Help out at a small organic quinta near Lagos, Portugal

Country

Portugal

atualizado  

Favorito 68 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    10/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    86.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 28 dias

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 mês ou mais

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Available from 11th August.

    Are you someone who has a mature approach to managing a small patch of land and buildings? Would you like to live in rural Algarve for a while, enjoying sun, sea, sand, mountains and more? Do you absolutely love dogs, and would you feel confident living and working with a pack of six crazy rescue dogs? Are you trustworthy, sensible, confident with working with tools? Perhaps you have some experience of working on land and farm buildings, or perhaps you have a talent for learning new skills and applying them confidently. Would you be happy to be our spare pair of hands on various odd jobs as they arise, as well as taking the reins when we go away. Danu's father in the UK has had a stroke and so we will be away more than usual, and need someone trustworthy and reliable to come and stay with us to learn the place and be in charge when we are away.

    You will be managing the irrigation as well as odd handyperson jobs, so you will need to be physically fit and confident with power tools and minimal heavy lifting. It will be an added bonus if you have experience or confidence with tree pruning and management, or perhaps you could research techniques and propose strategies for fruit tree management. You will also need to be super confident with a pack of six dogs and all that comes with living with a gang of doggies! **Please in your application do reassure us of your confidence and experience in these two main areas (dogs and working outdoors.**

    Your duties may include:

    Assisting Marc with maintenance and repairs on buildings and irrigation.
    Operating irrigation systems.
    Assisting Marc with building a wooden shed.
    Feeding and medicating the dogs, and playing with the dogs, making friends with them.
    Weeding, trimming, pruning plants and trees.
    General cleaning and maintenance of outside grounds.
    Building wooden surround around compost heap.
    Assisting Marc with fence construction.
    Potential painting and decorating assistance.
    Potential assistance in the house with cleaning and organising. (Not essential)
    Potential assistance with food preparation. (Not essential)

    Where you will stay:

    We have a small, self-contained studio in the garden. This has a sofa bed, shower, loo, basin, kitchen area with fridge, sink, two ring stove, microwave/convection oven, sink, crockery and pans. It is a very sweet, simple little studio but quiet, with a lovely view of trees and land, with birdsong. This will give you independence and privacy.

    You have use of the small pool, the land to enjoy, wifi etc. We would ask for 10-14 hours per week assistance (about two hours per day five days a week, and seven days a week when we are away so that the dogs are fed and medicated each day).

    This will give you plenty of free time to explore the Algarve and have some adventures!

    We are not party animals and live a quiet life. Our place is less suitable for party people. We are ideal for writers, thinkers, people who find nature and rural space inspiring and comforting.

    We would like to have you arrive as soon as possible so that we can hand over to you before our next visit to Dad...

    ***The below is our original advert, but please read in the context of the above.***

    We are a middle aged English couple with six rescue dogs and a semi feral cat living on a small rustic quinta in the Algarve. We are an organic fruit homestead, with olives, satsumas, avocados, grapes, figs, pomegranates, carob, and more. We need a spare pairs of hands in exchange for somewhere for you to stay on your travels. You will support us with animal feeding and medication. Usually, we will share these responsibilities but sometimes their care will be your responsibility. They love to run around the land with us and play. We would love someone to live here who the doggies can trust to keep things running normally when we need to be away. We are keen to have someone who absolutely loves dogs and is confident with such a large number of dogs.

    Our quinta is a homestead rather than a business and any produce that we can't use ourselves, we hope to share with the community. The project is just beginning and if you wish, you would be welcome to help with creating that foundation! If you would like to get involved we just ask for a friendly, flexible and supportive help both on the land and possibly in the house. From irrigation to decorating, to plumbing to harvesting, or help around the house. Your unique skills will be valued.

    We are vegan, gluten free and love good food. We love travel and exploring the outdoors.

    I am a trainer and am also keen on writing. My background is English Literature and English Language, as well as leadership training. My partner is an instructor in various outdoor skills such as boat handling, nordic walking, scuba diving, as well as working full time on the land!

    You will have your own detached, self contained tinyhome studio. Lots of free time to explore the Algarve. I can help you with English conversation practice. We are not party people (though we once were) and prefer a quiet life, as such we would not feel comfortable with our workaway guest being a party animal! So if you also love the peace of rural life, this place may be for you! That's not to say that we don't enjoy good laughter and quality conversations.

    Locally, you have available to explore the most stunning coastline, wild mountains, surfing, wild swimming, hiking. Discovering Portuguese food. At our quinta you can rest, retreat, read, plunge in the small pool, walk in the village, and pursue your creative work. You may like to continue your own work online, this is perfectly practicable alongside taking care of the dogs or lending a hand with gardening etc.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    When we are not racing back to the UK, we can offer English conversation, coaching, mentoring, MBTI, power boat instruction, hiking suggestions or hiking together.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We just ask for a friendly, flexible and supportive help with the dogs, on the land and in the house. From irrigation to decorating, to plumbing to harvesting, cooking and cleaning. Your unique skills will be valued.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário
    Português: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    We would love to learn Portuguese and help with English learning. (when we are not dealing with the current crisis).

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Your own garden studio with bed, wardrobe, shower, loo and kitchen, or parking for your van.

    We would be happy to contribute to your food costs and let you be free to manage your own groceries and cooking. The main kitchen is fully vegan but in the studio and of course your own van if you bring it, you are free to cook as you wish!

    Our place and animals is not suitable for children or other pets.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are rural and quiet but only ten minutes from popular Lagos, with its bars, restaurants and marina. Lots of wonderful coast walks, mountain hikes, cycle rides and surfing nearby.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Our Wifi is rural and so is not always perfect, much like the whole of rural Algarve! We are hoping to upgrade to Fibre soon.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We are very happy for you to park on the land and hook you up. We haven't had anyone do this yet, so we would probably need you to help us get this set up!

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    4-5 days a week, 3-5 hours a day


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 624594729387