General help needed on my rural, off-grid property in Murtas, Alpujarras, Granada, Andalusia, Spain

Country

Espanha

Favorito 363 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    15/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello Helpers

    I decided to live in Spain to enjoy the sunshine and chose my place to enjoy a rural setting with nature at my door step. The property I have purchased is relatively small and has a few citrus trees, a number of olive, almond, pomegranate & fig trees and grape vines. I have planted some stoned fruit, apple and pear trees, as well as some hazelnuts . Before I moved in the property was vacant and neglected and very overgrown. The property is situated in a valley with a small stream (it was a mill) and a natural spring. There is also a well and the property receives 'agricultural' water once a week. There is also a 'balsa' (water storage) which can double up as a swimming pool.
    My aim is to tidy the place (getting there), maintain a glorious vegetable garden that I have made, maintain and care for the trees, introduce more indigenous trees .
    I have spent no time caring for the house and there are various jobs that should be done like painting, etc.
    I am generally strong and can do a lot myself but I do have a 'health' issue that has weakened my left side and I have days where I am tired, hence the reason I require additional help. A tractor accident on the property has also been a set back and am taken a very long time to fully recover!
    I do not speak Spanish (at the moment) ... only English. I have had so many different experiences in Africa and have many stories to share.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    This is not all about work, it is about putting together ideas, creating plans and generally enjoying the beauty and tranquility . There will be no outright instructions but guidance and creating together.
    The area has a lot of history and the valley is overlooked by a fort. This actual property also has a lot of history (which I still have to discover), so historians will certainly like it and will be able to do research from this peaceful setting. It is a rural setting but days out to the beach (1.5 hours away) or skiing (seasonal) and hiking in the Sierra Nevada. There are plenty of hiking and walking trails in the area. Granada is a 2 hour drive or 4 hour bus ride.
    Ideal for keen bird watchers as there are a number of exciting species to see here.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    I would like to enjoy the company of helpers who like a rural setting and will appreciate seeing the property come to life, encouraging nature whether insects, or birds or indigenous plants.

    Work to be done:

    Maintain the terraces by cutting the down the grass and weeds, removing any bramble and unwanted wild fig tree growth
    Improve and maintain the access road
    Weeding around fruit trees around the property including clearing around the olive trees is an on-going job
    A number of ancient stone walls are collapsing so repairing and rebuilding is necessary
    Developing new garden areas around the house and existing cottage would be wonderful too.
    Repair cottage roof

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Currently a bedroom in the house is offered (only shared with travelling a companion or partner).
    There is a cottage that can sleep 3-4 people or couples but the roof needs attention (although doesn't affect the caravan 'inside' the cottage

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    I have 9 cats, so if you are allergic ... this is not the place for you.

    Dobbi is a very big dog but a gentle giant.
    Sofi is a medium size dog who recently joined the family. I found her on a road suffering with a broken jaw after being hit by a car.

    The property is remote and the closest town has no bar or shop! There are other towns with facilities 6km away.
    Normally I go shopping once a week and take helpers with me so they can explore the town.

    I recommend that helpers have their own insurance whilst travelling.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)


















Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 615138296973