

  • Favorito 299 vezes
  • Última atividade: 15 jun. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Please notice that the job requires calm all times and to be firm often. It is a post of responsibility and not exempt from a degree of risk (to you and others)

    We live with 5 dogs in a small house and plot of land in the foothills 1 hr away from Madrid. We are developing a safe place for animals (dogs) and people to relax and learn from each other. The tasks are mainly related to dog care and training, so experience in those areas is a very important requirement. PLEASE only apply if you are strong minded or experienced to control BIG DOGS FULL OF STAMINA in an area full of wildlife (wild boar, deer, wild goats, rabits, large birds, etc). The dogs hace a strong instinct for herd and land protection against big animals such as wolves, wild boars and even bears. If you are NOT paying attention or don´t know how to be conscient and read the signals the dogs are giving you things can easily get out of hand. Basic training and dog handling experience is a MUST. Even with your prior experience we also invest a lot of money to train and support you, but in return ask you to stay a minimum of TWO WEEKS. It's best if you plan to stay a month since dog training requires continuity and bonding.

    The main tasks are controlled walks out in nature, feeding, play, education and training in the plot daily as well as dog supervision and health care.
    While at the house and ground you mist control the environment assuring safety between the mastiffs and the turkish dogs. Hence you must know already about dog training and have lots of patience and motivation. From time to time can also support you with a professional dog trainer to guide you.

    But you are required to have "dog focus" and be in tune with them, their environment and their emotional state. You need to keep awareness of the 5 dogs more than being focused on your cellphone or social media while you are with them. "BE A DOG" and things will flow with ease.

    This proposal, of course, is not for everyone. Those looking to visit interesting places or experience new exciting cultures will find this place boring. Also if you see dogs as "little people" or think their needs include extensive petting or cuddling, you might be thinking of your own needs, not theirs. Instead make sure you have a pair of strong shoes and be prepared for hours of walks focused on the land around you and the dogs.
    The dogs are our reason and mission, so you need to be ready to let go of your "so-called" needs (often just wants and self-imposed limitations) and instead embrace their real emotional and physical needs. These dogs have been moved from their lifes outside of the boundaries of fences, collars and leashes and my commitment to them is to offer them the most natural life I can afford. If you elect to join these dogs you are now a steward of this mission.

    Dogs need to stay out of extreme temperatures, have good food (including fasting once per week), clean water, play, socialize (with dogs and people), long walks and exercise, and explore out in nature. These dogs sleep long hours but, especially in the summer, their nights out are long and active (play, hunt and night guard are all part of their nature). If you understand and support these needs you are taking a long leap and might find out that what you thought were your needs, are actually choices disguised as basic necessities. I guarantee that these dogs, born free, supported and balanced, have the gift of living the moment but also strong social and communication skills. They actually have much more to teach us than we can ever dream of teaching them. But for that you need to take the time to observe them, feel, become part of the group, and follow their lead.

    You will have your own room but just a shared bathroom and kitchen. You’ll get the food shopping you need or eat at communal work meals if you wish. At times you will be basically on your own but other times there might be a few exchange travellers (i.e. when we hold training sessions or short courses about dogs' nature and our relationship with them). The grounds are extensive and great for walks and star gazing and you are encouraged to find and set up your own relaxing spot. Also I'd encourage you to spend a night out with the dogs (or just move out to the garden with them in the hot nights) to take in all the experience. The nights with moon out are simply spectacular for that and the sounds of nature (beyond the usual barks) might surprise you. The swimming pool is a pending subject as it does not seem to stay clean with the resources available, so don't count on it.

    No drugs please, it's just not our thing.
    The small village is 1 km away (you can use the bicycle) and Madrid can be reached in 1 hr via bus. Other than working with the dogs if you want to contribute to improve the place to make it better for dogs and visitors you will have the opportunity to participante in improvement projects.

    There is plenty of space both inside the Finca and in the field for a caravan. If you travel with your dogs we shall assess the situation case to case.

    Please contact us only if you are committed to serve dogs and learn about and from them. Also be prepared for a three day trial period to make sure if this is a good match for you and the dogs.

    As far as projects aside dog care there is plenty to do around here. For example the caravan used to rescue the 3 Turkish siblings and bring them to Spain needs some repairs (bodywork, carpentry and electrical). We are still using it to transport the pack of 5 dogs, for example to the vet or to swim. And around the house there is also some basic electrical work needed, general construction and plenty of garden maintenance.
    So if you are a hands-on person and have knowledge related to electrics, plumbing, automotive, carpentry or general construction we can also host you.
    But in essence we are selecting dog people with a minimum degree of experience and specially those interested in inmersing themselves in dog culture. This ranges from "being always full of dog hair to hours of walks, training sessions, dog education, vet appointments, grooming, reading, writing,
    commenting and reflecting about dogs.

    Thank you for your interest on working and learning with us and good luck with your journeys.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Trabalho beneficente
    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Ensino
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Learn about dog training with a positive focus and in formal training settings. Experience living close to a different species in a natural environment.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Help with animal care and training. We got two families of 5 dogs total, one of them recovering from two knee operations. The tasks are related to dog care, supervision, education for emotional balance and long walks. Also if you wish you can engage in improvement projects around the site.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Always your own room, but a shared bathroom, kitchen and living area.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The place is near a small community, there is a library and a couple of stores and bars but not much more. Bus to Madrid takes around an hour and bicycles are available for your use.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Este anfitrião indicou que adora hospedar nômades digitais.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Big park-like space for caravan if you'd like to stop for a couple of weeks.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Pets can be accepted in specific circumstances. For example balanced mature dogs or cats and only while we have enough people in relation to the total number of animals.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 637253753323

Comentário (7)



Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.3)

Comunicação: (5.0)









Help at a community foundation close to Granada, Spain
Permaculture, organic crops, farming and your creativity in Biar, Spain